STREEM - An Idea for a Music Streaming Service on the Steem Blockchain

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


Introduction

Right now the Steem blockchain has one publicly available app - Steemit. Soon we will have two more in the form of Busy and SteemConnect.

The more apps that we have utilising the Steem ecosystem the greater the potential utility will be for Steem and the more our Steem and Steem Power will be worth.

I am not a programmer or developer but I did think of an idea which I would love community input on as per my old Ideasfactory post. Please let me know what you think.


The Idea: "STREEM" - A Music Streaming App on the Steem Blockchain

Possible alternative names: STREEMPLAY, STEEMPLAY, STREEMER

This is how it could work:

Listening to more than 10% of a song for "free" upvotes it by the percentage you listened too.

There would be a minimum threshold of vote value for you to listen for free e.g. one Steem cent per full song - this is more than the maximum Spotify pays on their subscription royalties ( a max of about $0.0084 per song SOURCE).

When your vote falls below the threshold your "free" listening runs out. You could also set personal limits or timers on this so as not to deplete your voting power beyond a certain point.

Alternatively you can buy timed credits or a monthly subscription with Steem Dollars which are then distributed to the artists according to how much you listen to their music.

The app could be created/developed by the Steemit team/they could pay for a 3rd party to develop it, or alternatively someone in the community with the appropriate skills could take it on as a project which they could fund through donations and post upvotes (obviously that would be more difficult).


Why it Adds value to Steem:

  • People like listening to music.
  • This would allow them to pay for music using Steem/Steem Dollars.
  • They could also listen for free and the more SP they have the more they could listen to for free. This could be considered a perk of powering up and encourage people to do so hence increasing the demand for Steem.

Why it helps Artists:

  • Even the minimum 1 cent threshold for upvote based "free" listening is more than top artists get per track on services like Spotify. In theory they could earn significantly more than on such services.
  • Further there is the potential to earn a lot more either via subscriptions or upvotes.
  • The money goes straight to the artists with no middleman.

Why it helps me as the listener :

  • The money goes to the artist rather than a middleman.
  • I get a new way of using my Steem and Steem Dollars.
  • One less thing to pay for with fiat currency.
  • As a Steem Power holder this increases the value of my SP.

Conclusions

What do you think? Would you use a service like this? Would you modify it in someway?

Are you a musician who is fed up of the current streaming royalties?

Are you a developer who would be interested in making something like this?

Please give me your opinions in the comments below.




Thank you for reading.


If you like my work please follow me and check out my blog - @thecryptofiend


All uncredited photos are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


HTML tutorial


Sort:  

This is an awesome concept, good job! I hope we can see it come to life!

Thanks me too:)

Paging @cob . Anyone who wants to work on this should talk to him first.

I don't know @cob - would be great if the community could start working on this.

What have they done with muse? I still have shares.... :)

You and me both. MUSE would be a starting point, at least, for anyone else who wanted to take on this project.

We would love to be able to distribute our podcast with a Steem blockchain app. I wonder if this idea could also be used by podcasters.

The great thing about the blockchain is that we can replicate almost every service that is already on the web and just make it better.

Exactly and you can cut out the middleman to a great extent. Even if the app developer charged a small fee (e.g. for the app itself to pay for development) more of your money would be going to the actual artists. They could even in theory set their own pricing.

Thanks. It may work better without the last "e" .

Lol yes keep me posted. Would you like me to pass on any devs that might be interested on to yourselves?

Hi @thecryptofiend,

We are currently talking to developers both here on Steemit and off-site.

Thanks for your offer! We appreciate the support!

Kind regards,

Thirsty Records
A Blockchain Based Music Service

OK cool like I said keep me posted. I am always interested in new developments.

Right now the Steem blockchain has one publicly available app - Steemit. Soon we will have two more in the form of Busy and SteemConnect.

well, there is #eSteem application as well.
I like streemer more...
I would be interested creating such app, but as you said funding project needs proper ways and it is quite big and long term project, which I am sure would benefit platform a lot...Hope to see some initiative from developers. I have a lot of ideas about applications on top of Steem, if only I could get more time.... :D

Yes. I think the other problem as someone pointed out to me is a lack of developers who are familiar with graphene.

Yes, this would be a fantastic idea for music seekers and an excellent way for artists to promote - and more importantly, to earn from - their content. And I do believe this would greatly contribute to the value of STEEM.

Now the trick is, finding the right developers to make it viable. I would support a project like this, small as my support may be. Matching contributions from larger accounts would be nice.

Thanks yes. I would definitely support it too but my pockets are not very deep either (at least not yet - there is always hope lol). Thank you for commenting.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

I think this is an amazing idea. I'd be all over this if it would come to fruition.

Fantastic:) Right now I think @senseiteekay is working on something like this already with thirstyrecords. If I had the coding expertise I would make a start on it myself. Keep an ear out for new developments as it may well happen.

So excited for the future of musicians on the blockchain. Ears and eyes peeled!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37