You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Happy Holidays From Steemit!

in #steemit5 years ago

Since you have stopped creating free accounts:

You should at least update the steem.io webpage to remove the free account creation option. I'm sure there are a bunch wanting to sign up that are on backlog.

Sort:  

Steemit is still creating accounts, just not as many:

from @penguinpablo's daily posts.

Last time I told a user from another platform to check out Steem he got his account created the same day through Steemit.

I'm sure there are a bunch wanting to sign up that are on backlog.

This seems like you are guessing.

Loading...

@acidyo and @inertia It was me that first brought this all to light and I am not spreading fake news, i'm trying to be proactive and have action taken by raising it as a red flag before it does become a problem.

Since the lay offs the accounts created by steemit inc has dropped considerably. Its not that long ago so before it becomes as problem, don't you think we should try and address it? From the post I did on it the other day, which is not fake news as I pulled the data myself, the comments suggest this is a serious problem and people are waiting too long and losing interest.

With the drop in crypto prices, im sure there has been a drop in demand, however looking at the % accounts created by steemit inc, it was over 80% in Oct and Nov. its no where near that now. working back from these figure I would guesstimate a backlog of about 1100 accounts.

This has been noticed very fast, and we have an opportunity to make sure it does not become a problem. I think removing the sign up for free is not a bad idea. Lets not give potential new users or investors the wrong impression and leave them wondering why they haven't got their accounts, lets be proactive, and hopefully we can also help reduce the pressure from steemit inc so they can focus on what they need to do.

I would love to see other dapps take charge on setting up free accounts, but we would need steem.com to link to these and its a big undertaking too for the apps.

@fitinfun that was a great reply :-)

Well if this reply had been upvoted to the top instead I wouldn't have just given the answer I gave and it surely would've been better than a comment with "hurr durr remove this from the website you liars" while having others upvote the comment to an unrelated post up to the top cause "I got you, bro".

Fair point

Posted using Partiko Android

But I guess following 70k people you hear a lot about Steem related stuff. :shrug:

Come on @acidyo... I didn't "have" anyone upvote my comment.
Also:

"hurr durr remove this from the website you liars"

I expected a more sensible response from you than this.

My bad @socky . I am sorry that people believe I am your imaginary friend. For the record @socky did not have me upvote him or anything.

I will extend this offer to anyone who needs it.

It seems as though I have made @acidyo mad.

For Christmas? Bro hug?

I expected you to not only have fake followers.

I guess @socky's point is steemit has never newly approved since a month ago, which is quite unusual (maybe for the first time this year? not sure though). Anyway, it's not like steemit approves everyday, they only approve every 2-3 weeks, which is clearly shown as big spikes. That's why some people got their account within a day if they're lucky to apply near the next approval day. I guess currently steemit doesn't wanna (or cannot) spend money for verification temporarily.

Hope steemit can get back to normal soon. Happy Holidays!

It was explained to me once that the reason why they don't just allow all the accounts is because the Steem developers and witnesses are afraid of "Sybil Attacks", which is basically when someone gets a bunch of different accounts to abuse (they pretend like they're a bunch of different people to be more influential, or to be able to vote more for themselves).

But honestly, I think they should be more afraid of the paid-vote bots. The paid voting system makes it nearly impossible for new users to grow. IMHO the Steem devs and witnesses should seriously re-examine their priorities.

When I told them that, they basically said they didn't care about my concerns because other people had invested more into Steem than I did, and those people's opinions were more valuable to the SteemIt leadership than mine were.

It's like they don't care if Steem goes down in flames as long as they get their short-term kickbacks.

I'm not guessing. Here are examples from Steem.chat
I'm only referring to the free accounts.

Those existed when they were more actively creating accounts too, it has been a common problem for so long.. :(

I got you on this one. Top comment for a bit anyways.

thanks, I think it is good and bad at the same time. On one hand, this drives others to create accounts which improves decentralization. On the other hand, people who don't know better are left waiting for an unknown amount of time which doesn't provide a good experience. I think the website should at least reflect that free accounts are no longer available or on some sort of moratorium.

"I think the website should at least reflect that free accounts are no longer available or on some sort of moratorium."
Yes, I agree. And while we're at it, the entire FAQ (and the rest of the site) is about 2 years out-of-date. None of the info given to new users is current or correct.

Good point. I've had issues with their FAQ page long ago about being out of date and inaccurate.

Hello @socky and the other steemians. I have seen these articles late, but I think that my analysis recently could be a good reference for this issue.

STEEM status and some doubt based on account creation statistics

The percentage of strange accounts that have been created since June this year, but have no signs of use at all, increased sharply. Maybe this fact is partly related to the issues you raised.

Enjoy Christmas and New Year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54