You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Features - My thoughts on expanding filtering and sorting options

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

You're sharing some great ideas here! I hope we will see some progress on Steemit in the coming weeks. Currently it looks like a never ending beta for me, but as a developer I know, how difficult it can be to make big changes in a running system.

I'm now following 189 people, that's not much, but my Home Feed is already kind of overloaded. I'm here on Steemit daily and I think that I still see most of the interesting posts, but it's not easy as you mentioned. I made a post with an idea for a better looking post overview some weeks ago: https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemchiller/idea-for-the-footer-in-the-post-overview-author-floating-right

I hope they're collecting all these great ideas and will find the time to implement some of them soon...

Sort:  

Thank you :-)

Yeah, I really can't keep up with my feed and I've given up on scrolling all the way back. I just don't have the time.

I think some ideas might get through, but I have no illusion that this post will be seen by anyone important. You'll have to get lucky to get seen in the first few minutes by a big whale who then upvotes, otherwise you just disappear into the New feed... happens a lot lately!

Anyway, I'm sure someone will grab my post and run with it. Share the same ideas and maybe get lucky.

Yes that's true, one can get lost in the huge amount of posts very fast. Yesterday I wrote an article about the question, if we should have a re-post (or resteem) button for our own posts. So we would have the possibility to resteem our own post (once) after two or three days for the case it got lost. I've seen some people are doing this by copying the original post and adding the hint "re-post" in the title. That seems to work, but I think we should find a better solution instead of creating more data redundancy in the database.

Yeah, I don't think I'd be a big fan of that. It would clog up our feeds even more. Not only good posts would be resteemed by their author, also the trash posts we see in our feeds today. It would just be more of the same I fear...

Not if we would have a filter for the resteemed posts as you've mentioned ;) The main reason for all this thinking about losing a post comes from the problem that we only have 7 days to earn from one post. As for example "art" is in most cases timeless, I think the author should get rewards for his creation even after a year. Currently an upvote does only have an effect in 7 days and here may lay the problem.

BTW I've tested the @randowhale on one of my poems and it increased my earnings from $ 8 to $ 13... I know you don't like this way of voting (like me before), but I still play with the thought of trying it with one of your posts... ^^ Your post Follower for follower - Why I think this is a bad idea which is currently at $ 29.29 may be perfect for this, because the chance for increasing it to $ 40 or even $ 50 for just paying $ 2 is very high ;)

That's true, the 7 days payout does limit earnings and for some pieces, I think they deserve much more. On the other hand, I do think that currently we're lucky to be here and get anything at all. This is the first time I'm actually earning some money from my pictures, other than 4 sales in my past. So that makes me quite happy.

I've been reading about the @randowhale a bit. It's paying for your votes, but atleast this is a very easy way to do for basically everyone. I see you tested it out on my post! $31.91 now, it did not go quite as high, but still a nice little increase. Thank you for making me your test subject :-)

Ok, I've done it :) Your post received an 8% upvote. It's not as good as expected, but still it has brought more back than the costs have been ;) I would not recommend it for all posts, but the ones > 10 $ will gain in most cases. I love mathematics... Have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56006.20
ETH 2375.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33