100 Followers Appreciation & Resume Review Contest

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Well, I reached 100 followers this morning, and I must say I'm very grateful. I'm thankful for the support and hope I continue to produce great content for all of you.

VARIETY

Hopefully everyone that follows me has enjoyed the varied content I have produced. From travel photos, to crypto fun, career advice and some horrible poetry, I've tried to put myself into every post. Ideally, I've maintained quality between all the posts and have been a blog worth reading. I hope to maintain that quality and variety and share a bit of my life here in the San Francisco area.

SLOW AND STEADY

From the beginning, my goal has been to post consitent and quality content. I figured followers would find me and either appreciate the work, or not. I tried not to beg, borrow, cheat or steal an audience. I recommend interaction and integrity in your posts on Steemit. I very much believe that this is a gift based economy and if you go in with selfishness in your posts, people will notice and reject you. I think the audiences here are discerning enough to smell “whale-bait” and “click-bait” from a mile away. I've tried, and will continue to be, authentic and transparent in my posts.

A follow for a follow makes the whole world sheep.

QUALITY

Along those lines, I have consistently aimed for high quality in my posts. Be it with punctuation, photos, formatting, or bad jokes, I want to make sure that my posts are always worth reading. I quickly learned Markdown and tried to mimic what the best posters were doing. Being in Sales, I know for a fact that the presentation is just as valuable as the message sometimes. Its not always in just 'What' you say, but 'How' you say it. Given that, I want to maintain that level of quality and continue to improve on it with the help and interaction with everyone here.

MINNOW SUPPORT

I am very grateful to @aggroed and the entire community in the Minnow Support Project Discord room. From almost Day 1, I have tried to learn and echo what I've learned to others. Its been amazing to be part of the beginning of that group and see it grow to hundreds of people in such a short amount of time. I can easily see between minnows helping eachother, and a platform that is shifting to greater reward sharing, that Steemit will go pretty far.


RESUME REVIEW CONTEST

So, finally, to give back to the community, I wanted to offer up something I was good at. I've seen so much generosity and giving on this platform already, that I wanted to copy that to help in some small way. To that end, I wanted to offer up one resume review session to someone in need of help with their career here at Steemit. Whether you are unemployed, hoping to switch fields or getting back into the workforce, I would love to help you along your journey.

The Rules

  1. Provide a brief description ( a few sentences) on why your resume or your career needs help in a comment below.
  2. The most upvoted comment with their resume request will get chosen in 7 days on Thursday 6/29/2017.
  3. I will reach out to the winner and have them send me their resume for a detailed review with recommendations to help them tell the best career narrative they can with all the tricks I can muster.

Why trust my opinion?

I've worked at AMD, Verizon Wireless, Google and Cloudflare. I've interviewed with the likes of Microsoft, Facebook, OPower, and Palantir. I've been through an amazing Career Development office at Georgetown University. As a hiring manager today, I see a lot of resumes and have to discern the good from the bad very quickly. Overall, I've made a pointed effort to focus on my career and want to help others do the same and craft their best voice possible in the hyper-competitive job market.

Disclaimer: I may have a bias for tech-focused resumes, but I assume with as many crypto-enthusiasts out there, we have quite a few programmers, engineers, or tech-focused people on Steemit that may want to get into the tech world.


THANK YOU

So, to wrap up, thank you to my earliest followers. I hope I keep you entertained! And good luck for anyone interested in the resume review and thank you everyone for trusting me with your attention and focus! I hope to continue to build up a quality audience and have a blast here on Steemit.


Previous Posts

Crypto
Career
Poetry
4 Steps to Decide the Perfect ICO Investment
Interviewing@Google
The Minstrel's Warning
Expressing the Future of Finance
The Modern Job Hunt
The Fall of Rome


Follow Me|| SomethingSubtle.com || New to Steem? || Minnow Support

Sort:  

That is a great idea. I currently have two of my mentors helping me with my resume, but that is a great real world application for those of us who can not make a living blogging :) Followed

Thanks! I'm glad you like the idea. I figure its one of the best ways I can give back in some way!

Who knows, the next round may include a google hangout and interview practices.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SomethingSubtle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62835.39
ETH 3401.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39