How to avoid losing everything in the blink of an eye.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

OK I do only mean your data, and more specifically, the post you just spent two hours writing. You could still randomly drop dead or be robbed by a posse of ninja assassins…

Hanging-Brancbh.jpg
Image

Lately I’ve seen a few sorry arsed losers doing posts about how they just uploaded a new Steemit post, only to see it disappear immediately.

And then as it dawned on them that the post was gone for good, and they were totally screwed, they had complete break downs and made noises like an angry gibbon. With rabies.

singing-gibbonb.jpg
Image

Poor bastards, I thought, but it won’t happen to me because I always write my post first in Word. And for 10 months all has been fine. But the last post I uploaded just immediately disappeared.

DQmSXiZXXvwfB7RDXbYzb2QPAxCgZRQk8fx4P5eve2ALE9C_1680x8400.jpg
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sift666/the-three-cardinal-sins-on-steemit

And that is when it dawned on me that all the editing, the links, and the images, as well as about half the content, was stuff I’d done directly on my Steemit draft post.

And when I went back to my original Word file, it was like a 1971 Skoda

rvhp_09b.jpg
Image

Meanwhile the finished post that Steemit had just deleted was more like a 2017 Nissan GTR (or at least it was in my mind)

Nissan_GTR_Coupeb_L_1.jpg
Image

After I stopped making farting noises out of my nose, it occurred to me that all that stress could have been avoided so easily.

Just do this:

2017-06-29_2008b53.jpg

Simply copy everything on the Steemit draft post (use CTRL + A to quickly select all of it), and paste it back into a word file as you go, especially right before you post it. Then if Steemit goes rogue on your arse when you upload the damn thing, you’re all covered with a back up plan.

061168-streakebr.jpg
Image - this is a photo of New Zealand's most infamous streaker!

So don’t be like those people who think they can spend a whole year writing a novel on their laptop, but not even back it up to a USB stick. The ones who end up having to go and become missionaries in the Congo when their laptop shits itself.

CongoWellDiggingStaff-980x6.jpg
Image

Be like one of those geeks who do full incremental and differential backups every 15 minutes. You will thank me later!

maxresdefaulbt.jpg
Image


MY MINIMALIST STEEMIT SIGNATURE

For more info, see MY WHOPPING BIG STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Sort:  

Thanks for the post, i enjoyed reading it.

You are a bit Germanic looking...

Just a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89