My Steemit Journey so far | Part I - Behind the Author's MindsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steemit journey eng.png

Today I would like to reflect on my journey on Steemit so far. I think that creating a checkpoint to access the situation from time to time is undoubtedly an excellent practice for us to realize what went well and less well throughout the course of an activity, in order to improve in the future. In this context, I would like to share with you my journey over these two months on this platform, in the most transparent and detailed way.

Note: In order to avoid making a really dense post, I will divide this post into two parts.

How I Found Steemit

By mid-May, I started investing in the cryptocurrencies as a way to earn some extra income. I confess that in this first phase, my intention was not to enrich instantly or something, I preferred to invest only €20 to learn to make exchanges. During this time, I spent a lot of time watching videos about cryptocurrency (how it works, how to invest, et cetera) and in this process, I came across the Youtube channel of @jerrybanfield. His videos proved to be very useful and explanatory, so I ended up following him.

I think it was mid-June (I can’t remember the exact date) that Jerry started advertising Steemit more aggressively, and it was then that I started looking at this platform with different eyes. I confess that what grabbed my attention the most was money, for being a completely different concept: "A blog that pays for upvotes? Seriously?". At the time, in addition to being a bit skeptical about the concept, I've never been much of a writer myself. In fact, I never liked writing because I always associated writing with school/college reports, which were usually "boring" compared to the rest of the work. In addition, I've never been much of a publisher on social networks: I only use Facebook for college work and to talk to some friends I do not always see, and Twitter as a news feed, mostly linked to technology.

As I looked at Steemit , I realized that people were actually reading posts, so maybe this was not just another social network promoting pure immediatism . This factor has pushed me to join Steemit because even now I’ve been talking to my brother about ways we could make a positive impact on the world (you may have a clearer idea of what I mean by this in my introductory post), and this platform seemed like a good start for me to have a voice that could be heard around the world. In addition, I found it interesting to have the chance to share multimedia projects with others and to receive feedback from them. Given all these motivations, I decided to create an account on Steemit and write the introduction post.

The beggining

My first post


"Well let's write", I thought to myself. The problem is that it was not that easy: "Okay, I know I have to do an introductory post to show the world who I am, but what approach should I have? After all, this first post can attract a lot of people". This was an initial concern I had, I confess, but I never wanted to go for a false approach or related to dishonest click baits. Instead, I opted to do what it felt right and created my first publication with the maximum transparency that my conscience allowed at the time, and I must say that I would not do it any other way. After all, writing and being aware that you are being hypocritical is one of the worst sensations, at least for me.

Another question that came to my mind while writing my first post was whether it should be mentioned that my main purpose in life is to help people and create a positive impact on the world. I even thought about not putting these intentions in and focus more on the multimedia area because saying that "I want to help people and make a positive impact on the world" could sound like a way to appeal to the emotions of others people as a way to try to grab upvotes. In this sense, I could have focused more in multimedia since it’s an area generally linked to entertainment and technology and could be better. However, I decided to focus on what I really wanted to do here in Steemit and make my true intentions known to people. And yes! If I did my introductory post today, my approach would be exactly the same.

The following publications


After the introductory post, I was not sure what to write, not because I had no ideas, quite the contrary, I was boiling inside with all the eagerness to try out the platform, but I was not sure where to start. I ended up making publications in various areas, such as technology, video, photography, diets, et cetera. I even tried to start a series of tips on video production, and that I intend to continue these in the future, but my performance laptop broke, so I had to pause this idea. The fact is that I wanted to create content that could help people in some way with the knowledge I have, but I did not have great feedback, as you would expect from a new user on this platform. Finally, I ended up focusing my publications on social issues that I consider relevant to discuss with others, such as my last series The Impact of Technology on Society. I must say that these are the publications that I like to write the most and that are more aligned with what I want to do here, although I also want to share with you some of my projects and maybe give some tips or tutorials on a certain subject in the technological world.

We'll see.


Image 1 | Source


Thank you for Reading so far!


In the next and last part, I will share with you my difficulties and what I learned during my journey here on the platform.

I would like to thank you in advance for all the support I have received during these two and a half months, especially to the Portuguese-speaking community (I will mention you more on the next part, don’t worry).

If you have any question or feedback, you know what to do!
Would you like to know more about me and my work? Then check my blog page!

See you soon,
Shaden

Sort:  

Just write what you feel passionate about my friend because if you are forcing the writing than this platform will become your job. At least, this is what I am doing. I am writing about what I want to write about, and I believe the right audience will find my content. What are followers numbers if they actually do not engage in your content. They really mean nothing in the end.

Following you now. Looking forward to your post brother. Have a great day. :)

Indeed, writing what feels right is the best way to go, in my opinion. And yeah, I prefer to keep things honest and transparent rather than forcing things just to be "successful". That's why I wrote the way I wrote this post, just to give you a taste of what went through my mind throughout my journey and my stance here. Well, I never wrote before to another platform and maybe it influenced my mindset in some way, but hey! I'll talk more about this in the next post!

Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words! Means a lot to me!
Have a great day!

I truly believe people will feel the honesty in your writing. I am not sure what it means to be successful on Steemit, besides the obvious money part, but I think I am even though I have not made a lot of money on here. But, what I did do is meet some amazing people and created some amazing relationships and I think that is what this platform is all about. :)

You are more than welcome, brother. Keep writing or should say it better KEEP STEEMING. :)

Well, that's why I've referred "sucessful" this way. After all, success means different things to different people. To be honest, I'm not here for the money, even though that's what attracted me here in the first place. That's just a nice side effect that is welcome, but the ability to create connection and make a positive impact on people, like raising awareness for things that matter, or sharing knowledge and information is all I want here. So yeah, this is what I want to achieve here in a nutshell.

Thank you again man, STEEM ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43