Charities, Government, People in general, what do we really know?

in #steemit7 years ago


jon knows nothing

a response to "officially run" Steemit charities

G'day guys,
this is just my personal opinion on taking a more governed approach to steemit community help / charities
here are my disclaimers
disclaimer 1 : I am a new member of the community, it's just my humble human opinion
disclaimer 2 : I hollywoodised the stories
disclaimer 3 : Just intended as food for thought and a dialogue on the issue

The price of a rigid truth

A loud thump wakes you in the middle of the night. Before you can make sense of the loud crashing from the main room, you are surrounded by tall masculine figures, grabbed by your arms and dragged from your sleeping quarters out onto the road. they have collected all your books from your home and your workplace and piled them under a stake, they strip you naked and tie you to the stake, you are to be burned alive.
you are Giordano Bruno, a student of Copernicus, your deadly sin is to defy the known belief of the church and suggest that the universe is infinite with no object at its center, definitely not our beloved Earth, which is rotating around a star like many other planets in the universe... absolutely absurd


No Exception

you are woken up by the sound of your cell door opening, you are tied and walked outside where the locals, once your friends are preparing to hang you publicly as punishment for your crimes

you are a single woman, taking care of your farm the best you could since your husbands passing many years ago. you have some inheritance which you prefer to spend running a tavern from your home where locals can drink and play shuffleboard you have been accused of witchcraft in an otherwise quiet little town called Salem



how do we actually make a judgement?

I mean you have your senses, they take information in, you interpret that information using your perception of those senses but also your conditioning, your culture, your ideas, your emotional state.


did you know there is some evidence to suggest we may treat others with less empathy on some medications?


imagine what kind of effect this has on our analysis of a situation, and consider the many other factors that could be clouding our personal judgements.


I can be a brat sometimes, I get cranky when I haven't slept much, or if I'm hungry, or if I have to do something I really don't want to do, these can all cloud my judgement, I might say or do something I later regret. Am I the only one? do you guys ever make a bad call? how about with judging character?

so what do we really know?
we can get philosophical about this, what is real, who are we, but we don't want to be getting in too deep right now, let's think more simply, what technology are we using at the moment? what is the blockchain really about?

there are just certain realities we face as people, there are some things we just don't know

I used to pretend I was going to school and hang out at the local arcade, especially during certain classes. Was there ever a situation where you weren't completely honest? or where you could have bent the truth and no one would have known, even if you haven't, if it weren't you in that situation and maybe someone more selfish, how would you know their dishonesty?

The truth is, we can lie if we choose to, which also means others can lie to us if they choose to.
In a world where sometimes the bending of truth or a flat out lie can impact the liar's life in a positive way, or maybe they can lie to avoid pain or a scary situation.

let's not forget the famous bank story, there is a reason we are on the block chain no?

Science, Math, the blockchain and other tools

we can create technologies like the blockchain or other tools that record and make information available in an effort for transparency but they are not without flaws and require maintenance.

these tools are made by people and the maintenance is done by people, its almost impossible to completely reduce trust, at least usually for the general user, I for one have basic programming skills but wouldn't have any idea how to assess the code of these technologies. I rely on a naive quick analysis, a youtube video, an article or 2, and some good old human intuition.



how likely is it for a professional con-man to give you a bad impression the first time you see him, these guys do it as a profession, they are professionals at it. couldn't this be the reason some ICO's do so well on offering with crappy tech and others fall deep into the abyss even with good people working very hard on sometimes revolutionary tech?


how many times have critics given your favourite movie a bad review?
how many cases have you disliked a song and came around to enjoy it?
how many times have you met someone you found irritating but came to admire them? or maybe the other way around? xD
I believe we are meant to make mistakes, to learn, to educate, to build, ourselves and each other

together we make communities real

here is the kind of help campaign I like to see on steemit by @kedjom-keku
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@kedjom-keku/do-it-for-forest-crowdfunding-who-are-we-actually-forest-friendly-family-each-11usd-10x10-m-forest-saved

but anything that doesn't look like that, it will be a case by case analysis for me, just as I would an ICO by an unknown group. we would all be fishy of an account that has no interaction and just starts begging, even if they are upvotes we don't want to feel like we are being taken for a ride, I rather upvote a potato for being a potato


potato

dont underestimate potatoes, this potato photo sold for over a million dollars

if you like what I'm doing here, or if your just really into potatoes

please Upvote, Share or Resteem!

every bit of support means the world to me

Sort:  

Hi @sols, we have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out this link: https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/introducing-team-australia-s-new-executive-manager-for-member-recruitment-me

Very well said my friend @sols and welcome to the steemit platform. I think we will all benefit from your input in future if this post is anything to go by!

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this very important issue! I believe you are referencing the post by @joseph and I have big problems with his proposal, especially since he is earning a fantastic amount of rewards by sharing his opinion. The fact that so many people chose to agree with his view in the comments section also worries me because I don't believe many of them actually took the time to think through his proposal properly and were rather agreeing with him in order to win favour with someone who has a lot of influence on the platform. This is also a big issue!

Thanks again!

Hope your day is going well!

thanks @tonyr I really appreciate your feedback and welcome,
I feel blessed to be part of this revolution xD

A revolution only brings us back to where we started...it's an evolution that is required. An evolution of thinking and awareness!

You are very welcome @sols!

Looking forward to seeing what else you have to say my friend!

Thanks a lot for your trust! We actually still do not know how to go about the crowdfunding on Steemit. Trying our best but it does not work as we were expecting. So thanks again for more publicity.

this is kind of what I meant man, the people doing the work can't compete with the guys that do it for business,
I'm a simple man but in my opinion, just keep taking pictures and explaining what you do, those profiles and your project info, all great to see
sometimes I'm excited to see a post about yoghurt set a month ago, updates are always nice to see. I like what you guys are doing, I wish I could do more to help, but at least this is a start ^_^

thanks for encouraging me I will keep trying

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67112.11
ETH 2610.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67