We need to be able to do Steemit name changes IMO....steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

What happens when you picked the wrong username from the get go?

I, as with many others in the Steem world feel as if we picked the wrong nicknames for Steemit and would like the option to change our account names, so let's discuss possible avenues to doing this, because I for one can't stand Dash any longer and can't see myself posting under "TheDashGuy" ever again...


Thoughts?

I am by no means trying to 'hide' or anything like that, just wan't to continue using my same old Steemit account, besides it's all permanently saved to the Blockchain already so what difference would it make? I bet it would make a handful of people happy though!


Anyways, hey strangers! Been a while, I have been enjoying real life and working my butt off on a new #legalpot shop in SeaTac, Washington. Come visit if you're ever in Seattle!

Sort:  

I can see why one would want that feature, but I have to admit that I would probably not use it myself. I've put quite a bit of work into this WinstonWolfe name. ;-)

I'm mattclarke everywhere.
If I don't want something in my name, I don't post it.

That would have vast implications for urls and other things. Perhaps registered alias so long as it is unique and does not conflict with existing accounts.

Fair enough :p Thanks for the reply!

Yep :(

I don't want to be Brian anymore

I agree, I'd like to be able to change my account name as well.

Completely agree, I know of one person that started a new account just to use a new name. That can be a lot of money on the table or to power down and transfer if needed. Plus the losing of any rep earned.

What made you change your mind about Dash?

It's a complete echo chamber where critical thinking is frowned upon and the ever so expensive "budget system" is toyed with and used for waste. They turned a good idea into a little cookie jar system for the "core" team. It could have been so much more, so much more decentralized & so much more effective. But instead Evan Duffield wants to turn it into a "paypal 2.0" which is basically just a crypto-bank for him and his friends to further their scammy goals.

As somebody who doesn't know you, I saw your name and thought you were: 1. fast and always on the move doing something interesting, 2. nimble and quick-witted, or 3. dashing and debonnaire. I didn't equate it with any specific project. As more people get on Steemit, more won't even associate it with the project that you do.

Yea thats a good point I guess too..

Wear that dash name with pride! : )

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thanks for sharing
upvote

I've wanted to do the same, but I can only imagine that it's not possible since it's blockchain.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51