VOTING BOTS - could please someone explain to me why this makes sense for the vote buyer?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I made a several month trial with different voting bots, different amounts of steem from 0.25 up to 25, different tags and high and low quality content, before and after HF20.

My experience so far:
lost money to a scamming bot
lost money to a bot that was offline (and apparently the bot owner as well as the steemit community says this was my fault as I did not check the profile before)
lost money to a bot that upvoted me only with the same amount I transferred to it (hence the bot got 1/4 of the reward back to itself for curation)
made a return on one bot of ca. 8% for each transaction
made a return on another bot of ca 15% for each transaction.

(Sorry.. I will not name the bots as I already got a lot of fire from a dispute before but this is not a problem as this is not about single bots at all but about bots in general.)

To sum it up all in all I actually lost steem and also readers.
When I did not use any votingbot I got frequent comments on my posts.. using bots I got only bot-followers rushing in with votes before the bot voted (front running) and no comments and interaction at all.

So using bots equals loosing steem equals loosing money. So it makes no economic sense.
At the same time steemians seem to stay away from commenting and reading bot voted content. So again, makes no sense at all.

So please tell me, from the perspective of an author, what is the reason to buy votes... I just do not get it.
Or did I miss something?
No offense.. I just want to understand.

Sort:  

I have just started to use steemit and I always wondered the same. Thanks for sharing your experiences!

Congratulations @solarwarrior! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 200 replies. Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @solarwarrior! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74