Reposting as Randowhale aka B.S. has censored the last version of this post.

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm on hold as far as bringing new people to this platform.
I'm ashamed of the flagging wars.
I'm ashamed of the negative downvoting when people could be posting positively for content they like.
I'm ashamed to see the fighting over the reward pool.

Why does Steemit have such slow growth? I've been wondering this for a while and have a few theories.
One of them is the behaviour shown by B.S. amongst others, the flagging wars and the use of bots for abuse in general.

So, what happened this time?
B.S. (aka Randowhale) makes an abusive posts with swearing and accusing the steemit community of cowardice for not obeying his call to stamp on his chosen victims.
I didn't flag or downvote him - I just commented that his post (with swearing and threats) is no example for the community.
I also added that I was sure he'd show cowardice himself by censoring my comment.
He did.

He then also downvoted a random innocent travel post of mine.
Ironically the post he downvoted was a demo-post made as a teaching example to a new user. What will he think? How does this censoring come across to new users and old?
Is this an adult playground or a serious blogging platform for the conveying of thought, information and ideas?

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 16.51.51.png

B.S's behaviour and his actions and the fact they are allowed, in my mind, represent a serious flaw in Steemit as a platform.
How can an account with a minus reputation be allowed to wield such power?

Look at the downvotes. Theses are all fake accounts - as in not run by a unique individual. All bots run by Randowhale aka Bernie Sanders

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 13.55.05.png

Here is the original post. Harmless or needing to be flagged?

https://steemit.com/travel/@tarquinmaine/back-riding-a-350-bullet-in-india
Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 16.42.06.png

This post was to encourage my friend mentioned to post about his bike restorations.
How is my friend going to view this behaviour?
Playground bullying?
I'm on hold as far as bringing new people to this platform.
I'm ashamed of the flagging wars.
I'm ashamed of the negative downvoting when people could be posting positively for content they like.
I'm ashamed to see the fighting over the reward pool.

What do you guys think?

Sort:  

I got on steemit last year, played around for a minute, saw how it wasn't at all decentralized and had many flaws in the voting sytem(remember the @asshole?), kind of lost interest. Now I'm back again, mainly because this platform is a first mover and at least has some kind of payout mechanism involving crypto. I hate game theory. There's always some a-hole to come around and ruin it for everyone.

I Just try to stay positive and resonate with positive energy. D-tube is pretty cool. In addition, the sound and live aspects sound pretty neat. I'm hoping to play around with them here soon.

As far as recommending steemit, I still do. Especially for creative people on Facebook. I also include the caveat that it is not the be all, end all of crypto powered social networks, just the first. We'll see how it plays out. Thanks for sharing.

good post, I like your post ..

I need your support please visit my blog https://steemit.com/@muliadi
if you like my post please give upvote, resteem &follow me.
thank you, keep on steemit

I find all these flagging wars really upsetting. I'm curious to see if steemit will actually be able to survive as a platform.

Something has to change. However I spoke to a lead developer at Steemit and had the impression they think the system is fine...

I never blogged before Steemit so this is my first experience of cyberbullying. I guess time will tell...

B.S. Started the spat by attacking Haejin. He's always picking fights. Haejin has has to stoopnas low to fight back on same turf. Fault is with the system. Either they don't want to change the system I. E. saying it fine as it is, they don't have the inspiration to find a solution or they are working on something in secret. I fear that answer is number one but hope it's the last.

Loading...

Bernie is a shitty human being.

He upvotes every single one of his posts with 15 accounts and pushes the blame elsewhere and the community backwards.

He flags us because he is afraid of us. When the community has enough voting power he will continue to make less and less. RW is his only ticket to cash and once the community understands the harm of buying votes he will lose.

A brilliant comment on the censored post:
Sadly I had to dig around for this post, but the downvoting button seemed to appear for me today. The whole idea of it kills the idea of the free market of ideas and content that lead me to Steemit.

My whole page here is "reporting" on politics and war. So now if I get a large enough audience and post something they might not understand or be "offended" by, the post should go negative?

This is like going into a business you hate and screaming for it to be shutdown. In a civilized world you just do not interact with that business and let the market decide if it provides a worthy service.

The pack mentality will ruin this place.

Couldn't agree more tt-dogg. On a platform where communication is valued highest, vote buying bots are a complete contradiction. Thanks for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64187.99
ETH 2761.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73