IS HAVING MORE FOLLOWERS ALWAYS A GOOD THING?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Like almost everyone on Steemit, until very recently, I thought more followers was all good.

In fact I thought that if I gained enough followers I would become a sort of Steemit guru, and that I would then get hundreds of upvotes and earn thousands of dollars.

So essentially I was just like half of Bangladesh and I might as well have started posting those “Nice Post, Follow me and I’ll follow you back” comments


Image

Over the past two weeks a couple of things have made me rethink that.

When I started out on Steemit over a year ago, I aspired to gain 666 followers. In fact I even long ago phototoshopped the fake header with 666 followers that I still use as my signature. Now I have nearly 777 followers, which is pretty cool.

What used to happen is that I built up personal relationships with a lot of like minded people on Steemit. We became friends, we read each others posts and commented on them. And if I thought someone was a dickhead, I didn’t follow them.

I never followed anyone to gain followers myself, or to make money though curation, or to gain power or influence. In fact I naively thought that all following was about, was getting a feed with what I wanted to see on it.

But then it slowly dawned on me that each time I did a post about some of the sort of stuff I often do, namely conspiracies or satire, a bunch of people unfollowed me. My photography and general interest posts mostly didn’t have that effect.

The people unfollowing me were mostly new Steemers who I wouldn’t know from a bar of soap. In some cases they were neither like minded, nor were they ever likely to become my Steemit friends. I don’t follow them, and I have no idea why they started following me.

That is all fine, until they start freaking out about my posts, flagging and posting angry comments.

When I originally chose the name @sift666 I thought I was making it pretty clear than I’m not a conformist, a Christian, or a mainstream sheeple. If Christians or sheeple want to follow me that is fine, but if they want to call me a tool of satan, yes I might amuse myself trolling them. Maybe I really am a tool of satan…

Or maybe I’m just a tool. As I say in the link on my footer, I post all sorts of stuff, and I have no idea what I’m going to post next. The main thing is that it’s always the sort of stuff I want to see myself.

Generally I prefer to avoid disagreements – sometimes I just don’t go there because I don’t really care: for example, I seldom mention religion because I’m an atheist and have no interest in it, while several of my Steemit friends have very different ideas on that, and that is fine, we can have different beliefs, Steemit is not a cult.

At the other extreme, I’m passionately anti-vax, as are most of my Steemit friends. I actually think vaxxers are worse than pedophiles, because they are also destroying children’s lives, but on a scale of millions rather than thousands of them. So I’m not going to get into polite debates with vaxxers. I’m more likely to tell them where to go. But that is not the way to change anything, so I leave that subject to the infinitely more patient and wise @canadian-coconut.

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/health/vaccination/

So the first thing I realised is that having hundreds of followers who are not actually into what I’m posting is not an asset, it’s a liability. 666 real followers would be more than enough for me.

And the second thing that got me thinking was a post by @intelliguy in which he explained why having 1500 followers doesn’t actually pay that well.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@intelliguy/got-400-followers-what-about-800-what-about-1200-followers-what-about-1500-i-can-explain

And it hit me that oddly enough my motivation for what I do on Steemit is not really payouts. I like the payouts, but my real bonus money comes from crypto investing. I’ve just made over 500% on Bitcoin investments. The payouts from my Steemit posts and comments are bugger all for the time I spend on them.

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/computing/cryptocurrency-101/

What is important to me is to be able to say what I really think. And if that costs me some followers, too bad! And I realised that I’m sometimes holding back a bit on Steemit. I let loose on my website because I don’t give a toss if it pisses people off. And that gets millions of hits but pays nothing at all.

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/

So now I’ll say up front, I not only think vaxxers are worse than pedophiles, I also think that every "terrorist" attack this century is a false flag, that nuclear bombs are a con job and don’t actually exist, that man made climate change is another massive scam, that “flat earth” is a moronic load of bullshit, that the entire mainstream health industry is a plot to make people sick and profit from them, that the "moon landing" is nearly as moronic as flat earth, and I hold at least another dozen opinions that totally freak the sheeple out.

And bugger it, maybe it’s time I stopped trying so hard to conform and just said what I really think.

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/sift/conspiracies/


MY MINIMALIST STEEMIT SIGNATURE

For more info, see MY WHOPPING BIG STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Sort:  

PS.

When I did this post I expected to get a few unfollows - but I actually got three follows and only one unfollow.

The guy who unfollowed me has been on Steemit less than month, has over 2500 followers, and is following more than 16000 people!

He is into "easy blogging" and bringing in followers from other platforms.

So I'm really pleased, he is exactly the sort of follower I'm looking to shed :)

PPS - and then I got an unfollow from a "flat earther" That is probably for the best, I'm working on a post about tainting by association, and "flat earth" is certainly going to feature!

I 100% LOVE this post - especially THIS paragraph "So now I’ll say up front, I not only think vaxxers are worse than pedophiles, I also think that every "terrorist" attack this century is a false flag, that nuclear bombs are a con job and don’t actually exist, that man made climate change is another massive scam, that “flat earth” is a moronic load of bullshit, that the entire mainstream health industry is a plot to make people sick and profit from them, that the "moon landing" is nearly as moronic as flat earth, and I hold at least another dozen opinions that totally freak the sheeple out."

which I 99% agree with, and I am glad I don't 100% agree because this is NOT a cult - we are all different -

which is why I realized that I made a mistake in un-following you. The reason I am on steemit it is because people like YOU are on here. I live in Denver, CO which is the center of the New World Order - just read any post on the Denver International Airport and you too might be convinced that the CIA moved there in 2005 and that's where the underground bunker is for the idiots who want to be here after they destroy the earth's surface.... so needless to say MOST of the people here are ZOMBIES. I have a tiny handful of friends who know my insides, and as an artist I do not have ANY community AT ALL... so that's why I am on here. I get inspired by the people on here - people are not afraid to tell the truth - the fucking hurricanes are man-made and fuelled by the fires in the west creating a vaccuum to draw them to land. Fukushima was created by the Khazarian Mafia as well and the Pacific ocean is dead -coincidentally there is the St. Lucie power plant in Irma's path. Fucking lunatics with the eugenics agenda - I believe educating more people to know and speak the truth might create a tipping point before we go extinct - but we might just be SHIT out of time... thanks for sharing this point-of-view!!!

Wow, OK now you have blown my mind, and all of a sudden I see what you mean about intuitive.

I never think of myself as intuitive but I do use muscle testing quite a bit.

Usually my Steemit comments are pretty short and not very personal, but this time I tested yeah go for it and open up.

Until recently I was playing about on Steemit as I usually do on websites but over the past few weeks it all got a lot more real.

Last week my partner @kiwideb 's dad died and we went to his funeral two days ago.

This morning my own dad died. It was no surprise and I did a post about him 11 months ago fully expecting he would be dead within a week.

https://steemit.com/self-help/@sift666/self-help-techniques-to-calm-a-freaking-mind

And yesterday because of what happened with this new vaccination post, it struck me that maybe here on Steemit we can actually expose all these cover ups and not be censored.

https://steemit.com/vaccines/@canadian-coconut/parents-warning-other-parents-daughter-s-epilepsy-a-result-of-dtap-vaccine

So now I just don't care about all the trivial stuff so much, I'm going post what I feel like I need to say.

Yes I have read about Denver airport, even from the other side of the world I know of it...

well cool...I am glad to be a part of that...these are the post-apocalyptic times we are in AND WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO WITH THEM? We have survived the "apocalypse" and the veil has lifted and now we can see clearly WTF is going on here - so what are WE going to do? I mean - I slowly spoon-feed the ones who are willing to awaken, and I talk to the ones who are awake - the ones who are still "unbegun" well - I talk to some of them - because some of them are close to me and I hope they show signs of waking... and the rest - I have this customer service smile I plaster on my face - but here on STEEMIT I let it all hang out and tell the truth. I am sorry for your loss - too - that's a big "awakener" - a good friend of mine went missing the other day, and he could be dead - so I am smarting from that loss at the moment...ps now I am also following @kiwideb

meep

what i think that is just a number that keeps on growing and only few people could means something to you :)

Yesterday a friend told me to check out your voting power because it would make me chuckle - indeed it did! - You are MINUS ONE voting power!

If you were a computer you would be overclocked...

hahah so i am more smarter than windows ;) lol i like to give up vote to everyone i follow hahah

Really that is pretty cool - the rest of us are all being human calculators and rationing out our votes, or looking at Steem Now all the time.

I miss the days of just voting for everything.

But I do enjoy seeing people get a small payment when I let rip with some voting power - at full power I can do 87 cents!

https://www.steemnow.com/

so sorry that my vote is of no value :(

It actually is worth one cent - I'm not sure how that works!

But really, it's more about the feedback than the tiny little value of most upvotes, and I think the value is in the vote not the payment.

Thanks for your vote, it is of value, and keep giving them out, it's cool :)

I think people come here from facebook and twitter and think they need to build up a bunch of followers so people will up vote their posts and make a lot of money but like most of the 'old folks' on Steemit know one dolphin vote is worth well over 1000 noob votes. That's why I always try to post quality over quantity.

Plankton just doesn't cut the mustard does it?

Like people say few loyal friends are better than thousands..

I suspect a lot of new Steemians think 2000 followers are the key to success, even if none of them have any interest in what they are posting.

Imagine if having real interactions with people was far more important :)

Steemit would have been a real great place of togetherness :)
Liked the image that explains a lot

So cute :)

What are you nuts, trying to conform? Your site is like an oasis in a sea of shit. There are always those that will be offended. I most likely will disagree convulsively will some of your rants. So what. It's all healthy to get everything out in the open . Save on Doctor bills that way. Steem till the cows come home.

Yes, believe it or not there are some things I don't usually mention much on Steemit. Such as top level "heroes" like Julian Assange or Edward Snowden being controlled opposition.

Or that the puppet masters controlling them extend well past Jacob Rotchild and the Zionist movement to include a huge portion of Jews (knowingly or unknowingly).

And I usually avoid ripping into the vegan movement which I think is a propaganda campaign. So there's two - vegans and Jews (no that's not all!)

And some things I still won't touch with a 10 foot pole because one thing you don't want to do on Steemit is piss off whales. I think some of the biggest accounts on Steemit are doing some really dodgy shit and 99% of Steemians are totally oblivious. But no, I wouldn't even hint at which accounts...

I get your drift. I'm covered with so much whale crap I think it's normal.

It's funnier if you know who the guy in the picture is :)

Isn't that Leonardo DiCaprio?

Ha! Nope, it is actually Jesus. (His character name...my mom would probably cringe at my blasphemy)

jesus2.jpg

Hell yeah, say whatever you want to say! Or as the youtubers my teenagers watch would say- Fuck the Haters! Hee ;)
I crack myself up.

jesus saves.jpg

I really apreciate this post, its quality of followers that matters, not quantity. I am an anti vaxx unschooling mama, and am now following you because of your insights here. Thanks for posting. <3

Brilliant - welcome aboard - much to my surprise I have actually picked up a couple of followers from this post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54