You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A look at transparency and hiding beneath the surface

in #steemit6 years ago

I actually tried a bot(very low amount like 1SBD) the other day. I feel like bots are cheating, but even when you do quality work it never moves up simply because everyone is botting.
It is sad, because I'll see posts with 200$ on them, open them, and they have 3 views... Yes 3 views....

It blew my mind, this is content we see first I was hoping to find some amazing content in them to improve the layout of my own posts(the ones I actually try on). Yet it was sad because I couldn't.

I will say even @Bycoleman has been very open about his bot use, and even recently decided to stop using them. Massive respect to that.

Personally me using such a small amount did increase my organic reach and I was able to engage and interact with new people(which I assume was initially the point of the bots as well).

Botting is a double edged sword, on the one hand we can use it almost like ads and bring new people to our content we otherwise would have missed, and thanks to transparency we can show we are paying for bots.

On the other because of that ease of use many will take advantage of it, and sadly we miss out on great content, from amazing producers.

All in all, I am very pro @transparencybot

Sort:  

@bycoleman I am glad it is getting such feedback, in such an emerging technology, we have to stay ahead of those who will abuse the system, and take the money out of it before we have real consumer adoption.
We have to be cautious on how we let those take advantage of the system that has been created, and what you have built will fuel that discussion. Think in just these past few days so many people are now taking sides, it's needed desperately, once people become aware of a problem, we can have a more inclusive discussion on the solutions.

@tarazkp
Yeah, I do wonder if it was organic without the bot or because of it, for sure.

On the note of views, yes I have noticed that, I'll have 100-200 views, and 5 or 6 upvotes. I also note the viewcount is showing those who do not yet have a steemit.
Which is I am sure where most of my views come from, and I am always grateful for those who find my trading and other tips valuble here, and on any other platform.

What I am happy to say though is thanks to my lurking around and seeing bycoleman and and his bidbots posts I am now starting to find quality content producers and learning to actually write a bit better for my posts.

Always been a speaker, so writing has been a challenge. So thank you guys for producing quality content for me to enjoy and learn from!

Thank you Joe, inclusive discussions are indeed needed. Of course, interim actions can be implemented that are less than perfect.

No decision is a decision. It is indeed time to respond to the best of our ability.

Thank you for the support an kind words!

Blessings!

@thatguyjoe,

You have articulated this very well, thank you. I'm very humbled by the amount of discussion that @transparency has brought forward.

I thank you and everyone who is truly looking at this complex situation with an open minded stance that allows long term solutions to be discovered and implemented.

Blessings!

It is sad, because I'll see posts with 200$ on them, open them, and they have 3 views... Yes 3 views....

Yep. when they play with the numbers they will play with averages I think which means that the big names that use bots will skew the results. I have seen some very high rewards on some very low views.

Personally me using such a small amount did increase my organic reach and I was able to engage and interact with new people(which I assume was initially the point of the bots as well).

Hard to tell if it was the bot though isn't it ;)

This view counter is not accrate by the way and will register every open, even by the poster. That means even the person who posted it is included in those three views. :D

Cheetah would be the second.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35