[Crowdfunding] Steem.Gifts and Steem.Market need Steemians help to become a reality!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I have been actively trying to find some help in developing these sites for over a month now. I thought I could figure it out, seeing that I used to do web design (over a decade ago) but I was sadly mistaken.

There is a lot of interest in having Steemit's very own "Gift Exchange" (Steem.Gifts) and in having a Marketplace where you can buy items using Steem or Steem Dollars (Steem.Market). I have talked to numerous developers who all thought they were "good ideas" but do not have the time to help out.

So here is what I propose, let's crowdfund the development of these sites. You can help out in one of 3 ways:

  1. Donate BTC to the Project Here!.
  2. Pledge your time as a developer/designer/graphic artist, etc. to the project via a Comment below. Please include a way to contact you!
  3. Share this post with anyone and everyone you know on all Social Media!

I believe, that through the power of Steemians we can get these sites launched by November 1, 2016. In time for Steemit's First Secret Santa Gift Exchange to be held. The coming the New Year we will start doing monthly Gift Exchanges.


Edit 1: All proceeds in SBD from this post or future posts related to Steem.Gifts or Steem.Market will go to the development and maintenance of those projects. Thanks!

Edit 2: Crowdfunding Project is now live on BitCoinStarter.

Edit 3: BitCoinStarter will not allow me to set donation levels less than 1 BTC. If you wish to donate smaller amounts my Bitcoin Wallet is: See Edit 4

Edit 4: Got BitCoinStarter to allow pledges from 0 to 1 BTC now (Roe) so no need to send direct to me....removed Wallet address from edit 3 as well.

Edit 5: Donate with Steem Dollars as well.

Sort:  

Hate to say it but you started bass-ackwards . . . . You should have used AWS or Azure instead of starting with a dedicated server.

Do you have a design and a functional spec? I can do the back-end pretty quickly if you can tell me exactly what you want and how you want it to look . . . .

e-mail is first-name dot last-name at company-domain
http://wisdom.digital

Didn't you post something like this before.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@venuspcs/venuspcs-and-steem-gifts-needs-your-help-to-build-steemit-s-first-secret-santa-gift-exchange-calling-all-whales-devs-programmers
When happened to the 1500+ you earned off that post that should have been enough to get it up and running.

It got the dedicated server up and paid for a few months, but that is almost gone and no development yet. But thanks for linking to the original post. I forgot to do that!

Only critique is minimum donation on the page is 1 btc. Gotta lower that minimum, in my humble opinion.

I tried setting the minimum at .1 btc but 1 btc is the lowest it will allow unfortunately!

I added an Edit to the post with my Bitcoin Wallet address should anyone want to donate less than 1 BTC. Thanks!

See Edit 4 - Set a funding level called "Roe" from 0 to 1 BTC.

Page not updating WTF ?

I am in the process of downgrading from an expensive dedicated server to a Virtual Private Server (half the cost). Site will be down for a few hours at least....but there was nothing there but an "Under Construction" page anyway!

talking about steemit page ... acting very strange as if there are more than one page active ... One page i can't see these last comments on ... another i can

Oh weird....trying closing and reopening your browser or clearing Cached Pages

Very Cool ! Could you elaborate on Gift Exchange or perhaps a mock-up FAQ.

Have you seen Reddit Gifts? https://redditgifts.com is what I am aiming for, but Steemit Exclusive!

Participating is easy. It only takes a few minutes to sign up and create a profile. Once you do, you wait until matching day, when we run a big program that matches each person to someone else in a giant daisy chain. You’ll be given a person’s username, and you can stalk that person (in a friendly way) to find the perfect gift for them and mail it off. Someone else will be doing the same for you, and when you get it, you can post photos of your awesome gift online so we can all celebrate together.

I hope it is not a random gift exchange like Reddit ...
I was really hoping to see something of VALUE, such as a HELP People in NEED with GIFTS and or Donations etc. kind of program ... I will do everything I am able to help promote THAT IDEA !

This one is Random, I am also going to do Steem.Gives (which will be a "Helping People in Need" kind of site!

I actually have like 20 projects (Steem Related) in mind and already bought the domains for.....but having a heck of a time even getting this first one off the ground.

I would do everything I am able to help Steemit.Gives. I think this is a GREAT project and like MOST on steemit would feel that it actually has a HIGH VALUE personal ROI. I would PROMOTE this idea FIRST !!!! The gift exchange my be, cute, fun, w/e, but STEEMIT.GIVES is a REAL form of helping that peole can get behind to do SOME REAL GOOD and CAN have an IMPACT on someones life ... THAT is worth spending time on and I BELIEVE has a LOT of VALUE.

The gift exchange, not something I will ever be involved in! (Just not my kinda deal)

Talk in chat a min ?

i will look, but normally I stay away from reddit

Thx for putting this out there
I will be checking on this
I am not able to give now
It's bookmarked
In the future hopefully
Will be great and awesome for the whole community
Steemon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60915.52
ETH 3364.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48