I like the future of STEEM - obvious reasons this is going to blow upsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)


I was reading today, so many things; please leave comments if you disagree, or if you think my facts are not straight; I'm sorry I do not cite sources here:

1) Steem is processing more transactions per day than bitcoin or ethereum - I would think that will get noticed!

2) I read an article about how it's being enabled by the steemit web site to make it a great investment by offering so many services to go with it:

I like the future of Steem because its hovering just north of a dollar right now and has a platform anyone can interact with it, trade it to another user, vote and grow channels they like, and even transfer the tokens to others within the social network. 

You can't do that with Ripple, Bitcoin, or many others. All you can do with them is either buy, hold, trade, or sell that's it. 

This steemit platform lets the "common" man or woman produce and participate in intellectual ideas, thoughts, blogs, pictures, videos, jokes and on and on.

3) Bitcoin has problems right now, transactions are slow and expensive. It's very popular around the world, price is going up, but it has major problems that look like it will take years to solve them. I think it will still attract those that hear about it in the news, and  know nothing about it, but it will not remain dominant.

I'm moving away from bitcoin now, while it's high and I can buy much cheaper, better tokens that provide more utility for a cheaper price.

4) Steem does not charge a fee for transactions. That's going to kill all the other altcoin (there are hundreds), in many ways. Not ETH, but most of the others, have no game like this. They pale in comparison; just pure hype in comparison. 

For contracts, ETH makes sense. Forming a business, maybe writing a will, not sure, making contracts that have money associated with them, multiple signatures, this is what ETH does. It's very valuable.

For casual transactions, blog posts, kitty pictures, recipes, something more simple, designed to work faster than the speed of the fastest processors and file systems is needed. Steem seems to be headed in that direction. 

Make no mistake, this enables incredible value.

5) Replaces or reduces need for advertising.

I don't need to tell anyone that advertising on the open web almost hobbles web traffic, and mobile apps are probably worse, because there is much less of a sandbox. Security is constantly challenged by mobile apps, and advertising on the web makes most sites unenjoyable. And don't forget bloggers are dying out there right now, because Google returns text answers before the link results. That has cut down on ad traffic a great deal.

When writers can write without having to sell the most newspapers compared to colleges, then they find their niche, and can write without oppressive environment coloring the process.

I'm a critic. I only like the best. This one is it.



Sort:  

Let's hodl and see :)

I agree with you ! :)

2 days in and I'm loving it here! Haven't shut up about to my friends IRL. haha :)

Hi Yogi!
I started to comment but it got out of hand and I made a whole post in reply! Linked back to your post!
I think the huge driver is going to be the millions of bloggers out there who never made a cent off their writing. Steemit.com and Steem provide indeed a frictionless way to get from writing to money without having to deal with ads, SEO, sponsors or building an online marketing career. Your post made several things click for me. Thanks a lot! Would love your feedback!
https://steemit.com/steemit/@the-traveller/the-real-driver-for-steemit-com-s-steem-s-value

Loading...

ETH will be dominant and rising

There's nothing worse than ads on the internet, especially when you have a computer that's not new. The ads clog up the bandwidth on basic speed internet service, especially the video ads.
One of the major bonuses of the steemit website is that there's no ads getting in the way and hogging processor capacity. I can do my thing without all the ads clogging up my feed.

I find it funny that most of the top posts on Steemit are circlejerks. (I'm not saying that's a bad thing, just something to be aware of.)

Valid reasons.

We also got no censorship and a great community too

I really enjoy the steemit platform. Let's hope it has staying power :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76