I'm Rolling Out The Welcome Mat!

in #steemit7 years ago

I've been trying to recruit some of my friends and family over to Steemit for months, and it is finally beginning to pay off. My brother in law just made his introductory post last night, and my sister just had her account confirmed, yesterday! So, let me start things off with an introduction...


Hey, Have You Met... My Brother-In-Law @jmink?

I'm not sure what his channel is going to focus on, but I do know that he has a lot to bring to the table. He is an awesome videographer (he does a lot of commercials for our local businesses, and you can always tell his work apart from the rest just by the quality of the sound and video), he has been documenting the restoration process of his classic Glastron boat on YouTube that one video site, and he is the proud owner of a DeLorean just like the one from Back To The Future (minus the flux capacitor)! If you haven't, already, please click on over and give him a welcome.



For The New Folks

I wanted to put together some information to help him get off to a good start, but there is so much to share! I think one of the most important things that I did when first I first started out was just to get involved. I searched out good content in my own areas of interest. I made relevant comments and avoided off-topic remarks or simply saying "good post". I studied other people's content and learned what kind of posts the community appreciates. I poked around made note of what type of behavior is acceptable/unacceptable. Then, I began to develop my voice. Now, don't get me wrong: I am not a Steemit guru by any stretch of the imagination, but I think my time spent studying the platform and community was the best investment that I could have made at the time. There is so much value in this community, and it goes way beyond just the value of the coin (which has been on a tear, as of late!) There is such a wealth of knowledge, art, and entertainment that has been assembled on this platform, so I though I'd put together a short list of some of my favorite contributors on the platform for newbies that just joining in the fun.

Interested in science?

Steemit has you covered! Check out @suesa's blog for science related articles that span a wealth of topics, and she even incorporates a lot of science into some really cool science fiction stories. @dber is super knowledgeable when it comes to mushrooms and other fungi. @herpetologyguy is one of our resident reptile experts. Or, if you want to learn about some of the crazy weird animals hiding in some of the most obscure places around the world, check out @trumpman's catalogue. I also recommend looking into @steemstem. They do a wonderful job of digging through all of the science content on steemit and bringing attention to the polished gems that they find. If you enjoy writing about science stuff, you should look into the #steemstem tag. Just make sure that you put out a good effort and site your sources!

Are You A Photographer?

There are way more amazing photographers on Steemit than I could ever mention, but there are a few that have been especially inspirational to me. One of the first was @jamtaylor's Steemit Photo Challenge. I really haven't participated in it, but just seeing all of the memorizing images from everyone else pop up on my feed inspired me to pick up my camera for the first time in a few years. @juliank also does a lot for the Steemit photography community by putting on a whole host of contests and challenges! If you're interested in participating, this post should help you get started. My personal interests have pushed me more toward nature photography and macro shots, so I a lot of awesome examples flash across my feed all the time. Folks like @mostly.nature, @lundsten, and @customnature are also staples of my personal feed, but there are so many more awesome photographers on this platform that you should spend some time getting to know.

Is Self Reliance Your Thing

A lot of mainstream social media platforms have been giving the prepper and homesteading communities a really hard time, lately. Political correctness has run amok, and many businesses are afraid that any little slip-up might cost them an almighty dollar. Don't get me wrong: I am not one to go around trying to be offensive. On the contrary, I try to be very mindful of others' beliefs and opinions. However, there were a lot of video channels being censored or flat out banned just because firearms were being used or animals were being processed for food.

I first heard about Steemit from @mericanhomestead when they were in the midst of their battle with YouTube that one video site. The promise of an uncensored platform where ideas could be shared and valued based on their merit rather than the fear of public backlash brought them and many other homesteaders and preppers over to Steemit, and it has not disappointed. In fact, I started my channel with the intention of making it a homestead blog, and I still plan on transitioning more toward that type of content once we get out of the city. If you're interested in this type of content, you should check out folks like @gardenofeden, @ mountainjewel, @pennsif, @aunt-deb, @allforthegood, @freedompoint, @goldendawne, @bluerthangreen, or relative newcomer @huntbook.

Another channel that I started following because of their homestead content was @pappa-pepper. However, I very quickly realized that his platform was about MUCH more than just growing your own food and taking care of yourself, but rather taking care of others. As far as I can tell, this dude is the lifeblood of Steemit. He always brings an encouraging word, and he has created countless opportunities for others to get involved through his numerous contests, rewards, and giveaways. In fact, I probably would not have lasted very long here if I hadn't gotten involved in his Combination Photo Contest. It has been the inspiration for the majority of my content, so far!

And There Is So Much More!


I have only listed a few topics and people who have influenced during my brief time on Steemit, but there is so much more here! If you have an interest, I'm pretty positive you'll find like-minded people to connect with. So, explore! Learn from the successes and failures of others! But, whatever you do, don't get discouraged. This is not a get-rich-quick scam. It's gonna take work. It's gonna take practice. But, most of all, it's gonna take time to get things going.

I hope you find this post helpful! If you have any other topics that you would like to suggest, drop them in the comments! I always make it a point to upvote good relevant comments!

Sort:  

You got a 0.71% upvote from @upme requested by: @sustainablyyours.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54