You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: the real driver for Steemit.com's + STEEM's value .

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I know what you mean! I think you had great points with your article why it is going to blow up

Steemit.com + STEEM it has all the ingredients for an exponential idea.
I don't think you can really overstate how big and fast it can grow the next few years. I explain here about exponential functions

Our brains are not really equipped to think in non-linear or exponential development.
Unless you take the time to rationally look at the fundamentals, you won't necessarily understand intuitively WHY this can blow up.
If you have been seeing other exponential ideas, you can improve your intuition about this, but most people won't get it the first time around.

That is why I was so happy to find your post, there were a few factors that made things click.

Is it possible that it will fizzle and go nowhere ? Of course!
It is a hugely complex system and there are probably more ways for it to go wrong than right eventually.
But still the immediate future looks bright. And it is a no-lose proposition for me currently.
Say I don't see a penny (probably won't because I am going to put ALL into STEEM POWER) it is still worth it for me.

I haven't been so enthusiastic about writing down my ideas and interacting in an online community in YEARS
The last online community I really enjoyed was Couchsurfing.org in 2010 before they went and f*cked it up, destroyed the whole community and simply deleted years of members contributions in the forums trying to become another Facebook. That is the great thing about your content here, many people don't understand yet, it is a lot more solid.
Remember what happened with Geocities? How many MILLIONS of hours of effort from its members were just wiped away. A distributed system like steemit.com (as I understand it) can't be just eliminated like so many other sites.
What happened at Couchsurfing really pissed me off. You had massive city guides made painstakingly by members over YEARS that were just deleted by a team trying to make a quick buck over the backs of a few million volunteer contributors.
That was the big lesson for me about content, on most social media sites you DO NOT OWN YOUR CONTENT! It becomes a commodity, OWNED BY THE PLATFORM to make a buck off it anyway they please.

On Steemit.com you don't necessarily own your content either, but it might be the next best thing.
Correct me if I am wrong (still need to look into the robustness of it) but the blockchain would make it impossible to delete parts of Steemit.com ? What about the site itself, if someone say forgot to renew the domain name or Steemit INC would go bust? What would happen?

Social media in general has become more and more a thing to avoid and I really hesitate to share anything on it because it feels like a drop in the ocean and that it simply does not matter.

On steemit.com the opposite is true (so far).
I am not getting massive upvotes (so far I made 20 SBD in a week) but the comments are very useful and even if I would not make money with this in a while that would not stop me from contributing!

By the way: any couchsurfers here?

Sort:  

I'm a bit new to this as well, but since there are 40+ computers on the network with copies of steem blockchain, I guess steemit is fairly open to being replaced by another site. I don't understand the economics of how steemit keeps my tokens and allows them to be accessed for trade on exchanges.

I assume the economic incentive for steemit to stay alive, to monetize and expand the value of steem is more than adequate to ensure they won't forget to pay the fees for the domain name ;-)

I really like many of the points you made in your in-depth reply:

  1. The community around steemit is pretty amazing, and keeps me up to date on latest crypto trends. I can choose to do crypto trading full time any time I like, but will stay with my current career because it's part of this steem ecosystem.

  2. Being part of the steemit community is a new lease on life for me. I can forget about spending 40 hours a month in a car commuting, and I can start taking much better care of myself, as I prepare to be much more prosperous than I have ever imagined.

  3. Anyone that joins this community at this time, and is willing to study and take the time to understand the concepts involved, can put themselves on the fast track to being independent and free of our current slave wage economic ties with current US and world economies. In other words, they can be independently wealthy fairly quick (a few years time).

  4. While I would say steemit is still very much an experiment, I love the many features it offers users, including being able to forget about running a full blockchain wallet on their computer, for EACH CCurrency they want to invest and trade in.

  5. I like the fact steemit attracts women. They see it as something they can grasp and is not too techy to enjoy. This I hope to help improve over time so that steemit is the most easy to use opportunity to embrace and participate in CCurrency trading and interactions with the community at large.

  6. Yes, I agree, this has the potential to be exponential and I think that word sums up my visions of how important it is. If only as an example of issuing a blockchain very differently, and doing it with great value to society and humanity.

You joke but don't underestimate your #5 it attracts women. That indeed is a powerful one for several reasons!

the iphone of crypto bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64216.73
ETH 2767.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64