Steemit Tips: How NOT To Behave on Steemit -- Following and Followers

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hey everybody, it's @shayne

I'm going to share with you a recent exchange I had and dissect why I think the user has a very bad approach. Hopefully this will help to keep the Steemit community friendly and open, which is the goal I have in mind in posting this.

For the sake of the other user, I'm not going to tag them because, honestly, I don't want anyone getting bad press from me. It's not my intention to judge or pull down anyone here, which is the point of this post.

Here's the exchange

real.png

Point number 1

Don't criticize the way other people manage who they follow -- that's just rude... dang.

Like, you can if you really want to, but I wouldn't recommend it because it's just plain inconsiderate -- It's really not a good way to make friends.

I mean, c'mon -- it's nobody else's business to criticize who I follow and for what reason. Not everybody uses social media in the same way. Just because someone doesn't do things they way you do isn't a reason to call them out on it. That's just... weird, and a little bit solipsistic.

Never have I ever thought to judge why someone was or wasn't following me. It is everyone's free choice to follow whoever they like, and if you like the content I produce, or if you think that upvoting my posts will get you decent curation rewards, then I'm happy. If you don't like my content and don't want to follow or upvote my posts -- I'm also happy. You are your own person and I respect your choices.

I wouldn't dare to criticize why someone doesn't follow me. Partially because I respect everyone's right to follow whoever they want, and partly because I'm not desperate for followers and never have been, even when I didn't have any.

There are many great ways to build an authentic audience, and this isn't one of them.

Point number 2

The people I follow are either:

  1. Content creators with whom I like to stay updated
  2. People with whom I've established a good relationship

If you are someone who replies to my posts regularly, or I reply to yours regularly, and we have established a relationship in some way, I'm probably going to follow you at some point. Also, if you are a content creator who's work I like, I'll follow you to stay current with your work. Or if you're a personal friend of mine.

That's it.

I don't follow for follow. I don't beg for followers. I don't ask people to follow me. And I certainly wouldn't chastise anyone if they didn't follow me back -- that's pathetic.

Point number 3

Trying to guilt or bully people into following you is about as low class as it gets.

If you are the sort of person that would do something like that, please go ahead and unfollow me and mute me right now -- I don't want you upvoting my stuff or commenting on my posts.

The kind of people I want following me are the 99% of you that get it: it's you guys, who are thoughtful and engaged, who leave great comments and start interesting debates, who make us laugh or think about things differently.

I love you guys!

But if you're trying to guilt people into following you, I want nothing to do with you. Yuck...

What do you guys think?

I'd really like your views on this one.

Personally, this is just something that really bugs me. It hasn't happened often here on Steemit, but I guess with more people joining the platform, you're going to get more good but also more bad.

I really want to see a community on Steemit that is authentic and supportive, not critical of each other about stupid stuff.

So let me know in the comments below :D

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

Exactly man. I don't expect anything from people that I follow. If my content doesn't appease someone, then so be it. Not going to cry over one person not upvoting my shit! LOL

Yeah... basically.

And I don't even have a problem with people doing follow for follow if that's their game, but don't try and punish other people if they don't do things the same way... that's just weird lol

Well said @vegansilverstack - we can't please everybody. If we did we would all be whales.

That persons did like this:

hahahahhahahahha

thanks man you´re great!!!

I think your points are valid about personal conduct, but I do not respect your decision regarding not tagging him since you did not gray out his name or make any attempt at hiding his identity.

There we go -- fixed it. Really, not trying to mess with anybody here. Thanks :)

Ah, I'll do that now. Thanks for the comment!

Well done. Thanks for taking that feedback so well. Now I am in full agreement.

I probably appreciate the feedback as much as you appreciate me taking it lol

Agree! I'd love it if you'd follow me @shayne, but I'm not going to complain and stop reading your content just because you don't! I follow you because I like what you post, not because I'm trying to gain a follower. It's disappointing to see people behave like this guy.

I certainly think that some newer people come here with the same attitudes as they do on YouTube/Facebook/Twitter/etc...It's a different atmosphere here on Steemit. People have to be careful how they interact here because their actions affect their future earnings...So a good reputation is paramount in relation to longevity here...But excellent that you took the higher road in not exposing his user name...Great post @shayne!

Well thanks a lot. I'm glad this is helpful to people.

Awesome man...Have a great day!

I think it can be easy to get too caught up in trying to maximize your gains by figuring out how the system works. Honestly, I think keeping track of who follows you and upvotes you is time consuming and stressful, and will lead to poor decisions. The best thing to do is simply to try and enjoy the platform and have fun, be helpful and as real as you can be.

I agree with you 100% - you seem like you have the correct attitude

I couldn't agree with your comment more. Honestly, I don't have time to check all of that stuff because I'm busy 1. making content and 2. living my damn life lol

I prefer proactive systems over accusatory methods. But that's just me!

Some people have busy days. Very busy. It is not possible to cover all the bases goes the saying. Never has that been more true than here on Steemit. Everyone is trying to catch your eyeballs. At least long enough to get your upvote.
It is going to get really interesting in the future. I am trying to establish myself now, while there is some chance at least. When this thing really gets rolling, it is going to be something else. Almost as if we need two or three Steemits.
We have to do what we know. If what we know works, that is what each one needs to pursue. Just saying.
Thank you for sharing.
Francis

Oh, I hear that @francisk. I don't even have enough time to reply to everyone, let alone figure out who is or isn't following me and go spend time posting on their blog about how I'm not going to follow them anymore lol.

So, first of all, I learned a new word "solipsistic"
Also, I agree with you 100 percent, I usually follow people back, doesn't matter to me and people seem to appreciate it, but like you say, it is just a choice, not an obligation.
if your content isn't worth a vote, it's not. People can vote however they like.

lol I'm glad to have introduced you to a new word :D

I was blessed (cursed if you ask my wife) with an inclination towards loquaciousness... LOL!

My writing has always included at least one or two words that could use a looking-up. It goes for me, too -- gotta stay sharp! :D

I'm sure that half the people I follow don't follow me back. And you know what? I don't care lol

It's not my business what they do.
:)

I am glad you grayed out his name. He made a mistake with you, but he doesn't deserve to be black-balled by others in the community because of it. Nice job! :)

Oh, thanks @whatsup for that one. I was too dumb to think about doing it myself!
XD

As long as it gets done, that's all that matters ;)

agree.
people come here and think to behave as on Twitter or whatever.
not even trying to create good contents!

lol it IS a Twitter thing, huh?!?

hello. I upvoted and followed. here is my post: ...
;)

it is, but even more it happens on Instagram

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66437.31
ETH 3491.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69