Liquid STEEM Report Oct 22, 2018

in #steemit6 years ago

This is a historical graph of both Total STEEM and Liquid STEEM supply

(Note) There are two different scales on this graph. For full scale, see graph below.

Liquid STEEM is the remaining STEEM that has not been converted into Steem Power. (Orange Line)

  • When STEEM is liquid, it can be readily sold and purchased.
  • When STEEM is locked away in SP, it is not liquid, It takes a significant amount of time to convert it back to a liquid form.

This is a graph of the same data. The data of this graph was plotted on the same scale to show the massive difference between Liquid STEEM and STEEM stored in SP

I created these charts with data that I collected over the last few months.

Why are these graphs important?

STEEM is created at a high rate. Currently 8.70% per year. Many Steemians have a concern about STEEM inflation with the high rate of new currency creation. These graphs show that there is a limited supply of STEEM. Inflation is being offset by the rate of STEEM converted to Non-Liquid STEEM.

I hope you enjoyed reading my Blog. Please remember to Upvote, Resteem, and Follow. Thank you.

---------------------------------------

For a breakdown of how Steemit Rewards system works:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/steemit-rewards-breakdown-a-simplified-explanation-with-illustrations

For a breakdown of Steemit Keys:

https://steemit.com/life/@socky/do-you-understand-your-steemit-keys

For a breakdown of why Steem Power is Important:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/why-is-steem-power-important-beginners-read

Sort:  

@socky thanks for the charts, do you have a daily chart that follows voting pool values. This would be very important to follow, and would help everyone track the up and down value of payouts. 👍
Resteemed 😎

That might be too dynamic to chart once a day. Another layer of complexity is that STEEM price fluctuates. For instance the voting pool may diminish while the price of STEEM goes up or vice versa. The best bet is NOT to wait to blog or curate.

You essentially have 10 times a day you can vote 100%. It is best to spread this out throughout the day and keep your voting power high. If you wait until there is a good time, you will have to vote a bunch at once which will burn down your voting power and cause your votes to be worth less. That strategy will cause your returns to be less. The best strategy is to keep your voting power as high as it can be without letting it hit 100%. Anything more than 100% goes back to the voting pool. You can consider that a lost opportunity to earn STEEM or SBD.

Keep in mind that STEEM is printed at a steady rate as blocks are created. There are no surges of STEEM into the voting pool as it is being printed.

Thanks socky, I am keeping voting power high and and selling at 98% so I don’t overflow to 100%. I am still trying to figure out the new HF20 curator rules. I read if I vote before 15 minuets the payout just goes back to the pool. I’m not really sure if this is happening for post or voting. I have had quite a few post and up till 2 weeks ago everyone paid out. My last 16 post have all lost, some were initially showing $20.00 dropped to $14.00 at payout. Sbd and Steem have gone up and down but not this much! I track every post and like I said my first 50 all paid out. So I really don’t know what is happening, and I thought it was the reward pool dropping. I promote with one of the better known up and up witnesses. I’m kind of gun shy at the moment, and I’m trying to reason this out🤔

I can answer this. It is a linear scale for author curation reward. What I mean by this is the author gets a portion of the 25% cut that is divided among the curators. The author can be both the creator and a curator. The linear scale goes from zero rewards at time = 0 to full curator reward at time greater than 15 minutes. For example, at half way, the author gets a curator reward that is 50% of a normal curator reward and the other 50% of that reward goes to the voting pool. The old system rewarded people for just creating blogs and self voting them immediately. The new system helps give others a chance to be the first to upvote and get a larger portion of the curation reward.

Strictly as a curator (voter on another person's blog), this 15 minute rule doesn't affect the voter. As an author, self upvote the blog after 15 minutes, but try to get close to 15 minutes. If it is a little early or a little late, it is not a big deal as you are splitting the last 25% of the payout with everyone else.

Also remember to burn down your voting power before you go to bed. You will gain 0.833% per hour.

Thank you, this clears up so much!! I really dig for information and it is either nonexistent or so vague. I really want steemit to grow ( with me too ) this needs to be printed somewhere so newbies can feel like they have a chance.
I also do try to burn down voting power to about 79-80 % before I go to bed.
Have a good evening socky!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81