You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you feel about taking steemit advice from a newbie? maybe we can all relate.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Your article is very good, although I would say the answer is more simple than saving time. Let's look at it in the cold light of day - time is money. People want to be sure that more of their interactions lead to profit. It doesn't make sense to many people (sadly) to interact with accounts which are less likely to bring them good profits.

A lot of whales and high reputation accounts are guilty of shitposting, so the argument of filtering rep to save time - I just don't buy entirely. I treat people based on what they say because she may have a low rep today, but she may have potential and a good connection in the long-term is what I am always looking out to make here. So I take my time, follow up those who upvote my posts, even those who don't leave any comment.

I'd say a very large number of posts in trending are less-than useful to read. Yet they are hotbeds of activity, much like a pile of shit in a dump. A lot of flies gather.

Calling it psychology is a bit of euphemism and excuse my language but Icall it like it is ;-)

Sort:  

so the argument of filtering rep to save time - I just don't buy entirely. I treat people based on what they say because she may have a low rep today, but she may have potential and a good connection in the long-term is what I am always looking out to make here. So I take my time, follow up those who upvote my posts, even those who don't leave any comment.

It's easier when you have a few comments under your post.you can take your time and read just about everything. To some people it's tiresome filtering all the comments to fish out the good ones.
And yes not all posts on trending are good posts,
but when it comes to steemit advice it's hard believing someone who hasn't done alot on steemit yet.
Well some newbies tip's might be worth checking out. the truth is most people, including you, read the trending and hot page of every tag more often.

It doesn't matter how many comments there are in total. One does it as the comments come in, so this argument with respect, is no excuse. One should read comments carefully to find out what the person is saying. You are suggesting that a rep score is an indication of the value of the comment. This is simply not true.

I notice you are suggesting that I may have just a few comments in my posts. How did you reach this conclusion? By looking at my rep point or by scanning my posts? If you read my comment again, you may find I said that I follow up on all comments and upvotes (even those who don't leave comments). This is how I found your post here. You upvoted my post - whether you read it or not, i am not sure. But thanks for that. You didn't comment - yet I still followed up. How many upvotes did I follow up? How many upvotes did I receive on my post?

I will leave these to you to find out, if you have the time. This I think is what is called manual curation. Actually reading and thinking about what people are saying instead of using a rep score. This is also called interaction and I believe it ought to count for something. I don't buy any excuses - if you saw the number of upvotes you may be surprised - 90% of them worth almost nothing btw - and I follow up on every single voter, regardless of what the value of the vote was - $0.4 or 0.04 or 0.00003 or . It is not too much work. One should never slip into being lazy and making excuses. I still call it what it is. Flies on a heap. It is not nice to acknowledge but we start to accept the flies, their actions and even start calling the pile of shit, content, when we start off on a slippery slope.

Yeah - I think sometimes a cigar is just a cigar and 0.5% vote is just what it is. It's like the ancient African proverb, he that barks up the same tree which didn't ever yield any marula's, must be confused about being an elephant ;-)

I never read the trending page. I avoid it like the plague because it is bound to be filled with rubbish.

This is not entirely true

I suppose never is negated by avoid it like the plague - by it's nature, it is like a plague. It isn't entirely avoidable. So I guess you are right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50