You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If "ifs" and "buts" were candy and nuts...

in #steemit6 years ago

Great post, @davemccoy.
I really like what you’re doing here. Having realistic - or even better: no expectations will make life on SteemIt a lot more fun.

Things are what they are and we all have to work with what there is, or what lies in our own possibilities to create.

Now, in my opinion, the biggest false expectation is created by the way the platform is promoted to the ‘outside world’. I think the fact that it is not as ‘easy to earn money by blogging’ as is advertised everywhere is a major turndown for a lot of people.

Easy money is still the main factor why people sign up for SteemIt, I assume.
And I guess it’s only those people who are too stubborn to give up, that can experience the ‘blessing’ of the strong feeling of community.

I guess all we can do is be the change we want to see, and accept the things that are out of our power.

Sort:  

Hive Bee trail comment.jpg Vote!

Bingo here @simplymike!

Now, in my opinion, the biggest false expectation is created by the way the platform is promoted to the ‘outside world’.

and from your comment below:

Maybe it is up to us to start marketing different, true aspects of the platform, like the decentralization, or the powerful community

You hit the nail on the head. I think that is something we can all focus on here, to help guide the proper expectations... Even if they get here the wrong way, doesn't mean we can't fix it once they're here... I think we have that power since we engage as a group more than anyone else.

I'm happy to have you back, so very happy :)

I agree with what you say about being able to fix things once they’re already in. After all, I signed up because of the promises about making easy money. I think most of us did. And we’re still here... :0)

lol... yes its an old marketing trick... get them in the door any way you can and deal with them when they get there... Not my prefered way of doing things, but some people build businesses on it. ;)

Yea, I think there is the false impression that steemit solves the audience problem, which isn't the case. A new platform doesn't make it any easier to build a following and community around your ideas.

I completely agree, @somethingsubtle.
Building an audience takes time and effort (and of course some ‘tricks’ can be helpful too), no matter what platform you are using.
SteemIt is often advertised with the words: the audience is already there. Which is true, of course, but holds no guarantee that they will find your posts...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62405.22
ETH 2436.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62