Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (18.09.2018)

in #steemit6 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 2645 SBD and 9303 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 Coming to America There was a time when Eddie Murphy was funny -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 38 SBD

This is one of my favorite films from the 80s and was one of Eddies more family friendly films as well. Long before Black Panther, there was a story about another fictional affluent African country. Coming to America is about a crown prince to the nation of Zamunda named Akeem Joffer Eddie Murphy. A man who has everything that money can buy but desires to find a wife that will appreciate him for who he is instead of his money and place in the monarchy of his country. He travels to...

#2 Thailand Visa Bullhicky. Again! -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 38 SBD

You would think that after more than a decade of living in Thailand that one might know some insider tips to the system. However, this simply isnt possible because the rules are constantly changing and are not universally enforced. I, yet again, find myself stuck in limbo, because one citys embassy decides to make their own rules for reasons I can not understand. I spent the last 2 weeks in Australia in a city that had a Thai Embassy. The idea was that I would get my Thai visa done w...

#3 The Guy Who Traded A Paperclip For A House -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 36 SBD

Ever hear of the guy who started with one paperclip and traded it up to his own home? In 2005, a Canadian blogger named Kyle MacDonald started an experiment that turned out to be wildly successful. Inspired by a game he played as child called Bigger, Better, he started a website called One Red Paper Clip in order to see how far he could get from a series of barters. It turned out to be a really great idea, as within only a years time and 14 trades later, he owned his own house! Kyle Mac...

#4 Classic Cornbread -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 35 SBD

Sweet, moist, golden, and fluffy, this delectable side dish is a well known favorite. Perfect served with stews, soups, and almost every meal; its even great at breakfast, slathered with butter and served with a fried egg. Everyone has a cornbread recipe in their family, this is the one scribble on stained notecards and jotted in the margins of recipe books in my family Ingredients 4 tablespoons butter, melted 1 large egg room temperature 1 cup of milk room temperature cup sugar 1 tab...

#5 Marvelous Minestrone -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 34 SBD

This hearty soup is sure to keep you warm, and full, on those cold nights to come. I love the hefty servings of vegetables paired with the penne. While I have no true standard Minestrone recipe mine varies depending on the seasonal veggies, this has all the bones of a great minestrone soup pasta, leafy greens, and lots of vegetables. I didnt have any available when I made this today, but chickpeas and kale are some of my favorite additions to this soup. This healthy, homemade soup is the ...

#6 Road to Steemfest 3 7 Business, pleasure, or both? -- by @abh12345 with a current reward of 33 SBD

The seventh installment in my roadtosteemfest series, and the brainchild of anomadsoul as he encourages SteemFest 3 attendees to write about their journey along the way. If you missed the earlier posts on this topic , you can catch up here 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 if you wish. The blockchain lives! Time to add more thoughts soon to be forgotten... Solo con GoPro First of all, I should really start this blog by stating that over the weekend I booked my flight to Krakow. The cost to bring ...

#7 PROS Overall impression of Queensland, Australia; from a guy who lives in a cheap Asian country. -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 32 SBD

So I spent the past 10 days in Queensland, mostly in and around the Brisbane area and I have compiled an nonexhaustive list of pros and cons that are completely from my point of view. I am not trying to hurt anyones feelings, but this is my opinion. I have tried to list an equal amount of pros and cons. In part one I am going to focus on the overall pros of Queensland the cons will come later I feel it is too hot in Thailand where I live I tire of not being able to to anything w...

#8 Gretyl Ready for a Forever Home -- by @tarc with a current reward of 30 SBD

Hi! My name is Gretyl. Im a little black fluffyeared puppy who could be almost any breed you want me to be. Right now I look like a tiny laborador, but Im way too small for that to be the case. I am super sweet and love to be held. I want nothing more in this world than for someone special to pay attention to me and make me feel special, too. . Im about twelve weeks old and weigh around ten pounds. I love to play! Im also really good about sleeping in my crate and have never made a ...

#9 Paid school fees for 7 needy students with the donated 75SBDs. -- by @yohan2on with a current reward of 29 SBD

Arrived at the school and met up with the needy students. The school i staged at is called New Hope schools. This school is located in a region of Bugeywa in Kamuli district one of a remote village found in Eastern Uganda. This is a local private school that is still in its infancy. It has a variety of students mostly from poor families. The assistant head teacher helped me to gather up a list of orphans and there those that had parents but could not as well manage paying the school fees f...

#10 Steem And Me 5 Questions Answered by Cryptogee -- by @cryptogee with a current reward of 27 SBD

I recently hit 73 rep, just under 7,800 followers, and broke 500 blog posts over 6100 are comments. Ive been here for about two and a half years. So I figure its a good time to do a challenge called SteemAndMe. This is a new challenge created by snowpea, intended to help us think about some of the best things about the Steem blockchain, and some things that need improving. The fact that there is potential to create and earn in a relatively simplistic way, without having to resort to adv...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD and STEEM income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39