Steemit. Are the many chasing the few?

in #steemit8 years ago

Personally, I find that profitability on Steemit is elusive. I know that I'm not the only one using this site that finds it hard to earn any upvotes or profit from posts. It seems unless Your're a certain person You receive few, if any, upvotes. Are the many chasing the few on steemit in hopes of banking money? Lol. If anybody could elaborate on how to be successful on steemit please do.

Sort:  

Post quality, original content.

Yep. So far, as a number of people have remarked, posting articles and videos does not seem too profitable. You have to write something, at least a summary of what you are linking. With time and more people on here, hopefully raw news and videos will become popular also, but right now, fresh content is the king.

How much you make is partly a function of how hard you work to create value. If you're just linking, that's not going to be highly rewarded.

This may change as the user base grows and evolves. A lot of the value on reddit is finding and posting interesting links, not the long-form stuff that gets the most votes here now. Also, more comments and votes on comments will change things. (If you post a link and it gets hundreds of comments, with many of those comments getting votes, a lot of that value will flow up to the original post.)

But we don't know how steem is going evolve. Will it be more of a blogging platform or more link sharing and discussion, or both. That will drive what sort of posts get paid.

Yes, I think it will change. There are plenty of obscure reddit subs that do just fine. People on there get "rewarded" (though they work for free) finding good links also. It will happen here, too, but the evolution will take time. In my mind, the so-called "circle jerk" postings so far are not just that; they are defining and exploring the attributes and possibilities of Steemit. As more people understand what it is and how to use it for fun and profit, the action will move into different areas. We've already seen the big expansion of the introduceyourself tag this weekend, which is very encouraging. If new users continue to come in and continue to post, a lot of topics will build up and people will gravitate towards the ones that fit their interests. Plus, the voting power should be much more spread out by next month.

Everything is new about steemit. A lot will change. There are many good opportunities to make money as early adopter. I hope I will seize a few before and after july 4th.

Post quality, original content.

Eh, the range of topics that receive attention is rather small right now. You can do like some and just focus on a certain topic you know will receive upvotes because someone before you has shown it will earn upvotes, but if you stray from the path with your quality original content it's not likely to take off.

To easily earn right now, you must be willing to pander. And there are plenty here willing to do just that to the point that it's obnoxious at times. It's just not as black and white as "post quality, original content", is all I'm saying. Think I'm wrong? Prove me wrong!

Perhaps my post will help prove me wrong (it usually does). Just by bringing this up from time to time seems to loosen the purse strings of the whales and helps to take their focus off of Steem/Steemit/Bots/Philosophy/Tutorials related post, because most people love proving other people wrong ... especially outspoken people who they feel have called them out.

So consider this your opening to post about something unusual that oft-times does not get rewarded. With this post alone I have loosened the narrow topic focus of a few whales whose eyes this post may cross. Out of guilt or the desire to show others they have a broader scope of interest, they will begin upvoting a more varying array of topics. And now you can take advantage of it for the next 24-72 hours, because the doors close quickly my friend and back to Steem Bot Basic Income Philosophy Tutorials their attention will run. So be quick about it and be sure to use your proper Markdown syntax with images!

BTW, I need a Dev to build me a Basic Income Bot that post Steem Philosophy Tutorials between the hours of 14:00-20:00 UTC. Because nothing says original like following a trend! Please upvote this post so that I can afford you, and feel free to contact me anywhere you please if interested.

Your Steemit blog seems to consist of a lot of re-posting of others' content. Steemit is geared towards rewarding original content. You may want to evaluate higher-rated posts to see what kind of characteristics attract votes from the community.

Okay. Will do.

FWIW, I've made twice as much curating vs. posting. The only drawback, if you consider it a drawback, is that your curation is paid in Steem Power. However, this gives you more voting power down the road and likely more earning potential. Afaict there are many ways to profit on Steemit, just pick the one that works best for you as an individual. In two years, you may have so much Steem Power from curation that an upvote of your own post earns you a nice chunk of Steem Dollars. ;)

Update : See below. This is horribly inaccurate. I made next to nothing off of curation. Lesson learned.

FWIW, I've made twice as much curating vs. posting.

No... you didn't. I think you are basing that off of a misinterpretation of my leader-board listings.

Damn you! Why did you make me misinterpret your data? =b

Can you tell me what my curation rewards are at that point? I'm going to assume they are half what you have listed, which would still mean I've made more in curation rewards vs. post, I think.

Based on June 2nd snapshot:

15) tuck-fheman       Reward value:  29006.453 SMD  Given as:   227.824399804207 million SP and  14431.279 SMD

and

tuck-fheman      has  301 posts with a total payout of  12538.193 SMD:

This tells me that you receive 12538.193 SMD (and an equivalent value in SP) for content rewards from votes on your top-level posts only.
The difference 14431.279 - 12538.193 = 1893.086 SMD (and an equivalent value in SP) must be coming from either content rewards from votes on your comments OR content rewards distributed to your posts/comments from children comments that got paid out. My script cannot break it down to finer detail than that right now.

Finally, 29006.453 - 2*14431.279 = 143.895 SMD is the SMD value of the amount of SP you receive from curation rewards.

So the SMD value of all your content rewards is somewhere between 2 * 12538.193 SMD and 2 * 14431.279 SMD, but the SMD value of all your curation rewards is only 143.895 SMD.

Oh wow, then yeah I'm completely wrong above. :/

So much for curating I guess. I really thought curating was paying off and was a major way for those who didn't necessarily want to post to earn some rewards, but obviously I was terribly wrong. I feel bad for telling others they could make some decent SP off of curating content. I need to go lower some people's expectations now. Thanks for the info!

How is $144 next to nothing for clicking a bunch of vote buttons? Have you seriously spent hours doing this specific task, or is it a small part of the time spent on the site that includes posting, commenting, etc.?

$144 vs. ~$23,000 - the original total I saw and thought was for curation, since that was what it was labeled as, is a big difference. Telling people, "Hey I earned $23k from clicking a button (regardless of time spent) and finding out you only earned $144 means I fucked up and need to let these people know they are wasting their time if they, like I did, thought they would be earning that much money from curating post on Steemit. I need to be careful about repeating the #'s being bantered about on here about earnings. They clearly do not represent the entire picture and are being labeled as one thing, when in fact there are many other factors behind the scenes that are not being initially talked about until someone post an idiotic post like I did above. ;)

Hey I earned $23k from clicking a button

Yeah, sign me up for that one!

"Too good to be true" and all...

Still, in all seriousness, I don't think $144, just for the voting part, is bad. Many would be happy with it. It's $144 more than you get for voting/liking/favorite-ing on any other popular site.

You got value here two ways:

  1. Two people gave you good advice how to produce more profitable posts
  2. Those comments got upvoted, some of which flows back to you

Now it is up to you to decide to take their advice.

Follow the trends and provide higher value than average. Right now the trend is #introduceyourself

Do not post just for up votes and you will succeed!

Much respect to those who upvote and respond these kinds of posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57455.91
ETH 2919.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58