Interesting observations about loyalties on steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I write this based on my personal experiences on steemit. What got me into writing this is actually noticing something about @haejin's posts. He had tons of views but very little upvote count in comparison. I normally don't look at the view count and when @steemmatt mentioned it on a post. I noticed that most of the upvotes were done by regular readers who interact with the posts. Later today I noticed another thing.

The number of views had no correlation with the amounts of votes received. I found this to be very interesting. Having twice the views had barely any impact on the upvote count really got me into considering the loyalty factor in steemit.

One very important factor about steemit is compared to other social media steemit contributors (users) have lots of common ground, similar wave length and tend to agree on many fundamental participles like free markets, NAP, reduced government, heated debates etc. Even when you read posts praising steemit, you'd notice that what draws people into the community is ideology. People tend to identify creators they love and tend to support them greatly. I sometimes upvote posts even without reading them because I know the creator. It's like being a fan of a director, actor, writer or artist. 

Steemit is a place where loyalties blossom. Those loyalties are based on ideologies. Those loyalties are based on specific tastes. Those loyalties are based on certain types of content (Technical Analysis, ICO news, Politics, Quotes, Memes etc.)

In my posts I notice regular upvoters and when I talk with them, there is always a good connection even when we don't agree. It's pretty much the same about creators I frequently upvote. Either way one thing is clear. loyalty is a big part about STEEM. STEEM is a project/community for the long run. More than any other mass community on internet exemplifies that a Subscriber (follower) is worth a 1000 likes (upvotes).

There are people who click for the title and bounce off after barely reading anything. There are also those ungrateful shmucks. But unlike making a blog and going through that hellish Google Ads approval and troubling the readers with ads while working on SEO and other marketing gymnastics, you can simply focus on delivering content directly to an already self-selected audience. Most steemians are way ahead of the common herd and and they are actively reading and searching for good stuff that's light years in quality compared to garbage put out by HuffPost, DailyMail or even the meh publishers like Forbes or WSJ who are always late to............ well.....everything.

Even 90% of my blog is filled with other people's content I've read on steemit. So let's take a while to embrace and celebrate all the greatness about this platform without forgetting those shmucks who are a disgrace to self-respecting awesome people :-)

Happy steeming! 

Sort:  

You mention a central word in there: community.

That is what it is and there are subcommunities within it.

I was at a gathering years an @terrybrock talked about his 3 Cs for succes:

Content
Community
Consistency

You nailed the second one. We all have different reasons for the communities we form but we do form them, even without it being conscious.

I'd like to add Impact to the mix. Impact has a great penetration power. Impact is about being the purple cow. Uniqueness that is useful and with lots of energy is the best attention grabbing marketing you can have. That's how I got into John Wick and Lucy. The trailers had great impact even though they ruined most of the story. Without those impactful trailers I wouldn't have checked them out so soon.

I admit to resteeming more than I UPvote; which to me means interesting to share with others and useful information. When I UPvote, it's because of well written content and either very useful or needs to be known the author provoked me to think about his or her words.

As for more views versus UPvotes, for me at least, I may have been brought into post because of title but once there, it's not what I was expecting.

Also I admit to member loyalty most days. Have to be honest.
But I am expanding my steemit realm recently.

Thank you for your comment and resteem.

You are right about loyalty on steemit... Really @haejin's posts are a case study... You could see a post with 3000+ views, yet only about 100+ upvotes.
Someone said the views are not organic, and some people could be viewing the posts as much 10 to 20 times in a day or days... That could explain away why so few upvotes in relation to so many upvotes....
But still it points to the obvious.... Only the loyalists, really take the time to upvote content, others just breeze through or fly over


Your post has been resteemed to my 2800 followers

Get a free resteem using the Power Resteem Service #26

Upvote this comment if you like this service

I doubt a person would view the same post 20 times. Also there could be people who take a quick look because of the title and then bounce off.

Yeah there are fans and there are followers. Follower count really isn't indicative of the fan count though. More important to have those 100 hardcore fans than 1000 followers who just decided to follow you for some reason.

Depending on how you gained your followers, higher number of followers could mean higher number of fans. The followers I gained through a great discussion tends to become fans and same goes when I become a follower of someone.

I only upvote something if I've read the content. I'm here for the community and the quality content. I initially started following you because of the quality of your comments on @haejin's blog.

I also think that it is important to upvote quality replys to bring the best followup to the top of the pile. This also encourages more participation which would then lead to more discussions.

Totally agreed. Happy to have you as a follower. @haejin is a good example of creators I upvote even before I finish reading. I know what he's doing. It's like buying Arthur C Clark or watching the next Gen Urobuchi Anime. I know what I'm getting so I can confidently upvote before I even read. That's what fanbases are made of (at least the good ones).

Good post. It definitely gets me thinking. I too have resteemed much content because of its quality

Here is a reader who reads all the articles he comments on. That can be quite a lot of work. Loyalty: yes, that is for sure burnt into the human flesh.

It is really really strong, I would say. Sometimes, when I had to leave a loyal path, it hurt ... like cutting into my skin.

Though it is not easy to get YOU as a loyal one :)

This post has received a 0.88 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @vimukthi. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51