You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Welcome Page Design Concept 3 - Final Entry

in #steemit8 years ago

Nice work ;-)

As always, I preface my comments with the fact that I am not a designer, and I have no idea what I'm talking about.

I'd like to see -

  • the extruded logo only cover 1/3 of the block. there is too much dead space on the left hand side
  • some separation added between the logo and its reflection
  • some texture added to the extrusion - maybe bring in the binary code you had in the previous iteration
  • the bottom shadow effect pulled down slightly so the words are all on a white background. Maybe even have the words reflected like the logo (but that may be just a bit too much)

I hope that's helpful :-)

Sort:  

Funnily enough out of everything you said, making a reflection for the letters is the easiest thing. I actually already did it, but ended up hiding the layer as it looked unnatural. The texture on the extrusion is an excellent idea, I hadn't considered that. As for the reflection of the logo, it is portrayed exactly how a reflection would be, I fear that If I made a gap between the two it would no longer look like a reflection..
Those changes may take a little while but, I quickly made a version taking your advice about moving the shadow effect.

Better?

one other thing I should have mentioned, that is quite relevant - I did not take into account that amount of work involved in implementing any of the changes.

As someone who is constantly on the receiving end of suggestions to just put that there I know how frustrating some of the suggestions can be.

So please take anything i say with a grain of salt, and if it will take a bunch of effort, or you disagree with it, feel free to ignore my suggestions.

I won't be offended, honest.

As for this change - I think it works better. there is greater contrast now so the words stand out more. Otherwise the background tends to look a little 'dirty'.

I can't think of a better way to describe it.

As for the reflection - keep in mind this is a logo, not a photograph. It does not have to mimic real life. It's art, so place the components in such a way that the convey the message most effectively and / or are most pleasing to the eye.

Again, just my 2 cents worth. ;-)

No.. They are very good suggestions. Sometimes you need some fresh eyes to point out things you have overlooked when you have been working on something for a while. I thank you for the suggestions.

I made attempted to make a version with the suggestions you made, but my computer crashed every time I tried to render the 3D object. I think the binary code on the extrusion was a little too much detail and overworked the program. It's a shame because it looked as though it would look very good!

The competition is closed now, but regardless I will still see if I can get it to render at another time.

Oh bugger!
Sorry about that.
But on the plus side, i too think it looks better with the texture on it.
Maybe try something else with not quite so much derail in it?

I got it to work by reducing the size of the image before rendering to lighten the workload. I updated the post a few moments ago with the new version.

I like it!
Well done. It think this is clearer and cleaner.
Sorry for the extra effort I put you through though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40