Ethics and unspoken rules on Steemit. What is the "code?"

in #steemit7 years ago

Have you seen Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl?


source


You know the part where Barbossa says, "the code is more what you'd call 'guidelines' than actual rules?" I have been thinking about that a lot today. I read a post about how a guy copied and pasted someone else's post without their permission and then credited the author at the end. Personally, I think that is a big no-no and really bad ethics.


source


However, I had some comments about randowhale and booster being a negative thing to use for upvoting your posts, even though I didn't initially see any problem with it. But then I realized that part of the negativity in that specific situation was because it seemed like I was giving myself an unfair advantage (which was genuinely unintentional, I try to be fair and considerate in my actions!), and I totally understand the frustration in that aspect. But It made me wonder if there is an unspoken code of ethics that I am not aware of yet. I always try to be very ethical, but sometimes, no matter how pure my intentions, I may accidentally step on someones's toes. I want to avoid that, if possible! 


source


I would really appreciate some input and advice on the ethics and unspoken rules of this platform from people more experienced than me. My curiosity has been piqued and I would thoroughly enjoy feedback!


Thanks in advance!


Sort:  

I've never heard about people complaining about @randowhale and I don't think using @randowhale to upvote your own posts is a bad thing either, you don't even get that much out of it anyway with it just voting with the VP of like up to 5%?
A lot of people vote for their own posts too and if you're a big steak holder that adds up a hefty amount of $ to the post.
Also, some people are just not nice or jealous.

Thank you for your feedback!

I didn't think there was anything wrong with randowhale either. Or booster, or minnowsunite. I didn't personally find fault with it in others or feel convicted by my own use of it. But because of the comments I received, I questioned it and wanted to have opinions.

I've used @randowhale on my own posts a few times and I always vote for my own posts too. And especially if someone is new why would anyone care if they added a couple pennies to their post? This is stupid.
I'd say do what you feel is right, I don't think there's something wrong with your moral compass!

Thanks, girlie! :)

Number one most important rule: Don't be a dick for no reason on someone else's post.

(I.e. the randowhale comments.)

That was partly my bad, I didn't know the contest was being judged 'subjectively' and not by $$. I had planned to randowhale her poem but she had beat me too it, and minnowsupport too. As one who's vote isn't enough to turn the 10 digit (sometimes not even the one), it's really the only way to make a reasonable contribution to people I enjoy. I can't expect everyone to understand that. Plenty of people are here for the money. Maybe with more money I'd have a better vote 🤔

You made a good point. I look forward to hearing what people think too.

The worst is not even that.

There is a much bigger problem, which are called "cleaners", which has enough power to make a post stay hidden.

What criteria do they use to remove a post? Recently they removed two posts from me just because they did not like the theme.

At this rate Steemit will become a "Fakebook" that pays to users ... but freedom will not exist

I wasn't even aware of "cleaners." How exactly were your posts removed?

Your post is not removed but it is hidden using the steemit.com interface. I have to say that I do not see the reason to downvote the post. The content itself is not adding anything new (I have seen tons of post with pretty much the same message about Genesis mining)...still I do not get why the downvote.

Steemcleaners has done a great job countering spammers and plagiarists on the platform. I know they have chanel on steemit chat where you can appeal. I don't see your posts fitting any of those categories.

They simply flag because they didn't like the content

This is censorship.

After all, who says what is allowed or not? Are those 1% holding the greatest power?

I will stay away from those whales that own the truth. This is the reality and we must play according to the rules

Thank you for the answer :)

Hey, just be yourself.
Let go of any other intentions,
and you will be free of tension.
Free yourself from opinions,
which are not yours.
Perhaps, others just clumsy enough
to run under your toes.
You know, it´s not always you!
Take care, be aware,
love yourself, be kind to others,
do your best,
we are all learning.
Don´t let someone manipulate you!
Hey, just try to be yourself.

Well said! Thank you!

just made it up, you inspired me!

Finding it interesting that the same people who are drawn to a decentralized and "free from governance" platform, once comfortable start making rules! Human nature I guess, order into chaos and chaos into order, maybe we just like the transition...

All that being said, I've only been active on Steemit for a little over a week, and I certainly don't want to screw up the ediquitte or do something that's unfair, or just plain rude without even knowing it. Great post for minnows like me- Thank you!

Maybe it is human nature to seek our limits. What is the deal? lol!

I am like you! I don't want to unintentionally do anything wrong if I can avoid it.

Thanks for commenting!

All communities tend to have both "laws" and "guidelines" and then "etiquette".

Laws tend to be enforceable and immutable. "No stealing."
Guidelines tend to be good ideas most embrace. "Always use a photo in a post"
Etiquette is subjective and full of opinions "unsolicited Follow For Follow requests are impolite"

All have value to a community, but can cause great consternation among peoples of differing cultural backgrounds, value sets and "morals".

But I think it goes bottom up - a generally accepted "etiquette" like keep your comments contextual to a post, evolves to a solid Guideline accepted by all, and can eventually become "the law of the land" if it gets enough traction to become expected and demanded by the community at large.

I don't know if I'm adding value on this topic with these observations, but I am throwing them out there as my point of view on where "etiquette" is important and forms the basis for our happy steemit society, thus it's importance and your seeking answers to it in this post is a good conversation to be having!

Laws are easy, mostly black and white. It's the guidelines and etiquette that are gray.

Yes, your comment adds value, thank you! It is a question that I was sincerely wanting replies about.

Me too - looking forward to others peoples opinions.

Wow, you make a good point. Hmm, while I see both sides I'd love to see what everyone else thinks. Personally I don't see randowhale as a negative when it can be equally available to everyone.😟😖

I agree with you on this. Randowhale is there for anyone to use, it's not an unfair advantage.

there ARE no rules.

Theoretically, you are right! It's just finding the polite methods of what to do and what not to do when there are literally no rules.

adulting is hard isn't it?
you gotta figure it out for yourself.

So just jump in a don't be afraid of stepping on toes?

use your own discretion...act normal.
if some people are too sensitive
mute them and move on...
you probably don't want to fool with that
kinda person anyway.

I agree with @everittdmickey, "there ARE no rules"

Hopefully, we only have a few more weeks until the dust settles and equilibrium is found from the HF 19. Then, we'll have more or less an idea of how the overall community thinks, whether that's good or bad, not my call, just the way it is. Until then, we'll have opinions flying from all directions.

Thank you, @gringalicious and @everittdmickey for your input! I really appreciate your view point and agree with you!

I'm certainly no more experienced, but so far this is what I've noticed, and the opinion I've formed.

Don't troll people. This is the simplest most obvious one. Shockingly, at least for now, it seems to be followed pretty well.

This platform offers the ability to earn a bit, and you have to realize some people are here to do so. Randowhale and self upvoting is part of certain people's purpose here, so while something similar could be frowned upon in other social networks, some understanding is needed here.

Don't beg. Particularly in the comments, don't ask everyone to follow you. They'll follow and upvote if they like your post.

Don't make eye contact with a guy in a public washroom. This is more of a rule of the world than SteemIt, but I feel this point can't be stressed enough.

Oh, yes, trolling is an understood annoyance that I can completely vote "no" to! It is very difficult to evaluate someone's content as you normally would once they have posted "follow me" or "check out this link that has nothing to do with your post that I didn't even read."

I agree with you that there should be some understanding when people are trying to earn on their posts, which is the biggest thing that sets Steemit apart from all other social networks!

And yes, absolutely don't beg. Put yourself into your content and allow the people that appreciate that to come to you.

Haha, of course don't make eye contact with a guy in a public restroom! Isn't there another unspoken rule that men don't look at other men while they are crying?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41