Weekly Commentary On My Top Comment Interactions On Steemit - #2

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

speech-bubbles-303206_1280.png

Interaction Is One Of The Main Forms Of Steemit Currency


The Purpose Of This Series

As we proceed on our Steemit journey of growth and discovery we begin to realize that a MAJOR catalyst for our growth on the platform is gained through the interaction we have with other like-minded - and sometimes even NON-like-minded - Steemians, who can educate, inspire, and/or challenge us in developing new ideas and topics for further exploration. Part of this process arises through the content of other people's posts, but ANOTHER major part of this evolves through interactions via comments. It's interesting to note that on Steemit the primary "post" AND the "comment" are BOTH labeled as "posts". This makes clear the idea that comments have the potential to be EQUALLY - if not MORE - valuable (at times) compared to "proper" posts.

I have therefore decided that it would be interesting - and likely helpful to others - to create a series where I show some of the most helpful comment interactions I have had on Steemit, with people who have turned me on to new areas of inquiry, inspired the development of my writing and artistic style through example, etc. As there have been NUMEROUS occasions where various Steemians have introduced me to topics and content which have made MAJOR positive changes in my life and artistic/intellectual pursuits, I believe these interactions are worthy of being recorded, reflected upon, and commented upon. Therefore, this series is an effort to analyze and showcase some of the especially valuable interactions I have had on this platform. My hope is that some/many of the people reading the posts in this series may gain THEIR OWN inspiration from the comments presented here, AND that I can help show people the value of reflecting on the valuable interactions we all experience in dialogue with other Steemians. Perhaps my STYLE/METHOD of commenting may also help readers gain some insight in how to maximize the value/effectiveness of their commenting activities. If these posts help readers gain more value in their overall experience on Steemit then I consider this series a success. I will try to limit my analysis to ONE or TWO of the most valuable interactions I have had each week, as this will likely keep the amount - and depth - of information manageable for the reader.

One other thing to keep in mind is that often people who are new to the platform - and have not yet figured out how to create interesting and income-generating posts - as well as those of us more experienced posters who simply need to tone down our activity to commenting INSTEAD of the more energy-intensive posting process, will likely find value in this examination of the commenting process, since commenting can INDEED be a significant income-earner for those who do it seriously. This is a more practical benefit of this series.

As always, feel free to leave any feedback in the comments section. If your input is especially good, I may even include your comment(s) in the next episodes of this series ;->

Good luck

@transcript-junky


Top Interaction #1

Post : https://steemit.com/art/@havok777/good-time-with-friend-glitch-art-of-the-night

I discovered @havok777 through SteemFollower, my favorite (and most effective) upvote/follower platform which I have been using for 3+ months, and which has now provided me the level of upvote income required to focus primarily on my writing/research instead of having to constantly worry about promoting posts. @havok777 was posting consistently, and I was aesthetically drawn to BOTH his "stream-of-consciousness" style of writing ALONG WITH the beautiful "abstract-techy" style images he seemed to be able to produce in abundance. He writes about his common daily experience - both the mundane and the more introspective - and embellishes this with wonderfully SPONTANEOUS - and often "quirky" images which really create a nice PACE and ATMOSPHERE to his daily post series.

Screenshot (34).png

It wasn't until he made the above post "Good Time With Friend. Glitch Art Of The Night." that I realized that his style of art is actually an ESTABLISHED art form, called "Glitch Art". Once I knew what it was called I was able to then do some of my own research into this artform. I found an ABUNDANCE of online resources available explaining glitch art, and some excellent YouTube videos and channels providing tutorials on how to make it. I mention some of these in the comment screenshots in this post. I also suggested/requested that @havok777 start providing some insight in his posts as to the process by which he creates his glitch art images. He has indeed done this on occasion, but I think it is difficult to include such info in the actual posts, as that would throw off the pace and atmosphere of the main post. So this is ANOTHER EXAMPLE of how the "comments" section can be valuable in adding ADDITIONAL and COMPLEMENTARY information in relation to a main post without disrupting the content of that main "post".

Screenshot (37).png

On an artistic/philosophical level, one interesting thing to consider as you read through @havok777's "Glitch Art" posts is that the PLACEMENT of the images creates a sense of "glitching" within the mental activity of the writing itself. After all, our minds ESSENTIALLY DO work this way - where we are on one train of thought, and then suddenly something else pops up (wanted or unwanted) which creates a "glitch" in our mental activity. I personally get this sense as I am reading through @havok777's posts. The best ones have REALLY attained a flow which enables you to enter deeper into the flow of his thought-process : "glitches" and all.

Screenshot (35).png

[comment continued below]

Screenshot (36).png

@havoc777's "Glitch Art" post was the main inspiration for THIS series. Although I ultimately would like to be able to do something more similar to the "stream-of-consciousess" format, I thought I could launch my series more quickly - and will RESPECTABLE quality visuals - by focusing screenshots of actual comments. So, the birth of this series on comments arose from my interactions with @havoc777. In fact, @havoc777 has ALSO been expanding the range of his series, and I was able to offer some valuable feedback on that as well. This illustrates that commenting is indeed an INTERACTIVE experience.

https://steemit.com/life/@havok777/going-to-city-to-visit-mom-and-get-winter-jacket

Screenshot (33).png

In the end, I am greatful to have found @havok777 and his work, and the interplay of his main posts complemented by our interaction via comments is a FINE example the power of Steemit "comments" to increase the overall value of our experience on the platform. Therefore, I believe this is ANOTHER post in this series which lives up to the intended mission of raising awareness of the power of the "comment" feature on Steemit. I hope some/all of you will agree, and will take a look at some of @havok777's posts, and potentially give him a follow and/or some upvotes.

Enjoy

@transcript-junky

Sort:  

I like how you are basically saying all the real action on steemit is in the comment section! In certain ways this is true. Just like when you read a good book you may find the real action is in the footnotes! Good footnotes shows proper research and comprehension. Your post has got me thinking of the stream of consciousness post, well, I made some posts where I even changed the lettering of the blog to make it more artsy. Like the post is a piece of art. Thinking on Marshall McLuhan a bit for the inspiration for digital collage art as self expression in the digital age or whatever people call it nowadays.

Yes. I agree completely. I have also been pondering this whole concept of the "comment", and it is deepening in dimension with each post in this series, ESPECIALLY as people comment on the series itself. So my intuition about this series having significant potential has been correct. Another thing to be aware of is that people can CONTINUE commenting on posts AFTER the seven day (active) period of the post, which is an added benefit of the "comment" feature compared to the main "post" feature.

Hi, Nice posts. I think you'll enjoy my vlog.
I bought my first car, a Ford Mustang with BITCOINS!!! (4$)
Here is the full video:

I'm Not Kidding :)

You easy to get followers but so few views i notice xD

I am not here to "make income..." I am here to share awareness of a vastly better foundation We can build which will allow a completely free and healthy society to emerge from. An Ethical society. What We have now promotes psychopaths to the top - as illustrated by the fact that only about 5 People have 50% of the wealth on Our planet (stolen from Us by the psychopaths in control through "trusts" - Unum Sanctum and the Cestui Que Vie "trusts" - and deceit) and do nothing, really, to help Humanity.

So... In that effort, I offer My post here, which illustrates the problem, and has a YouTube playlist at the end (view on YouTube to see the whole list - it's less than 1 hour's worth of vids) offering the better foundation:

https://steemit.com/anarchy/@amaterasusolar/endia

I do hope You choose to investigate what I suggest We do...

If you want people to take your message seriously why don't you learn some basic diplomacy skills??? Starting off your comment by insinuating that my main point is that people "make income" is shallow (on your end) and simply incorrect. Therefore, I am NOT going to check out the links you have IMPOSED on my post through your comments. I would SURELY had look at them if you had exercised some grace in the wording of your comment. Perhaps you should RE-READ my post and REALLY ask yourself if my MAIN focus is on people "earning income" OR if it is an examination of the nature and power of the commenting feature on this platform. I think if you approach this post WITHOUT your highly emotive assumptions you may very well gain some "priceless" knowledge. Just something to think about.Good luck...

Wow. Humble apologies for tripping Your switch. I merely mentioned that I was not here for that purpose. I am here to help Humanity, and if that does not interest You, You are welcome to pass on My efforts. I wish You a wonderful life and will move on.

What's with all the drama? This is a helpful post about a valuable topic. As you surely know, there is ENOUGH drama in the world right now. Why add more? Time to focus on PRACTICAL and ETHICAL solutions - as I am ALSO sure you know. Having said that, after responding to your comment I realized that you were the person who commented on my recent "400 Followers Milestone" post : https://steemit.com/steemit/@transcript-junky/400-follower-milestone-free-professional-edit-proofread-giveaway-for-interesting-posts where you provided a link to an interesting - albeit long and detailed - post. I had gotten caught up in work at the time, and totally forgot to comment (in the comments section of THAT post) that DID INDEED read a significant amount of that post. In fact, I read it in SECTIONS - as my time was limited - and after around 4-5 paragraphs I just didn't have additional time/energy to finish it. I will say that I DID INDEED enjoy the content of that post, and just thought that you would AT LEAST be happy to know that a significant portion of it was . As for THIS post you have made above I will stick with my PRINCIPLE that the "wording" of your comment was so off-putting that, unless you CHANGE that wording to something a bit more appropriate to the nature of this main post, I will continue to BOYCOTT following through with the links you have provided. The ball is in your court. If you deem it productive to "reiterate" your original comment I will check out the link. If not, that is completely your choice. In either case, I wish you the best of luck in your efforts...

Um... From what I see, it was You who initiated the drama here, so perhaps You might ask Yourself that question... I did nothing but express My surprise at the vehemence of Your response to My post, point out I merely made mention of My lack of interest in money as motive, gave You My purpose here, suggested that if that is not of interest to You, You needn't investigate, and said that I would move on. Hardly "drama."

I am not in the habit of changing My words beyond typos and faulty grammar. But if You clue Me in on what You want, beyond the vague "something a bit more appropriate to the nature of this main post" - I will be most happy to alter the post for You. Otherwise, I will shrug and accept that I can't please everyOne and, as I said, move on. [No drama intended.]

No problem. No need to go back and forth. Too many problems in the world right now. Please feel free to continue enjoying my posts (or not) at your discretion. Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75