Education For 'Follow Me & I'll Follow Back' serial comments

in #steemit7 years ago

Recently I’ve been reading quite a few posts with regards to people leaving the dreaded message of...

...'follow and I’ll follow back’.

Now, firstly I’m fairly new to Steemit, over a month or so, and I’ll openly admit that when someone said ‘follow me and I’ll follow back’ to me, then I would follow them back too, and I might have even said the same thing to others before, but I quickly stopped doing this, after only a few days or so because I saw how annoying this can be and how unbeneficial it also is.

A Good Following

Now if you have something in common with each other or like each other’s posts then that’s understandable, but I assume that you would be following each other in that case if you happen to enjoy each other’s posts, or at least get on well with your fellow Steemian.
So, begging doesn’t give yourself credit at all and I want to outline why this makes absolutely no sense at all.
Everyone wants to make money by using the Steemit platform, but to make money consistently, you need a good following.
I said GOOD following, not a following of people who are not interested in what you have on your mind, or people who have nothing in common with you.
You want the type of following where you get on well with each other, and appreciate each other’s blogs, stories, images or whatever it may be, because there is a much higher chance of having people upvote and comment on your posts if they like what you post about and there is a relationship between you both.
There is virtually no chance of an upvote if they don’t like what you post about, especially now with the HF19 upon us, leaving us with a lot less votes than before, but votes which are also worth a lot more too.

Example

Now take me for example, I don’t like certain things, like poetry does nothing for me, but for someone else it might be their favourite topic posts to read about on Steemit.
So, if someone that writes poetry also likes some of the things that I post then that’s great of course, and they might even follow me, but I’m not going to follow them back if I have a look at their previous posts on their account and all I see is poetry posts, it’s just not something that I appreciate personally. Unless of course, you are my friend.
There is nothing wrong with that at all, it’s just I don’t want my feed clogged up with posts that I have no interest about.
If someone commented on my posts and a friendly relationship was built then I consider that a different matter because we would enjoy each other’s chat, so of course I would give them a follow and support them as much as I could, but if all they ever said was ‘follow and I’ll follow back’ then it’s not really building a good relationship up.

Importanace of Commenting

Which leads me onto the subject of leaving comments on other people’s posts if you enjoy it, because that’s a great way of building a relationship with your fellow Steemians and to create a larger, more appreciated follower base.
Just as I said earlier, if you happen to enjoy each other’s chat, then that’s excellent and other people might join in with the chat too, which would more likely lead to a decent following for all involved in the chat, and in turn that could get you some support for your future posts.

Correct me if I’m wrong but there is no point in having 1000 followers if each of your posts only get a few cents?

Appreciation

One thing I would like to say though, before anyone thinks that I’m just being an angry Scotsman, I appreciate immensely the people who enjoy my posts, upvote them, comment on them, and the fact that they follow me is great, but I’m not going to follow them if they post things that I am not interested in or only comment with those annoying words.
Build a relationship up and I might give you a follow back, even if some of the posts aren’t to my tasting, I can at least appreciate you and try my best to give you support.
It gives a false sense of a following for them if I did follow them back and never upvote or comment on any of their posts.
So, the point I’m trying to make is this, I appreciate all my followers and thank them from the bottom of my heart for the continuous support with their upvotes, comments and resteems, but I’m not into this ‘follow and I’ll follow back’ nonsense. I say nonsense because it makes no sense at all.

It’s all a learning curve though and we will all grow this Steemit community together, and hopefully in time we will see this type of comment less and less on people’s posts. So maybe not get on at the newbies too harshly but educate them for the future.

If you enjoyed this post, then you know what to do....Upvote, comment, resteem and follow (only if you appreciate it!) @SHEESHKABABAGE

Credits - Giphy.com

Sort:  

Great post, upvoted! I think it's true, but nothing wrong in exchanging a follow if you actually intend on reading people's content. I think it's obvious when an author or curator would or wouldn't! Keep up the great work!

Yeah exactly the point in what I'm saying, if you intend to read people's content then great.
If you build a relationship up with someone then follow and support each other.
That's the point I was trying to make so I'm glad it's came across just that way, because I didn't want people thinking I was being a grump! haha
Thanks for your comment.

Not at all, speaking from the heart is more memorable to others than someone being a parrot! At least then see the genuine content in someone blog, comment, upvote etc.

A parrot haha true that!
Defo agree with genuine content in peoples blogs. I'm a kinda honest guy...maybe too honest at times.

A well written non-beggy post @sheeshkababage! RESTEEMED!!

You're a gentleman sir!
Steem on ;)

It compliments the Daily Dose very well - they look well together as a DOUBLE PUNCH to all beggage! :)

Haha good choice of word - beggage! - nice one

MASS STEEMIT BEGGAGE = NO NO!! :)

GOOD POST (°.° UPVOTED & FOLLOWED

Nice one crypt07
Glad you enjoyed :)

Im just flagging those comments:) its the easiest way ho to deal with them.

No beating around the bush with you is there? haha
I think for new folks to the platform they need a little education that this does nothing for them at all but it's the ones who are constantly at it.
I even had a girl message me on discord chat app looking for a follow....I just facepalmed myself

You’re right. Truth is that when some1 posts this kind of comment I check his account (long live Blockchain) and when I see that he has done this 25 times in last 30 mins I flag him… For me this is like basic level of intelligence that one has to have in order not to perish on this platform. The knowledge that you at least have to try to contribute you know… It’s clear that such a person has done no research at all about this platform and is here to receive easy rewards and transfer them into fiat right away. This I think ultimately hurts the site because it loses value in peoples eyes when you see some1 like that actually receiving something

Completely agree.
This is the type of BS we don't want coming over to a platform like this but I think it's inevitable in a way because there is money involved.
It will be interesting to see what, if any, changes will be implemented onto the platform to combat this.

You make a great point, and you made it well. Thanks for saying what I don't yet have the balls to say! Follow for follow back is just not productive, it doesn't get anyone anywhere except a false sense of have a following as you explained.

p.s. Are you a closet sheep hoarder ?!?

To be honest I'm quite honest and I thought it was about time people stood together on this one.
Glad you agree!

Haha I can sense you enjoy a few chuckles with the good folks of South Park!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sheeshkababage from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

So very true, I follow those who routinely comment on my posts, but not simply because they commented or upvoted but because obviously we share the same interests 🙂

Exactly my point, I was trying to come across like a grump so I'm glad people agree with me on this.

No your not a grump, truth is truth, @mindhunter has a recent and similiar post addressing the constant begging and its very relevant. 🙂

Yeah I happen to follow @mindhunter and saw his video with regards to this, so I commented on his post.
We're both Scottish so it must be something to do with Scottish mind reading techniques! :P haha

Thanks for mentioning me @skillz - I'll just leave the Daily Dose link here on beggage for any new minnows :)
https://steemit.com/steemit/@mindhunter/the-steemit-daily-dose-steem-price-beggy-behaviour-on-steemit-and-the-underrated-steemstats-com

Lead me and I'll lead you! Let's be leaders.

I agree, there needs to be a reason to follow. Either something clicks or you appreciate the content. Great post!

Thanks for the comment, I appreciate fellow Steemians giving me some back up! :)

You are very welcome :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66