Two Decimal Point Changes That Could Transform Steemit OvernightsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Maths is not really my gig and I can barely believe I'm posting this, but maybe this is more maths psychology than maths.

einstein.jpg
(image - http://quotesgram.com/einstein-quotes-about-math)

Yesterday when I was doing my post that talked about how cool it is that I can see people's payouts going up when I vote again, I started thinking: "What if that's only because I'm a whale myself now?" So I went and checked my wallet. I have 2843.327 Steem Power. WTF does that mean?

If I had 2843.32 Steem Power on the other hand, that would be like having $2843.32. So it would be more like having money in the bank and would actually seem to mean something.

It would mean for example, that I was rich enough to buy something like a cheap crappy car or the latest new i-Phone with a whole bunch of mp3's legally purchased from the i-Store (whatever floats your boat)

And that's when it struck me that all it would take to make that shift is ditching one totally meaningless decimal place and our wallets would cease to be places where only geeks hang out, and turn them into real wallets with stuff just like money in them.

clunker_1.jpg
(image - http://www.ebaumsworld.com/pictures/really-crappy-car/2552)

Now then, that second decimal place.

Still buzzing about seeing payouts go up when I vote, but realising that it's only because I'm loaded enough to buy a cheap car, got me thinking about all the other Steemit users lower down the financial hierarchy than a well connected player like myself.

When they vote for a post or comment that is starting out at $0.00 they don't get the buzz of seeing it change up to $0.01 like I do now. They see no change at all, and I have just realised what a great psychological reward that change is.

So the second decimal place change that could transform Steemit is to add that darn 10th of a cent that I was just complaining about to the end of the payout amount. OK that's as rough as guts, and hopefully some maths geek can come up with a cleaner solution. The key thing is for people to see their votes make a difference to someone else's payout. Because that is a really cool buzz, and I think it would make new members keen to vote and post.

enthusiasm.jpg
(image - http://ichingquotes.blogspot.co.nz/2011/06/paulo-coelho-on-enthusiasm-hexagram-16.html)


MY WHOPPING GREAT STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Because sometimes I like to do short posts with pictures, art, photos, and funny stuff, and then there is bugger all in my post, I need a whopping great signature to put at the bottom of my short posts to give them some beef.

On my longer posts I’m really just including it to go on about myself, but what the hell, we all need to blow our own trumpet sometimes.

@cheetah likes to point out that I’m plagiarising my own signature, but he is also voting for me, and a vote is a vote, so I’ll call that a good thing.

@sift666 is my Steemit alias. As 666 is the number following 665 and preceding 667, and I’m using the number here on my Steemit account, it might mean I’m a worshiper of Satan. Or it could indicate that I have troll tendencies I need to work out with myself.

My real name is Ian Gregson, aka wheels007. I’m a professional sifter from Wellington New Zealand. My interests include photography, conspiracies , web design, writing, nutrition, art, design, philosophy, technology, anarchy, health, computers, humour (humor), gratuitous arse shots, and anything that makes my eyes bulge while I make squeaking sounds (except torture).

Back in the glory days of Steemit (August 2016), I once made $404 for a post and went on a three day bender. It took months to work off the after effects of the hangover and I’m still attempting to understand how that ever happened.

I’m currently developing a new website portal to rival Steemit called www.frot.co.nz where I’m testing out a new feature called “frottage” that may revolutionise blogging and create a global paradigm shift.

Photos and pictures labeled @sift666, www.sift.co.nz or www.frot.co.nz are my own creations, while pictures with no credits are sometimes ones I found in my image collection and have no idea where they originally came from, or might be my own photos that I haven't put a signature on.

Otherwise, due to pressure to conform, I’m having a crack at including an image credit beneath each picture I copy off the internet. I do have opinions on this subject, but am practicing putting a sock in it.

To tell the truth I often have no idea what I’m going to post next, but I will be sure to include pictures. If you are a person who prefers mainstream opinion, my posts may not be entirely your cup of tea. But if you like to dwell on the wild fringes of conspiracy theory, or you are a whale with a massive blowhole, you might like to follow me on Steemit. It would be great to have you on board.

Sort:  

2800 Steem Power is only worth something like 230$ now, its not 2800$ )
The reason you are started to see some payout on your votes is so called whale-no-vote-experiment.
If tomorrow anyone but you will refrain from voting - your vote alone would destribute the whole reward pool - it will be worth a few hundred $ then ;)

All I'm meaning here is that 2307.666 for example has very little psychological impact, but if it was 2307.66 it would seem like a monetary value and feel more meaningful. Hopefully in the future Steem Power will be worth a lot more than $1, but at this point I'd just like to see one less decimal place because it's not helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89