Steemit Lifetime Recruitment Bonus - How Rewarding Recruitment Can Help Grow the Steemit Community

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

So let me start by saying that I love Steemit! My brother is a bitcoin/alt-coin enthusiast, and he recruited me to Steemit last week. After he explained the idea behind Steem/Steemit, I immediately saw the huge potential the site had to offer. I asked him to buy me $250 of Steem right away (which is a somewhat large investment for me). I held onto my Steem for a few days, and started to read more about it. I consumed the whitepaper in two days, and talked to my brother about how it all worked. After learning about the relationship between Steem and Steem Power, I decided that Powering Up was the way to go. I signed up for an account to converted my Steem to SP. Once I was on the site, I got drawn in to the content/posts. I got super excited about it, and convinced my artist/creative friend to sign up too. Within a few days of signing up, he created a post that got up-voted to $979.08. (Holy cow!) Needless to say, he is hooked now too. The two of us have pretty much spent every waking moment on Steemit, and we are loving it!

I love how Steemit is designed to reward users who add value to the community. Not only that, but they have thought of so many different ways that people can add value, and factored them all in. There is one way of adding value that I think is currently underrated though, and that is recruitment. Don't get me wrong, I intent to recruit the heck out of Steemit. I am pretty much telling everyone I can about it, any time I can find a way to work it into the conversation. Still, Steemit does financially incentivize pretty much every other type of value adding behavior, so why not recruitment?

People who like the community will naturally recruit others to join, but there are certain types of recruitment behavior (like buying keywords on google) that excited Steemers may not do for free. There also isn't currently much incentive to share your post on other social media sites like Facebook, because the earning potential from sharing it there is fairly low considering someone would have to go through the process of signing up, plus up-vote your post, just for you to get a low SP vote on your post. If Steemit had a way to build in a life-time recruitment bonus (say 5% of the Steem your recruit makes, including the Steem that they make off their recruits), then it would be that much more rewarding for people to recruit others to join.

Sort:  

Hi OP! I am @jeeves, a public service robot (PSR). I want to thank you for this wonderful post. I'm here to deliver my sincere upvote. For readers: if you liked this blog, you might also be interested in these other posts tagged "steemit".

Here are the top 3 most popular posts tagged "steemit":

  1. SA's City of Durban to be engulfed by STEEM! The world to follow! ($15785.02)
  2. [STEEMSHARE.COM] - The Dedicated STEEM Post List Organizer and Discovery Platform ($5759.69)
  3. Marketing Campaign on CoinMarketCap Extended and Boosted by 500% - Stats and analytics inside ($5572.06)

wow you got jeeved!

Steem defiantly has the appeal the rest of the cryptocurrencies didn't have to the average joe.

I agree. I've convinced friends to sign up just based on the fact you can get paid for your posts. Once they sign-up, then they want to know how it all works, which is a great introduction into the world of alternate-currencies :)

I think that this is an interesting idea especially when it comes to recruiting content heavy weights. However, I think life time is way too long.

In about 1 year almost everyone will know about steemit and I'm sure that @dantheman and @ned will be on Oprah and she'll do a Steemit post and all the other content celebrities are going to pile on anyway.

That's a good point. I just remember from my affiliate marketing days, I would put the most effort into sites that let me keep earning from my recruits for life. (I recruited one person to a poker site that ended up giving me around $20/month worth of payouts for about 5 years, and it was awesome! After that one started paying out, I was doing anything I could to get more people into that site.) With Steemit, that extra lifetime incentive probably isn't necessary. Just enough to make it financially beneficial to recruit would be enough to encourage more of the behavior.

they dont need to do that steemit is getting popular already no need for referrals doing so it will just be another neobux or inboxdollars.... steemit should stay as is.... those you refer let them grow their accounts and upvote your posts :)

I agree that Steemit will gain continue popularity regardless of whether it is incentivized or not. There is a natural organic recruitment occurring just based on how awesome the site is! I do think that incentivizing recruitment can add value though, as it will encourage other forms of recruitment beyond just the organic growth that is occurring from all the excitement. It does not necessarily corrupt the site to incentivize recruitment, any more than incentivizing posting, voting, or any of the other behaviors that the community values does.

Very interesting. Providing recruitment rewards is an example of how a Steemit economy will, over time, evolve toward the provision and compensation of a whole host of value added services.

I have been curious about that. Would the platform be able to easily evolve to support alternate forms of compensation, or would it be a fairly big change to reward things other than what it is currently setup to do?

I'm very new to the site, but a writer friend recommended it to me. At first I was very leery. I've seen too many of these types of platforms come and go...and usually at a loss on my end. I'm still working my way through the white papers. My biggest hurdle is having no understanding at all about cryptocurrency and I'm a little gun-shy about converting anything (not that a measly dollar or two will make a difference). I do wish I was in a position to buy some steem and I'm pouring over posts like yours to really understand the process.

Thank you for this gem. I'm bookmarking it so I can read through it again. All best! Mere

Welcome to the site. One thing that you might want to try is "Submit a Story" and use the tag "introduceyourself" as your first/primary tag. You can try looking at a few of the posts that are already in that category to see what has been successful. It's a great way to get engaged, and if people like your post - you might get some Steem :)

That's exactly what I did @timcliff :) Then posted 2 more blogs over 2 days because each one took a few hours to write. BONUS - I have to say that each one has increased in "value" and that makes me feel good. If this place is sincerely about community, then my second objective is finding people I like and can interact with. :)

Hello! I am @upvotes and I am here to help you get upvotes!

Just upvote this comment and your post automatically becomes an @upvotes candidate for: @people, @misc, and @headlines
Several times a day the most upvoted candidates become the Best of Category post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63