How do you feel about taking steemit advice from a newbie? maybe we can all relate.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

WaterMark_2018-03-18-21-56-21.jpeg
This can't always be a straight answer like many of us would have thought right away by just reading the title of this post.
You know it's not all or nothing, black or white in this situation, there is that shade of gray as we are going see below in this article.
Before we go any further i want each of us to confess what content they are most likely to read on steemit.
I can witness most of us go to the hot and trending pages of steemit. What does that mean? Not yet.
Why do we look at the reputation of someone before we commit ourselves to reading their articles?
Why do we take every advice given to us by those people who have high steem power?
Why don't most newbies comment on fellow newbies posts?
Why don't newbies upvote fellow newbies?
Why do most whales only are decisive on reading fellow whale's posts?
I can give you a simple answer.

it's to save time, right?

clock-noon-time.jpg
Credit

Not really, but sort of.
You see, it's kinda like it, but not wholly it.
I once read a post by @therealwolf where he came up with a new way of sorting the comments under his posts. In busy it's possible to sort comments by reputation. So he decided to always sort his comments by the reputation. It was easy to understand him. Literally by sorting the comments by reputation he would be able to reach the valuable comments fast as those with high reputation have gotten that through providing value. Looks like a good way of avoiding spammy comments.

And it can be tiresome reading all posts all over steemit just to look for good content
person-on-computer-clipart-1.jpg
credit
You can toil the whole day and trust me it's more tiresome than you think.
So what do most people do?
They filter by experience and exposure of these steemit users. The more any of these a person has the easier their content are found and read.

But this ain't just bread and butter through out. We can sometimes find posts that don't give us as much value from these reputable members of steemit.
So what do we do?

So back to our question.

How do you always feel investing your time into reading steemit advice articles from newbies

Sincerely it sometimes feels worth it depending on topic.
I once came across a struggling newbie who was giving advice on how to earn alot of steem and followers in just a month.
It was had to believe him despite his knowledge. The very first thing that put me off was his performance himself. His knowledge might have been so valuable to me but unfortunately i was biased already by his reputation and his stay on the steemit platform.
Can relate steemit to real life?
Of course steemit just is like life itself, we can't deny it.
Have you read the book Influence by Robert cialdini?
Maybe you should check it out.
There one of the key aspects of influencing people and one that applies here is called authority.

Authority

expert-advice-1.jpg
credit
This is sort of psychology, am not a psychologist but this is pretty easy to understand.
You see we tend to take any advice from people who seem to have authority regardless of the value and how helpful that advice is to us.
It's the brain's efficient way of filtering out good information from bad information and suprisingly steemit ain't even slightly different.
Who are those people with authority?
Experienced personels.
Successful personels.
Exposed and established personels.
And just as we can all relate, here on steemit some people fall into those categories and that's why we read their content on a daily basis.
Those statements maynot be true for all but for as long as they appear to be one of those personels we shall always give them first priority.

So let me answer the question I asked.
How i would feel about taking steemit advice from a newbie
Regardless of the value of their advice, i would have mixed feelings about their advice.
So i would most likely not take it seriously.
And most of you, would feel or do just about the same thing.

Sometimes we might be wrong or miss out on good advice but that's just it.

As always thanks for passing by.
@tesaganewton
See you.

Sort:  

I'd take such advice from a newbie with a pinch of salt. Like you said, we tend to believe or take advice from authority figures who have a lot of experience on the ups and downs of the steemit platform. So naturally I'll mostly take advice from people who've been in steemit for longer.

Your article is very good, although I would say the answer is more simple than saving time. Let's look at it in the cold light of day - time is money. People want to be sure that more of their interactions lead to profit. It doesn't make sense to many people (sadly) to interact with accounts which are less likely to bring them good profits.

A lot of whales and high reputation accounts are guilty of shitposting, so the argument of filtering rep to save time - I just don't buy entirely. I treat people based on what they say because she may have a low rep today, but she may have potential and a good connection in the long-term is what I am always looking out to make here. So I take my time, follow up those who upvote my posts, even those who don't leave any comment.

I'd say a very large number of posts in trending are less-than useful to read. Yet they are hotbeds of activity, much like a pile of shit in a dump. A lot of flies gather.

Calling it psychology is a bit of euphemism and excuse my language but Icall it like it is ;-)

so the argument of filtering rep to save time - I just don't buy entirely. I treat people based on what they say because she may have a low rep today, but she may have potential and a good connection in the long-term is what I am always looking out to make here. So I take my time, follow up those who upvote my posts, even those who don't leave any comment.

It's easier when you have a few comments under your post.you can take your time and read just about everything. To some people it's tiresome filtering all the comments to fish out the good ones.
And yes not all posts on trending are good posts,
but when it comes to steemit advice it's hard believing someone who hasn't done alot on steemit yet.
Well some newbies tip's might be worth checking out. the truth is most people, including you, read the trending and hot page of every tag more often.

It doesn't matter how many comments there are in total. One does it as the comments come in, so this argument with respect, is no excuse. One should read comments carefully to find out what the person is saying. You are suggesting that a rep score is an indication of the value of the comment. This is simply not true.

I notice you are suggesting that I may have just a few comments in my posts. How did you reach this conclusion? By looking at my rep point or by scanning my posts? If you read my comment again, you may find I said that I follow up on all comments and upvotes (even those who don't leave comments). This is how I found your post here. You upvoted my post - whether you read it or not, i am not sure. But thanks for that. You didn't comment - yet I still followed up. How many upvotes did I follow up? How many upvotes did I receive on my post?

I will leave these to you to find out, if you have the time. This I think is what is called manual curation. Actually reading and thinking about what people are saying instead of using a rep score. This is also called interaction and I believe it ought to count for something. I don't buy any excuses - if you saw the number of upvotes you may be surprised - 90% of them worth almost nothing btw - and I follow up on every single voter, regardless of what the value of the vote was - $0.4 or 0.04 or 0.00003 or . It is not too much work. One should never slip into being lazy and making excuses. I still call it what it is. Flies on a heap. It is not nice to acknowledge but we start to accept the flies, their actions and even start calling the pile of shit, content, when we start off on a slippery slope.

Yeah - I think sometimes a cigar is just a cigar and 0.5% vote is just what it is. It's like the ancient African proverb, he that barks up the same tree which didn't ever yield any marula's, must be confused about being an elephant ;-)

I never read the trending page. I avoid it like the plague because it is bound to be filled with rubbish.

This is not entirely true

I suppose never is negated by avoid it like the plague - by it's nature, it is like a plague. It isn't entirely avoidable. So I guess you are right.

Good post, I follow you, I hope it is useful for me and for you.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tesaganewton from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51