Steemit Will Never Be As Large As Facebook, But That Is A Good Thing

in #steemit7 years ago

I see comments and posts saying that Steemit will grow to be like Facebook, but that will never happen. Sorry! Steemit will grow and should do very well, but it will never be bigger than Facebook but that is a good thing. Don't be shocked.

One of the things that keeps people on Steemit is the reward system. It is nice to make some extra money while putting your thoughts out to the world. For many people it is a way to earn an income or a nice added revenue source.  Success on Steemit takes hard work and effort and that is why it won't ever be like Facebook.

Facebook has over a billion active users a day and at least 80% use Facebook to kill time. (Not sure of the number, but a logical guess.)

It is a way to comment about stupid stuff, share information and most people do it during down times when they are wasting time or distracting them from doing something more important. 

Think of how many hours you have gone on Facebook while you were at work? We all know that one person who is on it constantly while working. It distracts them. There is no real value in being distracted by Facebook. People like the social media giant because they can keep in touch with friends and family and it gives them something to do when they are board. Trolling, commenting and posting about nonsense and seeing no return.

The thing that makes Steemit different is there is a return. The thing that really sets Steemit apart from Facebook is the quality of content. You can't just share articles that other people have written and add one comment and see success here. People can't troll here and see success. 

I see it like this...

Facebook is a great way to waste time. Steemit is a great way to make time. 

If time is money, then posting on Steemit long enough and good enough will get you time. You'll be able to make the extra money to take a vacation and spend time with your family like I am doing... See how I'm paying for Disney with Steemit.

I generally wasted about 2 hours a day on Facebook. I have dedicated that time to Steemit and I am already seeing significant results. If I posted all the same content on Facebook I might have more views, and I might have a few great comments, but no real value. Tons of people post on Facebook all the time and most of the content they post wouldn't get a single upvote on Steemit.

The masses are not built for Steemit. The masses are not smart enough to contribute to Steemit. It might be brutal, but it is the truth. Most people just don't have much to say. Facebook is a great place for people that don't have much to say. They can stay there. 

Steemit is for people that are ambitious, smart and like learning. Those three characteristics are the things that bind us all. We all have that in common.

We don't want the masses here, but that won't stop us from growing. Not at all. There are millions of people like us out there and they will find out about Steemit and when they do, they'll love it. There are not a billion of those people though and that is alright. That is what makes Steemit such a great place. We are special.


Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked this blog, you might like 10 Reasons Why Steemit Is Better Than Facebook (Told In GIFs)

This is a great place filled with awesome people. I'm so glad you spent some of your time with me.


Sort:  

I totally agree with you, but I was not bringing it to the point like you did with this blog. The mass will not join here, because it is real work here to produce content, stay in contact, read and decide. They are simply too lazy or not smart enough.
But steemit has a lot of potential, with all these clever guys here. Just think about all the quality content and google / SEO. The future is bright for steemit. And even better with only 2 Million bright heads, than with 1 billard lemmings. :P

I couldn't agree more. I think long-run, the value of Steemit will skyrocket as we start occupying the top spots. It is also something to consider when doing a content strategy.
I really appreciate you taking the time to read and reply. It means a lot. I can't wait until we 2 million active smart users. hahahaha! All of us here already will be the smartest of the lot though!

Very deep, interesting and true. Even I am telling my friends these days that Facebook and twitter will shut down after 2 or 3 years due to Steemit but I guess from now, I should shut my mouth.

lmao, Yeah, Facebook isn't going anywhere. Too embedded in advertising and too many people use it. Twitter has a shorter life span I think, but still think it has longer than 3 years. Hell myspace is still open. It will grow, and be huge, but I don't think it will hit super mainstream like Facebook ever.

It is a way to comment about stupid stuff, share information and most people do it during down times when they are wasting time or distracting them from doing something more important.

This is important. You do not want to be one of these people. Distractions like Facebook will impede your progress towards your goals.

Great post. Still followed :)

I agree 100%. I wasn't even realizing I was wasting so much time until I found steemit. Then I saw what that time was really worth. Thanks for following, I'm following you too.

This is fantastic. Bookmarking to come to later! Thanks Keys

Couldn't agree more. FB is just another way to waste time and dumb down the masses. I rarely posted original content on FB, but on Steemit I find myself researching new things and posting about my findings. I feel that it is helping me and others at the same time. Great post!

Thank you for reading. I agree about the original content. I did some on there, but the responses were stupid and people don't take things seriously. I'm so glad I found Steemit. Thank you for taking the time to read and respond. It means a lot.

Completely agree with this! Steemit.com is full of genuine content and no Bs click bait!

I agree. lol.
Thank you so much for reading and responding. I really appreciate it.

No problem keep up the good content! Followed.

@walkingkeys, I really enjoyed this line: Facebook is a great way to waste time. Steemit is a great way to make time.

But a lot of the new users don't realize how much time investment is required to earn time that will be paid in the future.

I think Steemit will see waves of growth and decline as new users come in very excited to earn money and leave after they understand the commitment it takes.

I agree 100% I actually wrote a blog about it yesterday. I think it will succeed because it is hard and it filters out the lazy and the people here for a quick buck. It's awesome. It is hard to grow a following and deliver good content each day, but it is possible. Thank you for reading and I appreciate your reply. You got a new follower.

I think quality of growth is much more important than quantity. We've got a good group of people here now, and more like minded people will make this platform an incredible place to be :)

Great stuff!

Damn right! I treat the growth of my followers the same way. I don't do the whole, follow me back thing. This is a great place to be and you are one of the great people. Thank you for reading my work and replying.

True, Facebook makes the average person feel Important without putting much thought into their post, The more content put the less likely to be read. Steemit seems to be the exact opposite, the less content the more over looked. Steemit envoles more thought and attention to content, a big difference.
Blessings to you!!!

You are so right. I think you should write a blog about what you just wrote here. It sounds like you have a good grasp of the social world online. I would be interested to hear more. I think you are right on! Thank you so much for stopping by and reading and replying. The ongoing support means a lot.

My Pleasure!!
Appreciate your comments.
Definately enjoy your Post
Blessings!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.69
ETH 3790.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50