An Invitation: Join Suzie's Steemit Club! Hang Out With & Support Indy Journalists

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

We can all get by with a little help from our friends!

Suzie's Steemit Club

Hey everyone!

As you know, some pretty awesome friends of mine who are fellow independent journalists, like @elizabethleavos, @caitlinjohnstone and @leecamp have recently joined Steemit, alongside @hagoodman and @theouterlight who were one step ahead of us.

We are reaching out to other awesome indy journos we know to bring even more people in, and so we can all easily intermingle I have started a Discord server for us to hang out at.

We plan to advocate to our large non-Steemit following to start Steemit accounts ASAP... and many already have! I've recruited about 40 people so far this week and between us we should be able to bring many thousands of new users to Steemit going forward.

Our Discord Server - jokingly titled Suzie's Steemit Club - is up and running, with a moderator (the awesome Blake from Internet Party who some of you may recognise from the 2017 Internet Party events), angel up-voters like @v4v4pid and @ausbitbank, and journalists like @an0nkn0wledge and myself as well as some of the aforementioned (and eventually all of them, and more!)

The goal is this:

  1. bring as many of our followers into the Discord as would like to be there (no Steemit account, no invite, so our followers from other platforms will have to get signed up in order to be a part of this!)

  2. coordinate the up-voting of these great independent journalists work, to entice them to increasingly migrate the bulk of their attention to Steemit with a long-term view of kicking Facebook and other legacy platform to the curb for good!

  3. have a general chat space where we can all interact with our followers and each other in real time

  4. have a link spam room where our followers can share their own posts and interesting links from all over the web with us and each other

  5. play really, really nice and have a great time!

So...

if you would like to hang out with Elizabeth, Caitlin, myself and many other cool people on a daily basis, you are more than welcome!

All you have to do is click on this link to get added to the server, then send .001 Steem to my account @suzi3d (I will send it back afterwards!) to be verified as a follower and club participant.

Oh - and we also have a tips channel where the people who know way more about Steemit than me (which really isn't hard) can answer any questions you might have as well.

Update: a ton of people have already joined and the server is going great. You guys rock! Share this post around to keep growing our fledgling community!

Come join us, and have fun!!!

Love,
Suzie

By Suzie Dawson

Twitter: @Suzi3D

Official Website: Suzi3d.com

Journalists who write truth pay a high price to do so. If you respect and value this work, please consider supporting Suzie’s efforts via credit card or Bitcoin donation at this link. Thank you!

Who is Suzie?

Read Suzie's Introduction On Steemit

Read, Upvote and Share Suzie's Most Recent Steemit Posts!

  1. My Steemit Post Goes Viral; Major Indy Media Joining Platform; Expect Flood Of New Users

  2. Lee Camp Is Joining Steemit And He's Not The Only One - Indy Journos Flocking To The Platform

  3. Episode 6: Finding The Hidden Gems In The Snowden Files #DecipherYou

  4. Episode 7: Finding The Hidden Gems In The Snowden Files #DecipherYou

Sort:  

This is such a great idea! I have been wanting to migrate away from the corporate social sites for a while and this is a great organized effort to do so. Thank you Suzie :)

You are so welcome!

Love to! I’m so new I haven’t a clue as t how I send you .001 STEEM? Can anyone help direct me? 🤦🏽‍♀️

Go to 'wallet' then click on the little arrow to the right of STEEM, transfer 00.001 Steem to @suzi3d (if you don't have Steem you can use SBD) and if you don't have STEEM or SBD go ahead and join the Discord and ask someone to help you :)

Thank you, I’ll give it a go!

I’ve downloaded the Discord app and set up an account but I’m not able to join the server without an “instant invite” URL. And since I’m not on a server, I cannot ask any one on Discord.
What am I missing?

the invite link is in the above post - just ctrl-F "click" and you'll find it :)

Got it and done! Thanks!

Very nice post

Sigan asi la integridad es lo mas importante.

Okay. I joined.

welcome :) you are verified and ranked in Discord now :)

good initiative, done

this is very informative blog .thanks to you for sharing..i praise
you..
keep up it

Suzie my settings page looks very different from yours. Much less straight forward/user friendly. Ido not see a "upload photos" option as your tutorial (above) shows.. There are only options to cut and paste url of photos for profile and cover image, which I have tried repeatedly and nothing seems to work. Any suggestions?

On the settings page, where it says: "Public Profile Settings - PROFILE PICTURE URL" there is a box.

In that box, you paste in the link to the photo you want to use.

To get that link you will need to go to wherever your image already exists on the internet, right click, and select "Copy Image Address" then paste it in

Hope that helps

I have done this from various websites... none of the links work in Steemit.

I have to download mine first to get them to work, then they go right up from downloads. Im not good with computers, but it's been working for me.

I lack an upload option ony profile set up page.

I'm new to Steemit and trying to join the Discord group. Does anyone know about how long it should take me to earn .001 Steem just by upvoting (I don't much like to post)?

hey, i can send you the STEEM and you just send it straight back to me. i'll do it now!

Wow, thanks! I've sent it back :)

Really great blog you have! I'm happy to see that there are so many awakened people on this platform :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60514.11
ETH 3335.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48