Have I Lost My Bread and Butter on Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Now, my policy is kind of to avoid writing about Steemit as I'm more of an arty girl and there are many more people on this platform that have a much better understanding of Steemit plus the vocabulary to speak about it intelligently. But I'll make an exception here as this post has been floating around in my mind and I'm guessing the only way to get rid of it is to write it and post it. I'm warning  you though, if you like this post and decide to follow me - I'll mainly throw patterns, sketches and a million dollars worth of dirt at you (not literally).

Let me start with briefly describing my Steemit adventure so far! I joined the platform somewhere during the first week of June. Leading up to this I had started investing in cryptocurrency in May and had some encouraging results with buying Ethereum before the price at least tripled and on good days has quadrupled. It was exciting to watch it happen but I also realised that I was way too late, only being able to comfortably buy a few Ethereum and leaving it at that. I started to look for other opportunities beside Bitcoin and Ethereum where I hadn't missed the boat yet. But with so many coins around, it all seemed a bit of a gamble. Until I found Steemit.

I remember having a conversation with my investment partner where I pitched Reddcoin (Reddcoin enables you to tip on existing social media platforms through a Chrome extension), explaining the concept and referring to it as the future of blogging. Little did I know that the future was already here and it was called Steemit. Watching more and more cryptocurrency videos I came across Steemit several times but it took another hour and a half video of @jerrybanfield to get me to sign up. 

By that time I had watched enough cryptocurrency videos to trust that with this video if nothing else Jerry himself singlehandedly would be able to gain enough traction to increase the price of Steem significantly and do a great job in promoting Steemit as a platform. Thanks for convincing me to join, Jerry! 

Soon after joining I realised that there were many more in the Steemit community that were willing to help new joiners and committed to making Steemit the new number one social media platform. After sniffing around a bit on the platform I mustered up enough courage and started writing my first posts. I knew I probably wouldn't get many rewards for my posts, but to be able to start something from the bottom you need to do one crucial thing: to actually start! And so I did and so I encountered what many excited new joiners encounter after putting up their first few posts: crickets. The engagement I did get I was unable to reward as with my initial investment of a little over a 100 Steem power my vote was worth next to nothing making voting for comments that were left at my posts pointless. I still did it anyway, just as a gesture of appreciation. Still now post hard fork 19 when my vote is actually worth something (a whopping dozen cents!) I strongly believe in encouraging and rewarding meaningful comments by upvoting them. But with the limited 100% votes we enjoy after hard fork 19, this is becoming increasingly challenging in combination with the curation I'd like to keep up as well. 

I think this is where many users struggle on Steemit right now, as I've noticed that much fewer comments seem to get upvoted which brings me to the title of this post: have I lost my bread and butter on Steemit? See, after joining Steemit, I realised that unlike many other aspects of mainstream social media platforms in one aspect it is the same: you need a following! So I started to mainly focus on reading, commenting and rewarding other peoples posts. I kept putting out my own posts bit by bit as well, as I wanted people that did visit my profile to be able to get an idea of who I am and what I'm about, but I wasn't expecting to make a lot from it. But I did start to make money, a little here and a little there, however it wasn't from posting - it was from commenting! The added benefit of reading posts and leaving relevant and thoughtful comments was that it started to make up around 80-90% of my rewards. It gave me hope: I can read, I can be nice and a percentage of people value this enough or have the means to reward my being able to read and be nice. I saw a way to be on Steemit, getting to know and contribute to the community and making a little bit of money that I could use to power up and slowly increase my influence. That was until hard fork 19 happened. 

Yes, after hard fork 19 my vote was suddenly worth something.
Yes, after hard fork 19 my post value did go up from cents to dollars in most cases.
Yes, after hard fork 19 all seemed well in the world again!

However a few days in and I'm still reading, commenting and rewarding other peoples posts, but not only do I have to vote more wisely, I also seem to not receive much for commenting any more. I'm pretty sure I'm still commenting at the same rate with the same relevancy, but maybe it was just the pre-hard fork buzz that made people reward a lot more generously. 

I've screenshotted some data from the amazing steem.supply by @dragosroua where you can clearly see that my rewards have gone down in the past few days.

The reason it seems that my post and comment payouts are balanced is because the same @jerrybanfield that made me join, recently upvoted my post about a million dollars worth of dirt, that I also mentioned earlier, during his amazingly generous live upvoting session where he gave away $1600 worth of rewards to his following and people that have helped him on the platform. But apart from the rewards I received from this post and my introductory post the majority of my rewards have come from commenting.

                    

Anyway, I will always remain reading, being nice and commenting whether or not I get rewarded for it, I was just excited that it seemed I had found a way to make some money on Steemit with limited Steem power and a very small following. Luckily there are plenty of more experienced members of the community here to offer their advice and projects like @minnowsupport to help us along the way. We'll get there eventually, us minnows :-)


Sort:  

With the HF, at first it was very difficult how it would affect us at large. It seemed the numbers had changed drastically; but only if you don't vote every day. If you do vote daily, then not as much.. which is probably very good. Too much change at 1 time would probably not have been good; so days later; I'm thinking this has been very positive, and people are more motivated now; but not too much.

Thanks for your view and clarification on HF19, I definitely agree that overall the change has had a positive effect! Just trying to find my Steemit "strategy" to optimal engagement and increased influence.

Hi, The only advice I can give you his keep posting quality content. You will eventually get noticed and gain a following. It does take time.
Good luck

But she was trying to gain from "being" a following, not having one. I think this is very important. If there is no stimulus to "be" a following, then there will be less of a following for most people.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tishyaoedit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Hi Tishya oedit, I was just about to write one post about our concern on making money, instead of being concerned about relevant posts. It seems to me that for the majority here on steemit is the ultimate goal is to make money.

After thinking a lot about it in a past week, I concluded that I will rather earn no money, but reward (upvote) good articles. Building a quality community like steemit is more important than bragging about who earned more, and who got more followers.

Keep bringing the relevant content Tishya, I believe that is the only right way to make this place stand out from other communities.

That is exactly the type of community I want also. I would love to have a front page of amazing, engaging content. as it stands it needs a bit of sifting to find good stuff. (especially if I'm not interested in cryptocurrency or steemit talk)

I'm sure there will be a point where this will be more of a reality and less of a distant dream. When more and more people join the platform the interests will have to be more diverse and this will reduce the cryptocurrency talk to more resemble mainstream proportions. We just need to try and bring on as many artist, craft, gardening and other non-crypto friends!

True, but I fear that the mainstream will bring in more stuff I absolutely could care less (like celebrities). Maybe we should be able to customize our front page to show different topics we choose and not just popular one.

Yes, well depends on what you consider celebrity, but if you mean Kim Kardashian, I'm with you ;-)

Maybe you are right in more customization, but in a way we do this by choosing who we follow as with any platform.

As long as there's no algorithm that decides to show me what it thinks I'll like the most, I'll remain in!

I absolutely agree that we should focus on giving value! But it's certainly more motivating if this is rewarded :-) Because giving value also takes time in most cases. If we can make some good rewards we can also free up more time to give value or even decide to provide value fulltime as some have been lucky enough to do on here.

I believe in anything we do we should do it out of joy, passion or love, secondly we do also have to be concerned with the monetary value we receive in exchange for what we give, because how will you create from love if you are burdened by the concern of where your next meal is going to come from :-)

Thanks for your thoughts and encouragement!

You are welcome :) My idea of being on social networks is during my free time, chatting with friends and peers, not earning money. If you want to do this full time, go for it and money will come for sure. Keep steemit :)

When I say give value I don't necessarily mean creating something solely for Steemit and expecting to make money or a "career" this way. The way I see it is that Steemit and its rewards could support me in being a designer.

I will be creating patterns, designs and sketches anyway, but if I decide to write about what I do or share stories and photos of the process, wouldn't it be great to also receive rewards for creating this content and sharing it with the Steemit community? I have been sharing anyway and will remain doing this with or without Steemit rewards, I just see much potential for designers and artists on Steemit :-)

Hmmm, were just in a week since the hardfork, I think all the minnows are adapting, only time will tell if it was good or not, great post! followed! :)

Thanks, followed you back!

Yes! 😂💖

A really well written post on your Steemit journey Tishya ... I find it really interesting in how other people initially find Steemit :) Resteemed!

Thanks @mindhunter! I'm not really a Steemit expert, but I hope other newbies like myself that feel that they aren't crypto wizards can relate to my story!

The resteem is very much appreciated, thanks again!

Keep watching my Daily Dose to top up your Steemit knowledge Tishya. It took me 3 months to find my feet on here and learn all the bells and whistles. If you ever need any help just holler OK. Cool :)

I will definitely keep tuning in for your Daily Dose!

Many thanks for the offer, however I don't think I do hollering, but I might discreetly try to draw your attention ;-) In any case, I think you've already helped me quite a bit by resteeming!

[Whisper quiet. Cool.]

Wow 42 votes and only $0.8.

Whales come to this quality content 🔥

Keep up the good job!

Thanks for the kind words!

Good post as I've also noticed my upvotes cut in half and comments by more than 200 percent in the last week.

I guess we just have to learn to navigate post HF19! (I find it really funny to say this, since I've only been on Steemit for 3 weeks :-D)

Thanks for this wonderful article. Gives us newbies a bit better perspective. We must stay very active as minnows to grow. Things seem to pick up fast around here.

Very true! We must... unite ;-)

Yes! Followed

I think you are touching on a very important point. I think that rewarding curating and responses is what makes this place unique and entices people to become 'followings' for creators. This is good because if the only drive is to create content then there will be a flood of "lazy" or "bad" content with less curation and that may cause a downward spiral in content quality. I for one want to create more quality content, but the uncertainty of the rewards makes me reticent to invest time making better content.

I think it is inevitable that the larger part of the Steemit community will become less of a creating and more of a consuming community, at least if it is to grow towards becoming a more mainstream social media platform. I think people that create content naturally like writers, coaches, musicians, artists etc will do well as creators, but there will have to be a way for content consumers to do well as well, otherwise why would they leave their current social media and come over to Steemit? Curation rewards is not the answer, unless you are considered a whale, because I don't know about you, but I like to upvote great quality content but I hardly make anything from doing so.

That is true. This has to be the differential for steemit to grow and upvoted comments are a good thing to foster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48