Would you rather "Donate" to a Whale to get an Upvote or would You Wait for them to Notice your Hardwork Amidst Thousands of Posts

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit logo.png
Frustration can be an understatement when you invest time into your posts and it is totally unnoticed by anyone. considering the fact that all you can only get a payout from that post within seven days and only for seven days. What is more disturbing is the self-promotion you have to go through in order to meet up with the seven-day ultimatum, just so you can get some cents out of the post.
Have we now become so desperate to get our posts upvoted by a whale? Should we really be begging for an upvote or promotion of any sort? Should we "DONATE" to a whale member in order to get a deserved vote?
The answer is simply - Yes! At the moment this is how steemit works.
If whale members were obligated to read and upvote quality posts then they would probably use their steem power impartially. I don't really think new bloggers are at fault for seeking upvotes at all costs.

The good news is that some "good" whale members are beginning to experiment with new ways of spreading equality. @mughat discussed such ideas in his recent post https://steemit.com/steem/@mughat/proposal-long-term-rewards-for-bloggers-and-platforms-hosting-steem-posts
Leave your suggestions and comments below. A new group has been assigned to look into the issues that require immediate attention and fixing. they would be reviewing comments under this posts.

If we (you and I) get used to the norm, then we would hinder the change

Thank you for your time and attention.
upvote gif steem.gif

Sort:  

Forget the money and focus on content, that should be everyones main objective :)

I think most people when they hear you get paid for using Steemit are too focused on the reward side and then either gets disappointed and leave, start complaining or turn to weird strategies like begging for votes or sometimes spamming.

I must admit when I joined I was also bummed because the rewards was small and it felt like I was getting nowhere. After doing some research on YouTube, I saw most bigger youtubers suggested, voting and commenting is best when you still new, because your first posts will most likely not be noticed and might make you more disappointed.

After a few days of just chatting and engaging with other members, Steemit actually started to become fun for me and the money part became just like an added bonus. I think that I am becoming an Steemit addict. If I wake up during the night for water or something can't stop myself from checking out my steemit on mobile. xD

Haha I feel the exact same way about Steemit, it's rather addictive :)
Those are some of the best tips btw, and I always share the same advice when people ask me how to grow here :)

I don't agree with having to beg for votes.
I will just wait for someone to notice my posts.

I was brought up by my parents, to not beg or expect anything to be just handed too me.

"If you want anything in life you have to work for it." - Don't know how many times I heard that growing up.

I decided from early on just to engage with people in their posts via comments and post a couple articles every couple days to build up a following and to learn more about blogging.

What also helps is to not focus on the money side and focus more on the experience. The rewards will grow once more people know about you.

@diebaasman I fully agree with you. Thank you for your contribution.

Yes, it is a bit frustrating, but after seven days, your publication is still there. If you focus on good content, people will notice you or when you talk with someone in the comments or on https://steemit.chat. Then the person looks at your blog and see your other posts.
Personally, that's what I do. I'm just starting to post, and yes, I'll be very happy if my position affects as many people as possible. But give something or beg a whale for an upvote or a restem. I do not eat this bread.
You can always use the "Promote" function if you want more visibility.
In fact what is frustrating for me is when I see a post with almost no content or content of very low quality with a huge reward.

Interesting post you pointed out. Left you a 100% vote as a little thanks : )

@dinoo I am grateful... very grateful for your support. you can always count on mine as well. have a splendid weekend!

You had me at:

"If we (you and I) get used to the norm, then we would hinder the change"

Very astute thinking Simeon!

Glad to have made your acquaintance today!

I am pleased to have you on board buddy. very pleased to have made yours too. It's pleasant for me to see you climb up the steemit ladder gradually. Have a great one mate!))

See you at the top! Race you to the Lambo's! :D

If I had a whale account, I'll upvote this 200%..)) see you at the top.

If you had a whale account, I'd beg you for that lambo! :D

I will probably do a little of both... I had to give you that well deserved upvote.

@thecryptoking Thank you for your upvote. you may resteem to reach more people. Have a splendid day!

followed upvoted and re-steemed. Thank you

chuck approves.jpg

@aaronmda Thank you for your support and contribution.

I’m fairly new to Steemit and I have written a few posts that I think all quality, but not much action on anything except my introduction. Still trying to find my way around.

If you focus on helping people, the money will come!

Good point. However I don't think this should be the case. I would prefer if everyone was incentivized to contribute to the community instead of their own wallet, however I realize this is a pipe dream...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31