@venuspcs & Steem.gifts needs your help to build Steemit's First Secret Santa Gift Exchange - Calling all whales/devs/programmers!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

As a longtime member of that other social media site (Reddit....cough cough) I participated in a couple Secret Santa Gift Exchanges. It was an amazing experience and now that I have a new home here on Steemit.com I wanted to share that experience with Steemians around the world.

I bought the domain name Steem.Gifts with the intention of doing just that, but being a trucker and having not programmed anything in over a decade I am lost. I have SSL working and I found a few Open-Source Secret Santa programs but I am clueless how to get them working and modify them to want they need to do.

Here is an overview of the concept I would like to implement:

  • Steemians visit Steem.gifts and register for an account, once a validation email is verified they are presented with an Exchange Management Page.
  • They then provide their name, address, email address and Wishlist (if they have one) or their likes/interests if not.
  • On a preset date the site automatically pairs Steemians with other Steemians anonymously. This could be done in several ways but I would like to have it so that users can choose if they are willing to Ship Internationally and then have the script match them based on Reputation/SP level with other Steemians.
  • No two people should wind up with each other. Meaning if Steemian A gifts to Steemian B then Steemian B can not gift to Steemian A.
  • Once packages are ready Steemians can Submit a Story on Steemit.com using #secretsanta to showcase what some lucky Steemian will be receiving....still anonymous!
  • Once packages are shipped Steemians will log into the Exchange Management Page on Steem.gifts and provide the tracking number(s) which the anonymous giftee will then see in their Exchange Management Page so they can track the package(s) they will be receiving.
  • Once a giftee receives his package he can go to the Exchange Management Page and mark it received and also post on Steemit.com using the tag #secretsanta.
  • If the giftee doesn't receive their package or the gifter never sends it then the giftee gets matched (shortly after Christmas) with a Secret Santa Whale (someone who pledges to send gifts to those who don't receive any but sent gift(s) out).

If you like this idea please upvote it for visibility. Any Steem Dollars this post makes will be used for a Secret Santa gift for whomever I get matched with this year.

If you are a developer/programmer and would like to volunteer your expertise and time to make this a reality please make it known in comments then find me on Steemit.Chat or PM me directly (same username).

If you are a Gifter/Giftee and would like to participate in the "First Annual Steemit Secret Santa Gift Exchange" then by all means leave a comment below to show your support.

Oh and feel free to Follow Me so you can be kept up-to-date on the progress of this project.


Special Thanks to @smooth for believing in this project and being the first Whale to vote for it!

100 Votes and climbing, thanks @jako for being number 100! Now lets get this to the frontpage so some /devs will take note.


@ned Thank You for believing in this project - Got any devs I can borrow?


Steem.Gifts - Steemit's 1st Secret Santa Gift Exchange - Daily Update #1

Sort:  

@venuspcs Thanks for the upvote over on my blog. It means a lot and is truly appreciated. Plus my daughter will get a kick out of seeing her artwork in public for the first time and people liking it. Talk about confidence building. Thanks again. And I am up voting and hitting the follow button. Thanks again.
@streetstyle
Full $TEEM Ahead!
and ps. let me know what it takes to be part of the secret santa support

I think this a super idea and wish I had the programming skills to help make it a reality.

I'm def. going to reach out to you regarding a Q & A. I love this idea and will do what I can do help this make a reality.

edit: Post almost ready!

I love this post and idea

Schrottwichteln goes Blockchain.

Da simmer dabei!

This is an awesome idea!

This sounds like a lot of fun. Who doesn't like giving gifts? And thanks for the reply about following people. I need to do that with several people.

For sure!

great idea :)

I would like to part of this, but I don't really know how to get reminded about this post

Fuck Santa, lets do that every month.

I kind of agree with you, but Christmas is the perfect time to launch such an exchange. Once the Christmas Exchange is over I will certainly be looking to do additional exchanges at Steem.Gifts. I am already considering a "Foods of the World Exchange" or a "Treats of the World Exchange" or both cause who the hell doesn't like food and candy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74