#MIXIN60 - Bitesize mixing tips in under 60 seconds for the home studio enthusiast.*

in #steemit7 years ago

IMG_1069.jpg

#MIXIN60

Bitesize mixing tips in under 60 seconds for the home studio enthusiast.

Introduction

I wanted to write this post because if like me, you are a musician, singer, band, artist or all of the above, you can appreciate that we live in a great time for making music and audio.

My goal was to create professional sounding audio from my home, that offered the best possible sound quality without a premium price tag. I would like to share with you tips which I have found extreamly useful and continue to use today.

Computers, interfaces and software are relatively cheap, inexpensive microphones and instruments can be found all over the web.
You really dont have to spend a fortune to have a fully functioning studio in your own home.

When I first dipped my toe into the world of audio, it was to record demos for myself and my band. To get myself started, I acquired some gear, used some online resources, familiarized myself with the basics so at the very least I could record a source (be it a voice or guitar) and play it back through my speakers. Even though I had spent time working in 'real' studios in the past, I was very happy to finally be able to produce music from my spare room.

However, the sound quality to my ears, never sounded as 'good' as the studios I had worked at previously. Nowhere near as clear and crisp. I needed help with balance of the instruments, equalization of the different sounds, and sound effects that would allow me to creates spaces. i.e. The Mix.

The main problem with the internet is that we are overwelmed by choice. I seemed to spend hours trawlling through websites offering videos on mixing tutorials, tips and tricks to help save my songs from sounding dull and lifeless. I found some great resources which I will post below, but I was spending all my time watching and learning, and not much time actually mixing and producing music. I do realize that when somebody first gets into recording audio, there is a steep learning curve process that everybody has to stumble through and find their way. But when your finally get to a level where you are turning out half decent mixes, its nice to have a little reminder of certain techniques that have a positive effect on your music.

Thats what I aim to achieive with #mixin60. Its a reminder to myself that when I have a system in place that I work to, I turn out better results. The techniques I use are by no means the only way or best way to approach music, they are simply hacks I came across that have helped better my mixes.
I like to think of it as a checklist to refer to now and again.

So if you are an aspiring sound engineering mixing ninja, who already has an understanding of the process, then this bitesize checklist is always good to have in your back pocket.

So here we go...

#MIXIN60

Tip 1- Before you start, before you insert any plugins, before you do anything. Listen. How does the balance of each instrument relate to each other. Start to imagine which tracks you would like to stick out, and tracks that need to sit back a little. Where tracks need to sit in the sound spectrum, left, right, centre, or somewhere in between. From here, begin to balance your song, altering the volumes of certain tracks so now, they are sitting together better.

Bonus Tip- Rather than turning a particlar track such as a vocal up in volume, Lower everthing else down in volume, allowing the vocal the cut through better.

Next you can imagine where certain instruments can sit in the stereo field. Some tracks will be wide to the left, some to the right, some straight down the middle. Decide on this then alter the panning of the tracks accordingly.

At this point, already, your newly recorded hit record should be sounding better balanced and more together than before.

Thats it! 1st tip on the list complete.

Here are some great mixing resources that I found really helped and continue to help me with my music. My learning curve is always ongoing, so please feel free to post any of your ideas, your mixing advice and resources that you have found helpful below.

https://www.puremix.net/

https://www.recordingrevolution.com/

Sort:  

Congratulations @sienation! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52