Do It For Forest (crowdfunding): Who are we actually? FOREST FRIENDLY FAMILY -> each 11$ = 10x10 m forest saved

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Thanks to you Steemians we gained almost 100$ in 10 days which allows us to save close to 1,000 m2 of Abongphen Highland Forest. That is awesome. We are really grateful for it. Our dream (goal) is to make sure that in 3 years we would be able to protect and restore (if necessary – unfortunately it is usually necessary) 1,000 hectares (10,000,000 m2) of the misty mountain forest in the Kedjom-Keku village of Cameroon.

Here's more details how we want to achieve our dream: We are Kedjom-Keku, People of the forest!

I would like to introduce to you how our dream was born and who we are actually.
Let me start with myself and our Forest Friendly Family.

DSC_5157.JPG

Jane, Arthur, Martin

My name is Martin Mikeš coming from Czechia. I have studied Charles University in Prague (Czechia) Faculty of Science department of Ecology since 2007. I luckily met already during my first term some teachers, doctors, professors who started ecological research in Cameroon since 2002.

I got the great opportunity to join them and start my own research there in November 2008. I focused on birds. Especially how the birds populations are influenced by deforestation. The results are not surprising. The deforestation rate is negatively influencing especially the most threatened endemic bird species which are totally depending on the forest cover as Bannerman's turaco or Banded wattle-eye. Check the scientific article here!

During my second visit (November 2009) in Cameroon I developed serious interest to move there permanently and help to protect the precious and endangered environment. I didn't get any idea how, but I just felt I need to do it. I also thoughtlessly promised to comply the biggest wish of local community to build the primary school for their children in mountain area of village Kedjom-Keku (people of the forest) called Abongphen (beautiful mountains) as a tool to fight against increasing poverty and nature degradation.

We established Czech association named Kedjom-Keku and started with fundraising to get money for the school building in 10th of February 2010. Misty Mountain School was built and started operating November 2012. Here is more about it!

In January 2014 new Czech volunteers came to teach in our school (currently only Cameroonian teachers teach at the school). Jane, my wife, was among them. She came for six months. But she got pregnant pretty fast and decided to stay with me in Abongphen. We got married 23rd of January 2015. Forest Friendly Family was established 3rd of February when our son Arthur Jesus Vunan Mikeš was born.

My wife Jane is probably the strongest woman I have ever met. She is taking care about our son Arthur alone (obviously with my little help) without grandmothers, grandfathers, aunties, uncles, electricity, baby-carriage, cooker, disposable diapers just right in the middle of nowhere surrounded by thick mountain forest. I could not choose better. I will not talk about Arthur much, look at the pictures speaking for them self.

_A050335.JPG
Arthur, Jane and hippo

20161209_143730.JPG
Arthur likes eating burned cock head

20161213_174624.JPG
Arthur's bathroom

20170129_161843.JPG
Arthur and his wildlife

DSC_5048.JPG
Arthur with his Chadian friend Yu

DSC_4701.JPG
Roasted corn is tasty

IMG_8060.JPG
Arthur is the youngest humbled the second highest peak in Western Africa - Mt. Oku (3,011 m asl)

20161224_131021.JPG
Home

Since we established Forest Friendly Family we got more family members. Here they are! I am going to indroduce you more detaily our great friends and colleagues – memebers of our Family in some other articles.

Christopher Kemie

Former hunter, nature lover, environmentalist, asistant of coordinator of our conservation activities.

DSC_4371.JPG

Immaculate

Great woman and cook trained in forest conservation in past 10 years. Manager of Misty Mountain Conservation Center.

DSC_0781.JPG

Alen

Very nice guy who is assisting madam Immaculate to manage our Conservation Center.

DSC_0700.JPG

Isi

The strongest guy I have ever met. Working for our association since 2012. The oldest employee (actually he is one of the youngest among us).

img_3584.JPG

Bobe

The youngest one. Member of the Family since April 2017.

DSC_0707.JPG

Henry and Ivo

Trained marine soldiers are helping us with law enforcement and raising the awareness.

DSC_0794.JPG

DSC_0822.JPG

Roger

The best technician. He is carpenter, builder, , electrician. He just know everything technical you could just imagine.

img_3452.JPG

Vitalis, Derek, Seraphine

Our super teachers.

IMG_8599.JPG

Our Forest Friendly Family is growing quite fast. They are already far more members, but I would like to keep the others for next time, so would not shoot all bullets ones.

To become part of our Family is really easy. Just be forest friendly in most parts of your life.

Forest friendly could also mean to join us in our effort by following us, voting and resteeming our posts. Here´s manual how to do it!

You could obviously increase value of our other recent stories:

Hypnotic bird
Swim with hippo
Why humans need green color
Stop bushfires

Thank you plenty.

Don't forget: Each steem/steem dolar we would be able to gain on Steemit will be used without any exception for forest conservation and its restoration.

Sort:  

Your family is based on so much different and so much important principles that we see all around us here. Artur has got a beautiful childhood. He is so strong and pure child. And I love how you talk about your wife.

I know..:) thank you

Great family you have there! All the best for you and the project. We are with ya. Upvoted, shared & promoted! Long life to Kedjom -Keku !

Thx!

Keeping nature is our duty to the inhabitants of the earth

Congratulations

thank you

This is so unbelievably cool.

Thanks for sharing it with me. It's amazing to see what community can accomplish even across the globe.

Thanks a lot @mikev. We are actually still on the beginning. So we need help of many people to achieve our dream. have a great day

Hello there @kedjom-keku and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Thanks. I am going to check it now!

While I think you are completely crazy, I like that in people.

May you exercise the strategic concepts of Sun Tzu in your efforts, that your success might ensue. Failing that, good luck!

Sun Tzu is an author. He wrote a book about strategy a while back. Kinda important. You might find it useful, more in terms of how to consider things, than the specifics.

Wonderful project. Happy to support you.

thank you plenty

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Good Luck

this is amazing dude, i have a dream to get some land and go off grid and green a desert somewhere, this is amazing stuff!, il be following you guys to see how you progress

i was inspired by this lady, goodluck guys

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57