You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit. Are the many chasing the few?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

FWIW, I've made twice as much curating vs. posting. The only drawback, if you consider it a drawback, is that your curation is paid in Steem Power. However, this gives you more voting power down the road and likely more earning potential. Afaict there are many ways to profit on Steemit, just pick the one that works best for you as an individual. In two years, you may have so much Steem Power from curation that an upvote of your own post earns you a nice chunk of Steem Dollars. ;)

Update : See below. This is horribly inaccurate. I made next to nothing off of curation. Lesson learned.

Sort:  

FWIW, I've made twice as much curating vs. posting.

No... you didn't. I think you are basing that off of a misinterpretation of my leader-board listings.

Damn you! Why did you make me misinterpret your data? =b

Can you tell me what my curation rewards are at that point? I'm going to assume they are half what you have listed, which would still mean I've made more in curation rewards vs. post, I think.

Based on June 2nd snapshot:

15) tuck-fheman       Reward value:  29006.453 SMD  Given as:   227.824399804207 million SP and  14431.279 SMD

and

tuck-fheman      has  301 posts with a total payout of  12538.193 SMD:

This tells me that you receive 12538.193 SMD (and an equivalent value in SP) for content rewards from votes on your top-level posts only.
The difference 14431.279 - 12538.193 = 1893.086 SMD (and an equivalent value in SP) must be coming from either content rewards from votes on your comments OR content rewards distributed to your posts/comments from children comments that got paid out. My script cannot break it down to finer detail than that right now.

Finally, 29006.453 - 2*14431.279 = 143.895 SMD is the SMD value of the amount of SP you receive from curation rewards.

So the SMD value of all your content rewards is somewhere between 2 * 12538.193 SMD and 2 * 14431.279 SMD, but the SMD value of all your curation rewards is only 143.895 SMD.

Oh wow, then yeah I'm completely wrong above. :/

So much for curating I guess. I really thought curating was paying off and was a major way for those who didn't necessarily want to post to earn some rewards, but obviously I was terribly wrong. I feel bad for telling others they could make some decent SP off of curating content. I need to go lower some people's expectations now. Thanks for the info!

How is $144 next to nothing for clicking a bunch of vote buttons? Have you seriously spent hours doing this specific task, or is it a small part of the time spent on the site that includes posting, commenting, etc.?

$144 vs. ~$23,000 - the original total I saw and thought was for curation, since that was what it was labeled as, is a big difference. Telling people, "Hey I earned $23k from clicking a button (regardless of time spent) and finding out you only earned $144 means I fucked up and need to let these people know they are wasting their time if they, like I did, thought they would be earning that much money from curating post on Steemit. I need to be careful about repeating the #'s being bantered about on here about earnings. They clearly do not represent the entire picture and are being labeled as one thing, when in fact there are many other factors behind the scenes that are not being initially talked about until someone post an idiotic post like I did above. ;)

Hey I earned $23k from clicking a button

Yeah, sign me up for that one!

"Too good to be true" and all...

Still, in all seriousness, I don't think $144, just for the voting part, is bad. Many would be happy with it. It's $144 more than you get for voting/liking/favorite-ing on any other popular site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75