KILLER WAY TO GROW THAT WALLET FASTER FOR MINNOWS.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

YOU KEEP CHECKING THAT WALLET AND IT IS GROWING SLOOOOOW...

No matter how many times you smash that refresh button the amount doesn't seem to change.

"There must be a better way, a faster way" You tell yourself.

Maybe I can help, maybe a faster solution is at hand. I am about to share something that has worked for me.

0.003 SP was just not cutting it for me after a few weeks on Steemit, I needed to make it grow at least a little faster

Before I continue and share my new strategy let me state something that we should know by rote. If you are new here, don't rock up to Steemit with your hand outstretched expecting whales to cross your palm with silver, uh-uh that is not how the platform works, you gotta do what I call your apprenticeship. Traditionally anybody wishing to earn money needs to create value first this awesome platform is no different, who wants to actively reward garbage, right?

Then it hit me like a dropkick to the head!

Whilst surfing Steemit looking for quality posts I had a recollection of stumbling across contest entry posts. What exactly are these contests? I wondered. So I decided to search for them and see what was available and what sort of entries were included, would I have the skills to enter?

Well fast forward to now and I will tell you my results I have entered 5 contests and I have won:
3SBD for a poem that I really had a blast writing.
5SBD for a caption contest, this took me less than a minute to enter (definitely potential with these contests, imagine how many you could enter in a day!)
$25 USD value for another poem that I enjoyed writing immensely for a group that wanted entries to promote Steem on other social media platforms. (I have not claimed or added this to my wallet yet)

Now you may be thinking "I couldn't write poetry, stories, clever captions..."

Let me tell you something. I have noticed many mediocre entries winning contests and anybody could come up with a poem after giving a little thought, and some contests randomly choose a winner...Ya gotta be in it to win it right? As I said I also won 5SBD for writing a 1 sentence caption to accompany a pic that was provided by the contest promoter, nobody is incapable of having a go at that right?

The buzz of seeing 3 or even 5 SBD hit my wallet was awesome compared to the usual minnow results 0.001, 0.005, 0.007 I highly recommend giving this a go if you are impatient with the expected slow build of your wallet.

Many Discord channels offer internal contests and lottery games for free when you become a member, if you have not discovered Discord yet my upcoming post will be right up your street.

Something else worth mentioning is that some contests offer multiple prizes, many others are under-entered, one that I won, if I remember rightly, only had 3 entrants. How do ya like those odds? far better than those of a national lotto, right?

If you are already one of my followers you will see most of the contests I enter as I tend to re-Steem my entry or the contest itself as a big thankyou to the promoter.

Added benefits you may not foresee...

I have made a lot of friends and great connections in the communities that enter these contests and joined some alternative groups that I have been added to. My writing and formatting is improving from taking part too...My follower numbers always grow during a contest and the people taking part are usually encouraging of eachother, It's a great way to pick up upvotes and curation rewards and get some really welcome confidence boosting feedback from the other entrants.

If you are even slightly curious if this will make the value of your wallet grow...What have you got to lose? I would be delighted to hear your contest success stories, if you want me to look over your contest entry, post a link to your entry here in the comments section. I wish you the very best of luck at giving this a go.

images courtesy of the AWESOMETASTICAL Pixabay
Sort:  

Great suggestions, my friend. I'll start participating in more English contests now...in Spanish the competition is fierce!

I must add, aside from contests, one way to gain reputation, curation and followers is through smart comments, that is the best way to interact and get along with people.

Cheers!

My friend your English is better than most of my English friends who live in England haha.

You have an awesome grasp of words too, you use some amazing words (you may guess I love words lol)

You have a wicked sense of humour My favourite writing style. You could ROCK these contests :)

Hi

I met you you at discord

Is this same nick like there

Cool post

Heyy @flysky Nice of you to stop-by :)

Yes I am practicing my microphone for class. Bit confused lol, I am like a caveman haha :)

I nearly forgot you shared this with me. Shame on me!
I can't imagine I'd have missed this valuable information. I've been thinking abou contests lately, I just need to find the right ones.
Tag me if you come across writing ones please :)
Xo

Please make sure you post this in some of the promote yourself rooms in Discord. If you haven't already the Newbieresteem #resteem channel is a great way to get some more views.

I have only entered 2 contests and feel that my chances are phenomenal in either considering (as you stated in your post) there are very few entrees.

Both of them are listed below:

https://steemit.com/informationfinding/@jbreheny/information-finding-championship-season-1-round-26-short-and-sweet

https://steemit.com/informationfinding/@jbreheny/information-finding-championship-season-1-round-27-entry

Also, My entry into one of these got me entered into another contest where I just had to drop one of those links above and I won 1SBD

p.s. I upvoted this post when I started writing this and there's a little circle where the upvote button used to be, just spinning.

Spinning

Spinning

Awesome information. As a newbie myself, it can be a little frustrating at first getting acquainted with this platform. You are correct with your comparison of an apprenticeship. As with anything time, consistency, a willingness to learn and increasing your knowledge and skill will produce results. Thank you for a great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81