Steemit Has Changed the Way I Think - SteemiansChallenge Entry (Featuring Brand New Exclusive Animation!)

in #steemit8 years ago

I’m no dolphin. I’m sure as hell not a whale. I’m a fairly small minnow. Sometimes it can be hard to see the value in what I do when the Steemit community deems my content to be worth only 17 cents. But whether my posts are given a depressing low value or an exciting high value, Steemit has caused this huge shift in my mentality where I consider everything I do through the lens of economics.   

Like a lot of people, my economic thought didn’t extend far beyond job -> paycheck -> bills …and what little I know about economic theory.   

Now I think about everything economically.    

My new Steemit exclusive animation: Thinking Economically

For every idea I have and everything I do my brain processes it against this question: “can this be used to create value for myself and others?”

The process has almost become subconscious.

This new way of thinking has supercharged my creativity. In the past it seemed like I would only stumble onto a great idea once in a blue moon. But now that I have real incentive, I’m constantly thinking of ideas for new art, animation, articles and films. And for the first time in a very long time I have some hope that I can actually make it as an artist.

This is what Steemit means to me.


~Seth

#SteemiansChallenge

Sort:  

Steemit has caused this huge shift in my mentality where I consider everything I do through the lens of economics.

I believe that every action we take has an economic component - not necessarily monetary, but a pursuit of value through our own incentives as we gauge our own risks. This is why I wrote an economics book for kids, so they would understand the economic nature of life in general, even on the playground at school or in the lunchroom or in their families and groups of friends.

This is so true. And Steemit has played a big part in shaping my perspective on economics and helping me see the world this way.

I can say that I'm impressed with your entry! Very nice. Keep it up!

You're goddamn right!

I read that in a Walter White voice.

Keep it up with Animation man :) keep in contact if you wanna collaborate on Steemit Post! find me on Steemit chat @steemitguide

Very nice animation Seth, your effort deserved more upvotes. I'm following you :-)

Thanks so much! At least this one has risen above the "only a few cents" category that my work usually falls into. I'm going to keep working hard and hopefully one day I'll see more fruits for my labour.

You've definitely got the right attitude, Seth. A lot of people might be confused and dejected with the mixed results that you've got, but you decided to see what you could learn from the experience. Kudos.

Kurt

Thanks! And thank you for your frequent support of my blog. Sometimes it's hard to keep a good attitude. But whether I'm getting depressed or excited about my prospects on this platform, the mindset of seeing things through the lens of value is constantly there.

Thinking Economically animation is great ( I saw you post this on chat today ). Really good.

I am not a fan of looking at everything as money, I feel it ruins creativity. Although if I start a pilot chapter and it receives upvotes I am more incline to continue that story than one that received none, but I will not allow upvotes to dictate where the story goes.

Last week I had a chapter make over $500.00 which is something I am not use to at all. Everyone wanted me to continue the next chapter where the last one left off, but I felt the story deserved more than that and I had already mapped out the next few chapters. In the end I lost some upvotes, but I would have had to ruin the story to get them.

I agree that we shouldn't compromise our content to chase money or votes. But I think there is some value in trying to find out what people want and how your passion can meet the needs and desires of consumers.

I can definitely relate to this. Great post!

I bet a lot of Steemit users can relate. I've only been here a few weeks. It didn't take long for this huge mental shift to happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56714.19
ETH 2341.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37