Personalising Steemit invites for Christmas (or anytime) gifts

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Today I wrote a post on telling friends about cryptocurrencies and supporting them if they are interested in getting involved. My highly esteemed Finnish friend @apsu was first to comment:

I've been avoiding of telling anyone about cryptocurrencies. Only to my wife, but not to anyone else. I'm worried mostly that I'll get someone interested and if they fail, they will blame on me.

Or even worse, they will ruin their own lives. There are some of people who are investing more than they should. I might be too careful and I know I can't take the responsibility of individuals themselves, but I would not want to see anyone fail because of my advice.

Genetically, Finns are a pessimistic lot and only ever see the downside but on this occasion, he has missed one. How come he 'would not want to see anyone fail because of his lack of advice'?

I mention often enough that I am an advocate for personal responsibility so do not suffer quite the same position as @apsu but, I do understand it. I don't want to see people I care about suffer, let alone suffer due to information I provided them but, I do want to see them succeed and benefit.

When I approach people about this, I spend more time on the downsides than the up as people are so easily blinded by the potential, they undervalue the risks. And, I live in a a country that has addiction problems, especially to alcohol and gambling. Probably genetic also.

But still, I don't want people to suffer because of my fear of the discomfort I would feel if it doesn't work or they act poorly. If one of my friends was very ill (or anyone I came across for that matter) and I knew of a potential cure but because of potential side-effects I don't tell them, does my passivity mean 'I do no harm'?

Most people already risk their financial future daily by believing that the banks or the government are pillars of stability. This is far from truth yet people hold firmly to their beliefs. But in the advent of a major collapse where these 'pillars' collapse, having diversified just a little bit may make all the difference but many may not even know what that means, let alone know how to do it.

Tonight, another esteemed Finn, @acidyo, offered a sign up and delegation in a post for 100 'present' accounts for Christmas. This is a really good idea as it takes out a hurdle in the process for many people and at no risk since the delegation required through Witness @pharesim's simple to use and very fast Steeminvite site is provided.

But, there are many people who can offer the same if they choose but may not know how. Steeminvite currently has a very low bar to send out invites.

The current cost to create an account is 0.200 STEEM and 29 STEEM POWER.

The 29 Steem Power is for delegation so that when the new account is created, they have bandwidth and a tiny vote power to use on the system. This can be changed to be higher if wanted. But, the most important part for friends and family is the email they receive as it is editable. So, if you are doing this yourself for your own friends and family, personalise it for each of them.

Also, we all know that when people first arrive at Steemit it is a little intimidating so if you really want these people to have a good experience, support them to increase the chances. Explain a little and add some links.

For example:

Hi Mary, I am Christmas gifting something a little different this year, a membership to a new and growing online community.

I have been part of it for a while now and not only enjoy being active but also benefit from it in many ways. It is quite different to the other social sites you are familiar with as it is blockchained based (everything is open and searchable) and, there is financial reward involved. It is just starting up and there is a lot of potential in the future and I would love it if you were able to benefit from being among the first too.

There are a few things to remember before signing up. On the blockchain, all information is open and available to all users so if you want to remain anonymous, don't use your real name as your account name. Most use a nickname, at least in the beginning. This also means that any information you add, can't be deleted.

Here you can find out more details about how Steemit operates.
FAQ: https://steemit.com/faq.html

Create an account at steemit.chat using your Steemit username and then come and join me:
Chat: https://steemit.chat/direct/tarazkp

My Steemit blog: https://steemit.com/@tarazkp

I know you are interested in ******** so here are a few more links to authors you might enjoy.

https://steemit.com/@acidyo
https://steemit.com/@suesa
https://steemit.com/@m31
https://steemit.com/@galenkp

I am really looking forward to getting deeper into this together as it is going to become such a large part of the future of business and the online environment and we have a chance to be at the front. Seems like a lot of work doesn't it? It will be worth it I am sure.

Oh... You can also call me about it ;)

Merry Christmas!!

Taraz

I am not saying that this particular approach is good for everyone but I am just trying to indicate that personalising it for your friend or family member will increase the chances of them joining up and provide a base for them to start.

Helping them get good information early and navigate the site gives them a good chance of success. Supporting them in chat and providing decent information shows you are willing to invest in them and connecting them with groups gives them a good chance of beginning relationships that can support them also. Sending them to quality content they might enjoy shows you are thinking about them and also demonstrates what kinds of things they could offer and how.

This isn't a user friendly interface and differs greatly from other common platforms so this support may be vital in their ability to act well to get traction and therefore their future retention.

Personalised onboarding not only helps the newbies, it helps all of us and as 'Communities' features get introduced, it may be very beneficial to have a group of people you already care about as a foundation to build upon.

With all of the support, all of the opportunity they will have to read, discover and learn about some of the most cutting edge developments on the horizon, they won't be putting their faith in your information, they will have taken the responsibility for themselves. Those that do, will in all likelihood, benefit greatly in many ways. Steemit is the softest entry into cryptocurrencies possible and once here, they will discover so much more. Haven't you?

If you want these people to actually join and have a good chance of a good experience, supporting them is a must. And the better experience they have, the better the platform becomes and the more valuable the steemchain.

I hope some people will get onboard and start inviting some friends and family as we can definitely accommodate more people wanting to build the community.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

I always tell my friends recently that Steem is so much better than other social media platform.

I know you are interested in ******** so here are a few more links to authors you might enjoy.

¡I knew! that (there is no way) I could figure on that list of links to authors they might enjoy. LoL

What a good idea Taraz!
You've inspired me!!
Seen as I am busy atm, I think I will do : New Year, New Opportunities Gift Cards at the start of 2018;)

ps. IS THAT YOUR DOG!????

That's pretty cool to know thanks for the tips by the way, have a nice..

That's so cool. @tarazkp
Sometimes you share good news.

Its good if people start 2018 with steemit.. ...this could be the best christmas ever,,,

Oh my, this is so true. I am also careful when promoting to my friends and family as there are just too many noise out there about scams. However, I don’t consider Steemit as free, as we need to work our ass off to build up the asset and contents. It is real tough job if we are not an avid writer at the first place (like me). Now, some of my friends are aware about my presence on Steemit and observe how I am doing. Hopefully, they can take the initiative and open one account (since that only takes

steemit is best social site ever thanks dear for sharing tip

great idea sir,thanks for share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77