The Fastest Way To Turn Steemit Currency Into Cash

in #steemit7 years ago

Let's say you need some cold, hard cash, but all you've got is a big, fat pile of STEEM or SBD.

showmethemoney.jpg

For most of us that means you need to go to a crypto exchange and trade those Steemit funds for something like Bitcoin or Ethereum to then sell at an exchange like Kraken or Coinbase.

For those of you who sell Bitcoin on exchanges like those know that it takes a few days for the legacy banking system to clear a Bitcoin sell.

But what if I told you that you could get that cash within a matter of minutes instead of days?

Well, here's my "4 Step Process" for getting those funds in CASH super fast.

What you will need:

  • A Steemit account with some funds
    Obviously, you've got to have some funds to start with.
  • A Coinbase account
    This is where you will transfer your Bitcoin to when you exchange it. The reason it must be Coinbase is because of the next step.
  • A Shift debit card
    The Shift card debits your affiliated Coinbase account for Visa transactions. They only use Bitcoin, and only from a Coinbase account.
  • A local bank or credit union account
    In order to get the cash fast, you're going to have to go to a physical location.

and now...

Without Further Ado!!!

  1. Exchange your STEEM/SBD on for Bitcoin.
    I explain how to do this easily and very quickly using @blocktrades in this post:
    BlockTrades: My Exchange Of Choice For STEEM DOLLARS And How To Exchange SBD For Bitcoin
  2. Enter your Coinbase address as the receive address.
    @blocktrades is very fast, and whenever I've done this in the past it hasn't take very long to get into my Coinbase address... a few minutes, tops.
  3. Be at your local bank/credit union with your Shift card ready.
    You'll be able to use the Shift card with your Bitcoin loaded on it via Coinbase at your bank to withdraw cash.
  4. Use your Shift card to get a "cash disbursement" at your bank.
    Most banks will not charge for this, so make sure to do it in the bank and not at the ATM. The Shift card has a very low exchange rate compared to crypto exchanges.

And there you have it!

I know this might sound like a bit of an arduous process, but if you've ever tried to send or receive money via wire transfer, you know that it can take days or even weeks, so this process would actually allow you to send Bitcoin to someone via Coinbase and they can cash it out instantly at their bank the same day, hour, or minute.

Theoretically, you could do all the earlier steps while waiting in line at the bank.

You're basically turning your bank into a LocalBitcoins meetup :D

New technology over old infrastructure.

Cars used to have to deal with horse roads -- until they made car roads, which are preferable to cars and horses.

The Internet used to be run over phone lines -- until they started running phone calls over the Internet, which is preferable for both calls and online activities.

Cryptocurrencies have to deal with the legacy banking system -- until the legacy banking system is run on blockchain technology, which is preferable for both cryptocurrencies and legacy banking.

We just have to deal with this for a few more years. Our grandchildren will look at Banks and Credit Unions in the same way that we look at horse roads or dial-up connections.

I hope, one day, to be able to spend my Steemit earnings at the store and pay bills with it. But in the meantime, this is a technique that can help you.

What do you think?

Have you ever needed to exchange your Bitcoin or Steem Dollars for cash FAST and didn't know how to do it until now?

Share your thoughts below.

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips!!

Hey thanks, never hear of shift or block trade. Learning everyday. Gonna make it rain!

That gif is epic.

Thanks mate I will try this out when I start to accumulate some steem ! 👊🏼

i didnt know this... thank you @shayne

I am sure grandkids will ask, what is a bank grandpa?
Why would you need a physical place to put your money?

And then you will pull out a CD and tell them that there is information stored on it, and that a person carried it across the country to deliver it to a store so that you could buy it!

It's wild to think about.

I feel like I'm in between to eras of time, simultaneously letting go of the way things are and stepping into an invisible land of things that may be.

Your feelings are correct. There will be no more war in about three generations.
It is almost impossible for us to conceive of right now, but ask your great grandchildren and they will say why would anyone go to war? (as in, besides getting people hurt, its stupid on the surface of it because neither sides gets what they want)

Are you old enough to remember records? Our fathers had collections. Our children have a database.

We ARE on the cusp of great things.

Thank you so much for this info. I am planning for our roadtrip and want to aoply my SBD towards that. So excited to make my first payout!

Finally getting a shift card I guess

Thank you for this information. I knew there had to be an easy way to make such transactions.

I really appreciate this informative post. Years ago it was so hard for me to withdrawal bitcoins. I had to locally sell it for cash or pay huge fees for bitcoin atm. I didnt know they had a visa backed debit card. I will definitely look into it.

I got bitpay. Bordon network lag causes crazy delays some times but the fees are lighter and you don't need to worry about coinbase freaking out.

There are various apps that do similar things in different ways. This is simply one way that I've found to cash out my Steemit earnings much more quickly than waiting for my bank to receive payments from the exchanges.

Thanks for taking the time to explain things. My guy got me into this and I am still learning the ropes. It helps to have it spelled on paper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30