Information Finding Championship - Season 1 : Round 26 - Short and Sweet!

This post is my post for the IFC Philosophy Quest posted by @apolymask

Although I could ramble on for hours about my miniscule understanding of Schroedingers Cat, The Double Slit Experiment or the Nature of Consciousness I have opted to ask one simple question.

And so, without further ado...

Riddle me this Batman (or Batwoman):

What is the difference between Fundamental Structuralism and Structural Fundamentalism?

Chew on that for awhile and please let me know your thoughts.

2015-07-20 20.20.49.jpg

Sort:  

Where the "ism" is placed? I haven't the foggiest Idea, I guess I should look them up, never heard of either one of them.

Be careful, it will hurt your brain.

What is the difference between Fundamental Structuralism and Structural Fundamentalism?

I put both of those into google and came up with very little. TO be straight forward I'm not even sure of the technical terms for those two choices, could you provide some clarification hopefully soon? I was planning on voting today, but.. I don't totally understand this one, and I'd like more info before I vote.

I think you may be referring to evolution? But I'm not sure and don't want to type up too much without knowing more specifically what you meant. So could you please offer us some technical definitions for those two options?

Hello @apolymask. Replace the word fundamental and replace it with functional and it becomes structural functionalism and functional structuralism. These are both Sociological theories, not philosophical. Both easily researched on Google. To be quite honest I wrote this just before I went to bed and as you can tell it was hastily put together. Also, I had just completed the week 27 alphabet challenge so my brain was mush by that point. There are several other great entries there. Please don't focus on this one being better than many or ANY of the others.

Fair enough, though I'd like to have a proper definition of the terms to make sense of what you were trying to get at either way. It sounds like an interesting thought to entertain based on how you presented it!
I did find concepts on those two theories, but when you reversed the wording it confused me and google as well cause I couldn't find any matches for the way you worded it.

Are you referring to the theories of like.. Functionality versus how something is structurally uhh "created" or "formed" so to speak?

Also you can say they are sociological theories, but in my mind almost everything is philosophy. Heh.

And okay.. I'd still like to know what you were getting at before I decide if that's possible, but will take your words into consideration. Thanks for the info.

In the spirit of sharing from our Discord conversation:

Structural Functionalism is a sociological theory that attempts to explain why society functions the way it does by focusing on the relationships between the various social institutions that make up society (e.g., government, law, education, religion, etc). VERSUS Functional structuralism is a spin-off from systems theory in sociology. Systems theory, following Talcott Parsons, began as a structural-functionalist theory, that is, social structures were stressed and placed at the center of analysis, and social functions were deduced from these structures.

I think I get what you're saying now. It's sort of like a which came first the chicken or egg question is it not? Like is it the institutions that form behavior or the behavior that forms the institutions?

That was the original intent of my post but I used the word fundamental vs functional. The string above was actually a copy and paste from Google of the definition Structural Functionalism vs Functional Structuralism (I should have cited that in my response). The original post was my poor attempt at philosophical humor but yes, chicken first or egg first was where I got the inspiration.

Thanks for the clarifications! Definitely some interesting stuff to muse over and philosophize about! :D

I have been pondering for many years why Mickey Mouse never wears a shirt and Donald Duck has no pants on. Scratching my head. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43