1 step back, 2 steps forward? - Vote buying question

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago I heard of call a whale and I have called Randowhale a few times, first for myself twice I think to test and then for a few accounts that I think were more deserving than the few cents I could offer.

Having thought about it a bit more, I am not going to do that again as I think it may not be in my long-term best interest to do so, even though I may get a return higher than the 2 dollar fee. I don't know how all the algorithms work but I think that anyone can do the same thing.

Right now, my vote is worth 77c but let's make it an even 1 dollar for this example. Call me: randotinyfish

I get 10 x 100% votes a day, That means that I can upvote 10 dollars to posts, comments etc.

If I sell each vote at half price, 50c, I can generate 5 dollars in income and can guarantee 10 dollars out of the pool. That means that anyone that buys a vote from me is guaranteed to double their outlay, one step back, but two guaranteed forward. But for me, I am selling access to the pool. There is no outlay for me other than what I have in SP. I am selling a product I do not actually own, but have access to (perhaps).

At the moment, I generate about 6 SP a week in curation, granted, I am not the most active curator. But, selling my 100 votes at half price (50c) guarantees me 35 dollars a week and not in SP, in immediately tradeable income. Plus the curation anyway.

Now, if my vote is worth 10 and someone transfers 5, I can make 350 a week, and if my vote is 100, transfer 50 and I can make 3500 a week. Something doesn't seem kosher about this.

The reason I won't use randowhale anymore is that each purchase drains the pool but the content it votes on can be absolutely anything. This isn't in my best interest for the long-term future of Steemit, I think. Plus, if anyone can essentially do this (at varying degrees of pool access) what happens to the site and content quality when no one curates?

I am not sure if this is the way I have said it here. Like I said, I don't understand all of this stuff, but perhaps someone that does can comment.

Does this make sense, or have I misunderstood something fundamental?

I am not trying and do not want to step on any toes here but I am very curious how this would play out if everyone decided to pay to play.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Oh, and instead of using randowhale, I will try to send a little directly instead. It may not be as much, but it isn't coming from the pool for content.

Sort:  

@tarazkp I have not used it but I do think if you have a post that is extra special, giving it a boost may raise its profile. I am thinking of using for those special cases, regardless if it's my own post. I think when people use it for every post it tends to inflates how the community may perceive the content. I do like that you are thinking this through. Food for thought.

I am still unsure if I have something against it or not yet :)

I have just been thinking about it and wonder what the site becomes if this becomes the way to get paid. It must end in collapse I think.

The problem is karen, all of my posts are extra special ;P

Lol. I'm sure they are and in that case no need to use it. And you haven't done anything against anything. No one comes to this platform knowing all the best practices. It's a journey of discovery. You're doing great.

:)
It has definitely been a learning process here for many things.
Welcome back anytime.

I don't like randowhale either.
It's an super lazy way for a whale to keep earning without doing anything and it's bad curation.
+and you are not guaranteed to get your 2$ investment back. It goes from 1 to 5%. You'll have to get atleast around 1,5% to break even.

I think that is so they can claim it as a 'lottery' but still, selling the pool. I don't mind @htooms way of 'lazy' curation where he gives his SP to a minnow follower. It seems they do a pretty good job of sharing it widely and take the role quite seriously so aim at quality.

lol, and I like @booster even less. It's a total scam.

Haven't seen booster, but this does seem somewhat dodgy right?

Very nice Article
Welldone for spotted this Topic
I never use this Artificial practices , These are very bad for site ethics & website reliability

That is what I am thinking too now. Hadn't thought about it before.

I am working hard to get my upvote to that point, putting out great content. i am at 5c

Way to go. And yes I just peeked at your blog.😀

It has taken me a long time to get to 77. Going on your bio-line, does this add up to you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54