STEEMIT vs YouTube: Analysis Of My Introduce Yourself Post

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steemit vs youtube.png

As many of you know, I have a YouTube channel called Shayne, the Independent Optimist. I spent a long time working that channel to see if something would come of it. And I got some decent results. Not great, but ok.

And as all of you know, I have this Steemit channel @shayne (which you should follow if you haven't already!) My results on Steemit have been much more dramatic.

I thought I'd take a moment to to compare the statistics of the Introduce Yourself post I did yesterday against the video for the Introduce Yourself post on YouTube.

This will also take into account the general statistics of the YouTube channel and this Steemit account.

The Introduce Yourself Post vs YouTube video

Here are the video stats from YouTube:
Screenshot (64).png

We've got

  • 67 views
  • 13 comments
  • 5 upvotes
  • 1 downvote

These are the stats from the Steemit post:
Screenshot (66).png

We've got:

  • 102 views
  • 55 comments
  • 101 upvotes
  • 0 downvotes

Monetization

I don't monetize my YouTube videos, in part because it's not really worth it any more, and also in part because I don't want to become dependent on a revenue stream that can easily be removed if someone disagrees with the content of my postings. The way that I have monetized my YouTube videos is by posting them here, on Steemit. That's the best way that I've found to make money

Even if I had my channel monetized for ads on YouTube, the RPM (revenue per thousand views) would be so low that we would be looking at fractions of a penny for that video. And besides that, YouTube has been blocking low view channels from serving ads in the first place.

Compare this to the $46.75 and rising that the post has garnered here on Steemit, and there is really no comparison... at all. Like, this is laughable, people...

Seriously.

Channel Comparison

This is what my YouTube Channel looks like:
Screenshot (68).png

Now, 6,860 subscribers is not a laughable number. But for that amount of subscribers, an average of 350 views per video is not good.

And the Estimated Monetization number is based on potential ad revenue -- which I don't use -- but it's also an anual, which means yearly.

So that's a potential high of $116 per year on YouTube with 86 videos.

For comparison, here's the pending amount for my Steemit account according to the SteemViz Pending Payout Calculator tool by @ausbitbank:
Screenshot (69).png

So my Steemit pending earnings for this week alone vastly outperform the potential earnings on YouTube, at the high end, for an entire year.

I'm making more on Steemit in a week, with less than half the number of posted content, than I could on YouTube in a year.

Here are my current Steemit channel stats:
Screenshot (67).png

The most striking thing I think of when I see this is that the number of YouTube subscribers vs the Steemit followers is dramatically different, however the engagement that I get on Steemit is much, much, MUCH BETTER than on YouTube.

Most of the time, the comments I get on YouTube are spam bitcoin cloudmining links or Russian roboposts that wind up in my trash filter automatically. On Steemit, it's always real people, like you guys, who leave great comments and also are more open to conversation.

Conclusion

YouTube is a good place to host videos. Every media platform will embed YouTube because it's the biggest hosting site around. Also, it's free to use, so that's all great.

But in terms of exposure, engagement, and monetization, YouTube does not compare to Steemit in the slightest. It's not even close.

I mean, I'm making more in a week here on Steemit than I could on YouTube in a year, and that Steemit number is only going up. And keep in mind, that's based on under 300 followers here vs almost 7000 subscribers on YouTube.

If Steemit had a video hosting feature, it would be obvious to anyone but the biggest YouTuber (and even them, lets face it) where they should place their content for exposure, engagement, and monetization.

STEEMIT Wins!

Tell me what you guys think about this. Personally, I'm pretty shocked by the difference. It should be clear to everyone where the future of content hosting is going.

Follow me @shayne

And check out the KeepKey for cryptocurrency storage. There's nothing safer and you can exchange between cryptos on the device! I don't know if any other hardware wallet can do that.

Sort:  

For smaller youtubers, there is no question. You can earn far more money here. For larger youtubers it's a different story, but in the future it may not be.

True. The cool thing is the opportunity to monetize on both :)

True. There aren't very few people who are monetizing well on both. Those are some stats I'd like to see.

Well, I saw a video recently where PewDiePie shared that his previous video made about $120. Can you imagine what he would make on that same video if he posted on Steemit? Oh, my! The whales would JUMP on that! He would probably make a few thousand on that one post.

True, but aside from recent restrictions, he was making several thousand on any old video simply due to the extreme number of views he gets.

Correct. The point I'm trying to make is that things are changing. Once platforms like Steemit, and others that will be developed for specific markets, become easy to exchange for USD, they'll become the new host for independently created and distributed content.

You have the point. Seven days restriction on Steemit is a big downside.

Are you referring to the payout schedule? If so, for Adsense, you have to wait for 2 months to receive your first check, and checks come out only once per month and are often delayed. Vs a liquid 7 days to pay out per post here on steemit, I see that as a feature, not a bug.

I was reffering at the restriction that you get your payment only ONCE after 7 days. After that there are no more payments.

For YouTube content creators who earned recurring revenue before this is definitely an issue I think.

On the flip side if they are now earning zilch, then maybe it is worth switching?

What? 120$? Pewdiepie?

Omg it must be getting worse than I thought.

Yeah, Paul Joseph Watson, with almost 1 million subscribers, is making about $20-30 per video. It's bad.

That's ridiculous. Back when I tried at ad revenue from youtube videos I remember receiving 1-2$ per 1000 views. You'd expect Pewdiepie with millions of views to receive at least a few thousand per video.

Oh yeah, he used to get thousands per video -- tens of thousands -- but not any more.

Time for YouTube-Steemit!

Great post @shayne! I had a similar experience. I would love to chat with you about this in steemit.chat. If you have the time please DM me.

Thanks! Sure, I'll get a hold of you.

Respect. This is the kind of comparison I can show to my friends when I want them to join Steemit

Right. I'd actually really like to see something like this for @bitcoinmeister, who does really well on both YouTube AND Steemit.

fantastic break down i am noticing similar things and feel right on with you here. much love

If you'd like to share that in a post let me know and I'll upvote and resteem it. :)

So my Steemit pending earnings for this week alone vastly outperform the potential earnings on YouTube, at the high end, for an entire year.

Woah!

Indeed. Drastic, no?

I had been wondering about this. Thanks for sharing. Resteemed.

Yeah, you're welcome. The difference is pretty shocking.

That's great news for you, great news for Steemit, and great news for the Steemit community....Steem on👍

Thanks! You too :D

I don't know how I have missed this post til now, but wow.

I mean I've heard about twitter having a really inflated userbase where most aren't real people, and I've heard stories of twitch's viewbotting and how people are getting busted paying for an army of "fake" viewers to pretend to be watching them for attention. But it wouldn't surprise me of course if this happens on other platforms as well.

The view/subscriber ratio is really painful to watch. I mean sure we have curation trails here that can add more votes than views from time to time, and some namesquatters and fake accounts but to some peoples frustration over signups being down for a few days they don't understand the larger picture that we might be on a good way to be one of the sites that is very unique in the way that it focuses on keeping the statistics as close to reality as possible - which I personally believe many other sites and platforms don't focus on hard enough.

With that being said - everything else in this post describes the difference very well, thank you for sharing it from your viewpoint cause for some users that have been here longer we can easily forget about the advantages and real innovation.

I shared this post on Reddit and re-steemed the post! This really deserves more views.

Wow, what a great comment! Thanks so much :D

Steemit is much better than YouTube )

In most ways, yes. But YouTube is still a great place to host videos for free.

For now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69629.04
ETH 3375.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74