Steemit Statistics & Big Data: ๐Ÿš€ End of October Update ๐Ÿš€

in #steemit โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Thanks to ALL of you, Steemit is growing fast!

We reached 18,66mn visits in October ALONE.

There is an important difference between total visitors to a site and unique ones. In this case the 18.66mn include the multiple times a person visited the website. Therefore, as a good Steemian you probably connect everyday which will make you count for a total of 30 visits.

Therefore, how many "unique users" does Steemit has?

This is a very important question that I will try to answer later on.

I] Traffic

Daily Steemit Traffic

The number of Daily visits was quite consistent between 400k and 600k in August and September. It has been improving in October at 600k+.

When we think about it this is quite surprising considering the number of network issues we have experienced in October (DDOS attacksโ€ฆ).

Steemit website is ranked 2,175 worldwide vs 2,154 last month

Steemit is ranked 1,641 in the US vs 1,541 last month

Steemit kept on improving its ranking as it ranked 12,000+ last year.

Google Trends

Google Trend is an Indice based on 100, which means that 100 represents the week when most people searched for "Steemit" on Google.

Steemit Traffic share by country

The Top 5 countries share went down in October compared to September. It means that other countries are joining into the platform, which is very good for Steemit. It is truly becoming a global platform.

India did not appear in the Top 5 last month and now is ranked at the 4th place. South Korea dropped out of the Top5.

In the Top 5, the strongest traffic growth came from India with +45,44% visits!

Mobile Traffic is catching up fast as it represents 43.22% of the total visits

This is useful to know how people use the Steem platform. Initiatives like eSteem (mobile app), busy.org, Zappl (Twitter like), utopian-ioโ€ฆ will probably help the community to grow on mobile phones.

Be Careful with the Number of Visits

Also, remember that if you connect from a different device (home/work computer, mobile phone, tablet) you'll count as a "new visitor" on each of these devices.

So as an example, let's say you connected at home, at work and in the subway. You would represent 3 visits out of these 600k+ Daily Visits.

II] Marketing Mix

Organic Search is still improving and represents 42% of the incoming Traffic. This is an increase +4% compared to September. Organic search is when people research on Google.

As the number of quality bloggers on Steemit increase, our content has a higher probability of being listed in Google's Top results.

Different Channels:

  • Direct: When you type in you Web browser www.steemit.com
  • Mail: When you connect to steemit.com through an e-mail link
  • Referrals: When you connect to steemit.com through a link found on another website (github...)
  • Social: When you connect to Steemit through a Facebook, Twitter, Instagram... page or link
  • Organic Search: When you type a search term like "Crypto" on Google and you click on one of the following steemit link proposed to you

Traffic Share Evolution during the last months

Referring Social Pages

Facebook represents 39.6% of all the social platform incoming traffic. Reddit is also a strong source of new visits on the Steemit Platform

5 most searched terms on Google that lead to Steemit.com

What are Steemians main interests?

III] Steemit website metrics

You feel a bit confused about these 3 metrics? Let me explain.

  • Bounce Rate is the % of people that leave the Website after just navigating on a single Webpage. The lower, the Better
  • Daily Pageviews per Visitor is the average number of pages a visitor opens. The Higher, the Better
  • Daily Time on Site is the full time a visitor spend on the website before closing the internet Webpage. The Higher the Better

My October assumptions

  • Total visits to Steemit.com: 18,66mn
  • Assumption of Total unique visitors in September: 4.8mn
  • Assumption of Total Daily unique visitors: 300-350k

This is a collective achievement and I would like to congratulate all of us!

What do you think of this Steemit Big Data Update? Please let me know in the comment section.

Sources: Alexa, SimilarWeb, Google Trends...

Sort: ย 

A great report @vlemon!

Thank you so very much for sharing all this information, I had no clue about most of what I read. Lots of very interesting facts in there!

Upvoted, resteemed and shared! Namaste :)

I am glad you liked it!
These numbers pump me up, we will succeed :).

Appreciate this information vlemon.

Well written and good charts....well done.

Cheers.

Thank you for your kind comment @bleujay.
I hope to see you next month for the Update :D.
Take care.

Good to know. I've been seeing a lot more of my posts getting indexed faster.

Wow. Wonderful statistical upvote buddy. Loved reading the post as always. I personally learn a lot from your posts. Upvoted and following u as always.
Regards Nainaz
#thealliance

Always nice to see your comments :).
Long live #thealliance !

That is some good information to know and keep track of. I think that I'm finally confident enough to talk about Blockchain, Cryptos and how Steemit works in order to talk to everyday people who know nothing about these things at all. The last few days I have been getting a lot of interest and I have done a lot more talking. One thing that the listener picks up on right away is my genuine excitement about it all, hopefully some of these are heading over to Steemit to check it out! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Great comment @deaconlee !
This is how the platform will grow. By bringing our friends, colleagues and families to this amazing community.
Take care !

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

I'd love to know the search terms that get people here beyond the top 5. Unlike most, I came to steemit to get my content seen.

I already have 3500 pieces of content on the internet in health and social media topics, I've been using keyword rich steemit posts to drive traffic to my other work and so far - I'm very encouraged with the results. Traffic is up everywhere and sales are following.

The small world of crypto is the small world of crypto. I'm aiming for the 7 out of 10 americans who are obese and overweight. If they find me on steemit by search and then jump to my other content, I am happy.

That big organic search bar is the one I'm after! Those are people who stumble in, read a post and are unlikely to join steemit. They are looking for how to use XXX to solve their XXX problem and have no interest in blogging. Those are my people and I need them to click through to my content on other platforms.

Steemit's Alexa ranking is the reason I have this gift and resource to use and I want to make the best use of it.

Really thrilled to see this post. Thank you.

Thank you for this great comment !
I am glad to see that Steemit is driving some traffic to your website as it means that it is well placed on Google. We have to keep working to drive even more people into the platform :D.
Take care

I wish I was so well-placed! I have about 10 platforms and only you tube comes close in the traffic impact of steemit. I'm just hoping it lasts and trying to take advantage as I can :)

I don't think we need to drive more people here until we can boost the success rate of those who arrive now. The 98% failure rate is pretty well-known in my blogging groups and people are very vocal about feeling like they wasted their time to come here. If we could even get a 10% success rate for noobs, I'd be thrilled and more optimistic.

Beautiful data presentation ! Thanks for sharing my friend !

You are more than welcome !

Thank you so much !

So much good data on this post, thank you! Exciting to see the growth.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 8.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @vlemon
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @vlemon to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78