1 step back, 2 steps forward? - Vote buying question and Trending [ part repost ]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

A little over four months ago I posted an article about the relatively new trend (at the time) of vote selling. Four months is not very long but it feels like a lifetime when it comes to the content I have posted in between. All of the vote selling and buying issues seem to be coming to a head as people are starting to realise the fundamental problems with the practice.

I noticed that @surfermarly posted about it too tonight. Perhaps when people like that start getting on board the wagon also, then others will start listening too. It would be nice as up until very, very recently, it seems that there has been only very limited open pockets of resistance to the practice. At times, I fell silent publicly as so many people were using and supporting all of the various versions of them, and it began to feel like I was flogging a dead horse.

Also, I started to engage with a wider social circle and some of them are/were sellers or their clientele. I think for most, the concept wasn't to do any harm and many thought they were doing very well for the community. But, with a little thought, it all unravels and starts to look like a condensed version of what the banking industry has been doing for the last few hundred years as middlemen.

The interesting thing that has come out of this is how narrow the support is for Trending authors and this is likely what has been the straw that has broken the proverbial Whale's back. When I first started at Steemit, I thought there were only about 100 or so users because trending was always the same people. I learned pretty quickly that they were almost completely the early adopters who got powerful fast and had friends in similarly powerful positions.

If we call the current 'Vote selling' an experiment, we see that they often have much less support without a few of their old friends. Their friends with high Steem Power sold their delegated voting power to the numerous boosters and sellers instead as this returned them a higher margin than curation. This meant that their trails and bots become much weaker, as did their manual curation votes (the votes on content they actually like).

This in turn made some of the Boosters very powerful indeed and with 100 SBD, one could buy a top spot in the trending pages. Finally, new blood! The problem of course was that anyone with a 100 SBD could now be a trending author, regardless of quality or reputation. This must have been a bitter pill to swallow for some people who were regular faces on that page and enjoying the reputation and financial reward of being there.

So, once the podium was stolen, the previous faces have started to realise what the vote selling had done to their wallets as more and more of the pool would be sold off to the highest bidder. On a side note, this is how many of the little people feel when they see the same faces in trending regardless of their content, just there because of their friends. They didn't realise at that point however, that their friends were able to be purchased.

So much SBD was flying around and so many different people buying and selling, no one seemed to want to slow down and take a step back and observe. The long-term view of this practice is platform death. It has to stop. I found out @freedom undelegated some of what they had loaned and it seems that many more jumped ship back into the whale seas. It is likely that at least on a large scale, the vote sell and buy is coming quickly to a close. We can only hope.

This has been an important chapter for Steemit and I hope that the lessons from it will be carried well and far into the future. If we bring the economic cronyism that run rife in the real-world into a decentralised community, it will kill it. The other lesson should go to the authors and supports who now appear to be back Trending It seems to be very much who you know, not what you know.

I wonder where this post will be in 4 months....

On another side note: I see many familiar faces in trending again.


Here is the original article. I have linked it at the bottom also for verification. I recommend reading some of the comments on it also.

A few weeks ago I heard of call a whale and I have called Randowhale a few times, first for myself twice I think to test and then for a few accounts that I think were more deserving than the few cents I could offer.

Having thought about it a bit more, I am not going to do that again as I think it may not be in my long-term best interest to do so, even though I may get a return higher than the 2 dollar fee. I don't know how all the algorithms work but I think that anyone can do the same thing.

Right now, my vote is worth 77c but let's make it an even 1 dollar for this example. Call me: randotinyfish

I get 10 x 100% votes a day, That means that I can upvote 10 dollars to posts, comments etc.

If I sell each vote at half price, 50c, I can generate 5 dollars in income and can guarantee 10 dollars out of the pool. That means that anyone that buys a vote from me is guaranteed to double their outlay, one step back, but two guaranteed forward. But for me, I am selling access to the pool. There is no outlay for me other than what I have in SP. I am selling a product I do not actually own, but have access to (perhaps).

At the moment, I generate about 6 SP a week in curation, granted, I am not the most active curator. But, selling my 100 votes at half price (50c) guarantees me 35 dollars a week and not in SP, in immediately tradeable income. Plus the curation anyway.

Now, if my vote is worth 10 and someone transfers 5, I can make 350 a week, and if my vote is 100, transfer 50 and I can make 3500 a week. Something doesn't seem kosher about this.

The reason I won't use randowhale anymore is that each purchase drains the pool but the content it votes on can be absolutely anything. This isn't in my best interest for the long-term future of Steemit, I think. Plus, if anyone can essentially do this (at varying degrees of pool access) what happens to the site and content quality when no one curates?

I am not sure if this is the way I have said it here. Like I said, I don't understand all of this stuff, but perhaps someone that does can comment.

Does this make sense, or have I misunderstood something fundamental?

I am not trying and do not want to step on any toes here but I am very curious how this would play out if everyone decided to pay to play.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Original:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@tarazkp/1-step-back-2-steps-forward-vote-buying-question

Sort:  
Loading...

Interesting insight for vote buying, I did buy votes from the mentioned randowhale as well and the votes were like 10% more than what I paid for. And you are right, with that in mind, it can vote anything, regardless of the quality of content, which may jeapordise the content making environment. However, being a minnow, getting attention is hard enough, and getting good upvotes are even harder. That’s why there are always demand out there, getting some remuneration for their works (at least earned that extra 10%). It’s still an experiment that worth to think further deep down.

Yes, I understand the case of both sides but in the end, both sides lose, the buyer most of all as they will have a continually increasing price with a shrinking pool. But, early days. There is still time to correct course.

I see. Still yet to be able to comprehend what will happen when the pool shrj

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17