Success...Poetry...What Is This Witchcraft? Heed This Warning From The Grave Or Die In Poverty!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

So it's about time I whacked you about the head with a pro-tip for success, right?

Which I can assure you from bitter experience is waaay better than a wet catfish!

So unusually I am gonna kick off this post with a poem, but not just any poem, oh no! This warning comes from...

Beyond the Grave...

OK enough of the melodrama. The poem in question was written by J.B. Rittenhouse or as I prefer to call her Jessie Belle (We are close ya know!)

My Wage.

I bargained with Life for a penny,
And Life would pay no more,
However I begged at evening when
I counted my scanty store.

For Life is a just employer,
He gives you what you ask,
But once you have set the wages,
Why you must bear the task.

I worked for a menial’s hire,
Only to learn dismayed,
That any wage I had asked of Life,
Life would have willingly paid.

Now Jessie may have been dead for 70 years, but her words still hold a lot of power for me and I think the warning she gives us will always be relevant.

So I'm sure the meaning is apparent to you immediately. In life you set the bar for yourself. Nobody else has a say about this!

  • Not your boss
  • Not the economy
  • Not the damn government
  • Social class matters not
  • Your Daddy was poor? So what, are ya gonna use that as a lifetime excuse?
  • NOTHING AND NOBODY!

Newsflash.

None of this crap matters with regard to your success? Shall I tell you what does?

First I can hear some little voices begging to be heard so I wanna address that first... I get it If you come from a deprived mediocre background, it can feel that the many doors to success are firmly bolted to the likes of you and I. I do not own my own home, I rent it, I work in a factory for 12 hour shifts days and nights I have no idea who my Father is or was. My point is that I was not born to great privilege, I did not take a gap year on the fat trustfund I have. At 45 I am not exactly where I always thought I would be.

But good news! I realized I had a loose wire that could be easily fixed, where was this wire you ask? In my goddamn head, it had been there all along sabotaging me, tripping me up and knocking me down any time I tried to make a run for the big houses up on the hill, the ones with the fancy cars and a pool...

I had allowed my poor background to give me a poor philosophy, you may relate. I believed things like

  • The rich get richer, the poor get poorer.
  • looking at where I come from, how could I ever expect to be successful?
  • Wealthy people are always screwing over the "little guy."
  • If I just had wealthy relatives who would leave me a big inheritance.
  • I need to gamble to try and win some money, then I can start a business.

This kind of thinking is like injecting a toxin into the brain. If you believe that wealthy people are all corrupt, your subconscious mind will never let you become one It is protecting you.

So to the answer...

Far simpler than you might think.

Make a decision and act!
But don't forget to act, this backs up the decision and turbo-boost's the process.
The decision:

  • Decide entirely what you want from this crazy little adventure called life.
  • Write it down, really think and go deep with this.
  • Build this vision on a strong foundation of integrity.
  • If your vision revolves around the crazy financials (nothing wrong with that we all like money right) What is the money for? Don't let it be money for money's sake!
  • Follow through on what you initially set out to do!
  • READ IT OFTEN! Remind yourself of where you are supposed to be heading. this is your compass.

Back to the real message/warning from the poem. If you sell yourself short, your dreams and vision will match with exactly what you asked for! If your perceptions of where your ceiling is set are askew you will suffer for it. If all of this stuff is out of whack your only hope is sheer dumb luck, you would literally need to trip over success and hopefully land in it.

You empower yourself!

You do not need to seek permission to be epic, you don't need to sit an exam, you just need to decide. But when you bargain with life, make sure you negotiate hard! Whatever you do...Seriously...Whatever you do...

Do not settle for a penny!

Images courtesy of the AWESOMETASTICAL Pixabay.
Sort:  

Hi @stevenwood ... I thoroughly enjoyed this post, and glad I checked my 'feed' page.

Besides this being an interesting 'thought' sharing...it was written in a style which was easily comprehensible, an easy and comfortable flow of words; a talent that many writers lack.

I've happily re-steemed it, because it deserves to be shared, and up-voted.

Regards,
@averageoutsider

When all is said and done, success really does come back to the mindset, and yes, the majority of us have that mind influenced by negative impulses emanating from poor background and early life circumstances.

I like the way you write, the unrestrained personal touch you have given this post. I am going to upvote it once my voting power has regenerated. It deserves more.

Otherwise

This Post has been chosen and will be featured in the 2nd Edition of Xposed. Hopefully it will bring you some much needed exposure and rewards which your post deserves.
For more details on this project, read Xposed Introduction
You may also check out the 1st Edition

This is lovely news. thankyou so much!

When we are new and have a feeling that we write only for personal satisfaction. It is such a boost to know somebody reads our work and gives such lovely feedback.

Have an amazing weekend and an even better journey to come :)

Thanks @stevenwood. I find pleasure in lending a and out. I think that steemit is a wonderful platform that can change our lives. I wish that all of us who signup might stay and enjoy this experience.

I genuinely love to read other people's work, and i am very glad others like you notice that about me. Thanks a lot.

You have an amazing weekend too..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64