ANY OPINIONS ON MEDIUM?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)
  • Way back in August when I first checked out Steemit, it struck me that I had found a place where people I could actually relate to were posting really interesting content and comments.

So it was pretty much the opposite of Youtube or Facebook…

http://goldenageofgaia.com/2016/10/21/pc-culture-censorship-genuine-social-commentary/

Right from the start, pretty much everyone I interacted with on Steemit was helpful and encouraging. But one day, in the comments on one of my posts, I encountered someone who basically said that Steemit was a load of bollocks, and that I should get a life and go to Medium where all the cool people hung out and wrote amazing content.

https://medium.com/

That was the first time I’d heard of Medium, so I went and had a look. It looked like a well set up site, but when I started reading the content and the comments, for some inexplicable reason I hated it.


https://medium.com/

Over the Xmas break, here on Steemit, I again heard some enthusiastic comments about Medium, so I went back and had another look around.

Apparently, when the Beastie Boys (one of my all time favourite bands) did their first album “Licensed To Ill” they originally wanted to call it “Don’t Be A Faggot”. And that was my knee jerk reaction to just about everything I saw on Medium. Never has any website made me want to become a troll more than Medium.

It seems to be a website for self righteous PC numpties to wallow in their world view and have a total spaz out if anyone says anything different.

I started to wonder if the site is run by that tosser off Southpark – PC Principal.

https://www.redbubble.com/people/yakei/works/17711440-suck-my-dick-pc-principal?p=laptop-skin

Feel free to say what you will in the comments, but if you say anything that offends me I might have an epi and flag you.

https://www.quora.com/What-are-your-thoughts-on-Stephen-Fry-controversial-quote

On the other hand, if you say something like this I might just have a good LOL:

“So Stephen Fry finds the feelings of people who say they are offended invalid? Isn’t that denying or abusing other people’s right to their feelings? I gather from this statement that he asserts his own right to offend people without consequences. Until I saw this, I respected his opinion, but now I find him blatantly offensive”

https://theethicsof.com/2016/02/05/the-ethics-of-political-correctness-gone-mad/



MY STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Because I want to go on about myself and blow my own trumpet I have written a signature. Sometimes Cheetabot points out that I am copying content off myself. The bot is quite right, I am indeed plagiarising my own Steemit signature, but hopefully all the important stuff was at the top of the post.

@sift666 is my Steemit alias. As 666 is the number following 665 and preceding 667, and I’m using the number here on my Steemit account, it might mean I’m a worshiper of Satan. Or it could indicate that I have troll tendencies I need to work out with myself.

My real name is Ian Gregson, aka wheels007. I’m a professional sifter from Wellington New Zealand. My interests include photography, conspiracies , web design, writing, nutrition, art, design, philosophy, technology, anarchy, health, computers, humour (humor), gratuitous arse shots, and anything that makes my eyes bulge while I make squeaking sounds (except torture).

Back in the glory days of Steemit (August 2016), I once made $404 for a post and went on a three month bender. It took months to work off the after effects of the hangover and I’m still attempting to understand how that ever happened.

I’m currently developing a new website portal to rival Steemit called www.frot.co.nz where I’m testing out a new feature called “frottage” that may revolutionise blogging and create a global paradigm shift.

Photos and pictures labeled @sift666, www.sift.co.nz or www.frot.co.nz are my own creations, while pictures with no credits are often ones I found in my image collection and have no idea where they originally came from. Otherwise, due to pressure to conform, I’m having a crack at including an image credit beneath each picture I copy off the internet. I do have opinions on this subject, but am practicing putting a sock in it.

To tell the truth I often have no idea what I’m going to post next, but I will be sure to include pictures. If you are a person who prefers mainstream opinion, my posts may not be entirely your cup of tea. But if you like to dwell on the wild fringes of conspiracy theory, or you are a whale with a massive blowhole, you might like to follow me on Steemit. It would be great to have you on board.

Sort:  

thanks for the post.

you might find this interesting. this is pre-Ad-Rock, Beastie Boys. there was an EP before this called Pollywog Stew, but it is hardcore punk. this is the Beastie Boys 1983 transition EP "Cooky Puss"


www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lp7Fu-ng83E

Many thanks - so cool and so ahead of their time - I'd never heard that track

They must have still been at school when they did that

happy to share.

i found this in an old underground record shop in the 80's. i don't have my vinyl copy anymore.

Looks like Medium are having a few troubles.
Some people think Steemit should try to pick up Medium users.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@williambanks/medium-is-now-smaller-and-this-is-excellent-news-for-steemit
Gotta say, they are mostly the very people I'm trying to avoid...

It's not about the community so much as proving the tech would work for an existing community to migrate to.
I'm saying we would put them on steem, not bring them to steemit.

Upon further reflection I see the wisdom of this!
Not being very tech minded I was thinking an onslaught of the people I just saw on Medium wasn't what I wanted to see on my favourite site...
But if they stay in their own pigpen and do good for steem that would be cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70