Steemit - 'Maybe' get paid for blogging

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

If you have been here for at least a month are starting to realize that "getting paid to blog" isn't realistic.

I love Steemit but lets get real for a minute

Since stumbling upon Steemit I've been nothing but impressed. The idea of free money is enough to enthrall anyone that needs to eat in this world. Though there's this one thing that continues to irk me, and I myself am guilty of doing it.

Spreading the hype of getting paid to blog.

Sure, you may get paid. Maybe. You may not. And yet, there's this misconception that's being spread that you're guaranteed a payout every time you post and so, we each spend hours and hours on end hoping to create some piece that is unfathomable to consider as anything less than likable and then we post it expecting to generate the same amount of income that the last trendy post we created did. If you've truly been paying attention then you too know this is true.

I may be treading on thin ice by writing this post but I don't care. Fuck it. It needs to be said. We each need to get a grip on reality. Posting on Steemit is obviously more beneficial than posting anywhere else because of the fact that free money is being thrown around but come on, where did it say you will get paid for blogging. Get real.

It's time to start spreading this sentiment instead of the prior. That Steemit, for the time being, is more likely a lucky dip than it is a career opportunity. There is no guarantee that you will get paid nor is there a guarantee that you will be generating a steady income. You can't survive off of Steemit. Well, not unless you're famous and therefore attractive to every curator that's working hard to promote the platform...

I remember a post I saw when I first started here. It was a series of posts from a user by the name of @ma3. He proposed that he would start living off of only Steemit rewards for the next month. He floated the idea first and received a pretty good response. His very first post generated a nifty sum of $550, however, the next day he only made $3. From then on he did not make much more than that.

Now, if you check his account you'll see that he hasn't posted for a month. If I had to speculate a "where is he now" I'd say he's probably been cut off from the internet and is now living under a bridge somewhere. No offence to the champ, even I believed the idea of living off of Steemit was the dream, but it turns out it's just a dream and nothing else.

On the other hand...

If you're attractive to the marketing strategy these powerful curators are abiding by or you already have a massive following, then you may just be scraping enough to quit your day job. Even then I still wouldn't recommend it. If you've ever tried to predict the future then you've probably realized pretty quickly how wrong you can be. As an investor I like to think of life being as volatile as a stock or business. The same applies here to Steemit. Even if you were successful on here one day, there's absolutely no guarantee that you will be just as successful the next. I myself thought this initially after my first three posts were in the hundreds (safe to say my mind was blown none the less) but I was quickly brought back down to earth within my next series of posts. This can happen to the best of us. You win some, you lose some, but here you need to be lucky.

Of course there's no harm in making a really good post. Obviously, if a curator likes your post it's probably because it's a good thought out piece of writing that has some benefit to the curator and others. The fact is however that there's not enough curators floating around to give out the amounts of wealth that we're all expecting. Those of you who have failed to see this really need to adjust your seat and read that again. There is not enough curators to disperse an equal amount of wealth across all the posts that are being created. A good example of this is when you watch @roelandp's Steem stream. You can see just how many posts are being created; thousands.

There are literally thousands of posts being created per day and yet there are only 50 curators who can give you the hundred dollar reward that you're expecting. Not to mention you're competing for that reward against 75,000 other users, 5000 - 15000 of which are persistently active.

On top of that, you also have to compete with the fact that everyone is now creating their own little curation groups. I myself have been guilty of joining curation groups, and why wouldn't I. I've realized that if I want 100 likes on my posts now, then I have to do what everyone else is doing. Hell, I just cracked 100 followers. 30 of which came from the last week because I've been heavily promoting my posts within the community. What? Did you really think it was all just guaranteed. No way José. All of these things are reasons why you're probably not going to get the pay out you're expecting.

Now, Steemit wasn't always this way and it most likely wont remain this way for long... but we really do need to remember that for now you're not getting paid to blog;. You're possibly getting a donation for posting on a Social Media platform and that's it.
Imagine this, if I were to post on Facebook and some millionaire came along and decided, "hey guy, I like what you said. Here, have some of the interest I earned on my investments this month". Of course that's never going to happen in the mainstream but it's analytically what's happening here. We need to remember that when we post.

I'm not knocking Steemit, nor have I ever lost faith in the platform. For me this place has become second nature. I wake up in the morning, grab a coffee or four, and start checking my account and news feeds. I've come to the conclusion that I honestly don't care about getting paid on here anymore. If I do then fuck yeah, if I don't then meh, at least I didn't waste my time trolling around on some other shitty Social media website filled with ego complexes and enslaved-like mentalities.

What I am saying here is that we need to come back down from cloud nine and remember Steemit is what it is. If you can sustain an income from here than so be it, but don't go running around telling everyone else they can achieve the exact same thing. Shit, I did that and now I feel like a cock when people tell me they made absolutely nothing from posting. Don't be a cock like me. Be smart.

If you really want to make money here, then invest in the platform. The interest rates on this site are awesome, not to mention the fact that the share price is extremely undervalued due to Synereo and its advertising schemes. If you have the time you can invest that time instead, build a following like I have, and hope for the best. But again, you're not getting paid, you're getting donations.

Peace.

Sensei Teekay Out!
*mic drop*

Sort:  

re: lucky if whales find you

The problem is that all bloggers want to whale upvotes all of the time. There simply isn't enough for everyone to be successful all of the time.

This is why sometimes these posts get attention, or a different post gets attention, or even why like @doitvoluntarily wonders "But then i see posts with 1 photo get hundreds of dollars".

The attention spotlight is moving all over the place. But it is only a spotlight. It can't light up every single person at the same time. This is why people get frustrated. They put their heart and soul into writing, and when the spotlight doesn't light them up as frequently any more, they get frustrated.

Of course that is going to happen as more and more tumble in here. The problem is that we have too many authors, and the value of steem is low.

If the value of steem was 10x what it is now, this would seem like 10x less of a problem.

So finding that healthy balance between the value of steem, and the number of authors and their frequency of posting, is when this place works the best.

Absolutely right @intelliguy. You get it. I wish more of us saw it this way. I guess I'm just a little bit peeved with the negative rep people give Steemit. Like, it works, I've benefited, and yet they act like it doesn't even though they can look on any account and see the proof for themselves.

I hope this bad weather passes. I really would like to see the value of Steem back over the $2 - $4 dollar mark that it was when I first started

I agree but at the same time disagree with parts @intelliguy. The reason the spotlight doesn't touch on the average person as much as it should is also because the whales are circle jerking each other for a curation pay out. Watch them closely. Look at who votes who, it's a closed circle where occasionally they'll throw some bread out to the seagulls to keep the hype going. Consistency is key here and I'm not really seeing that from the Whales. Just a bunch of circle-jerking & powering down there. A big thanks to that charlie shrem guy for being on here - one of the few powerful individuals here who actually tries as hard as the common minnows to create good content. cheers :)

i think it just takes time and effort to create good content. But then i see posts with 1 photo get hundreds of dollars? lol so there doesn't seem to be a set formula for success here from what I can see :p

Good content definitely takes time and effort but as the saying goes, aint no body got time for that.

Votes come down to luck, your following, and the way you promote your post. Catching a whale vote is usually pure luck. You can't tell what someone's thinking and so you can't predict what they will vote on. Just have to get lucky and hope they like your stuff.

So you think creating a good photograph doesn't take time and effort?

We need to be like dollarvigilante and other famous individuals here in order to get a good reward in posting content, and I wish I was like them, submit any content and boom! Even so, I'm still having fun with steemit because I didn't realize that I know how to write until I found steemit. Although my english is not good but I think readers can understand it.

Your English is very good a lot better than some native speakers I know.

It would be nice if we could all be like @dollarviglante and come here with a reputation like his to begin with, but you see, unless you've already been successful on the web then that's not going to happen over night. You need to make a brand and get it out there before that's going to be possible.

So well said. I'm in on the ideals of the concept, and then got perhaps over excited because on of my articles popped nearly $300. I wrote 2 more long ones after that to not much avail, and am now feeling the agony of defeat, haha.
But I am also working more on curating to build an organic following, as well as adding better known authors to those whom I follow. Got a thrilled rush from earning $11 earlier today, when dantheman upvoted a comment I'd made on the price of Steem (on another author's article).
Best, Guy

Love that catchawhale link!

I find it so refreshing that you are being transparent about what experience people can really expect to have on Steemit. I think the hype here is likely to backfire, since the reality is so different. You're doing Steemit a service by communicating a realistic view.

Thank you @pulpably. That's exactly what I was trying to do here. Not knock Steem or make anyone else feel shitty about being here, but instead to give them the real.

I wish this were trending instead of stories about people quitting their jobs for Steemit.

Steemit - это хорошая проверка для многих, которые хотят проявить себя. У кого-то получается писать, у кого-то так ярко, как они хотели бы. Но что же, если во всех делах при первой небольшой качке сразу же бросать вёсла??? Конечно писать хорошие статьи необходимо пробовать, пробовать, и ещё раз пробовать! Количество всегда перерастёт в качество- это математический закон.

Thanks, I'll try it )) : Steemit, I think it's a good test for a lot of people who want to express themselves. Someone is published a very bright living articles, and someone not as bright as they would like to do. But what if the first time something did not work, if you have a bit of a shock from it, so you need to throw the oars immediately ??? Of course, to write a good article, you have to try, try and try again! The number of attempts always goes into quality- this is mathematical law.

I'm sorry, I don't speak Russian. Could you please translate your comment in English?

One day del boy we will make our first million....fools and horses, I still live the dream but you are right we do have to get real sometimes so I am happy with just at least trying to find somebody who actually reads the posts, I try to support others, so somebody gets my 0.01 vote as we say in the Uk the pennies make the pound, but for most here its seen as I write I should be paid, but don't want to buy in to make money, its similar to the paycoin fiasco when they had a coin that was pegged to the usd dollar so should of been sold internally, but once you put the coin to an exchange the value is only link as to what people will pay for it supply and demand. for investors to be interested in buying into the space you have to generate money sadly more often then not that relies on advert space.

I would be lying if I said I still don't aspire to that dream but for now at least it's just that.
But yes, I am here to provide awesome stuff for people who genuinely want to read it. If I get paid so be it, if not than meh, at least I know someone's enjoying it if it's getting a few likes and pennies.

I think once people understand exactly what those loyal to Steemit understand, more will start to throw in and the value will appreciate back to what it should be.

Never put all your eggs in one basket, especially if you're writing online for a living, Sites that have been around for years can fold overnight.
If you want to give up the day job to steem do other things with it to build a residual income from multiple sources, start a blog and make youtube videos that compliment your work here.

Interestingly I just upvoted and even linked (internal text in one of my new articles) to this person's https://steemit.com/steemit/@kaylinart/don-t-put-all-your-eggs-in-the-steemit-basket
and my high school friend who turned me on to Steemit has a large YouTube channel that he's bringing to Steemit as well.
https://steemit.com/tutorial/@highimpactflix/brand-new-excusive-steemit-tutorial-video-launched-to-over-200-000-youtube-subscribers
So both of these artists are doing exactly what you're advising here.

Indeed. Though, sometimes you have to break a few eggs to make an omelette.

There is no such thing as free money, this side of the Federal Reserve walls. You get what you pay for, or rather the pay you get depends on what you produce. If you want to make money on this platform, you need to make a business plan, that can hook the whales in the long runn. It has to be interesting, it has to be unique, it has to be of sufficient quality and appeal to a fairly large section of society. Find that and stick to it. Do not shoot in all directions but fairrly qucikly settle for your plan. Develop it, hone your skill, take some lessons in writing, picture handling etc.. not that different from entrepreneurship in "the real world" :-) ... happy steemin'

It's possible but it's not nearly that simple. as I said in this post, you're competing with thousands of others users to hook the attention of only 50. That ratio alone is enough to turn anyone away. Maybe once their power is all powered down we'll start to see more people powering up to fill their shoes; 1000 whales instead of 50.

Nobody gets to make money out of thin air, at least most of us don't.

Most don't choose to blog where it takes a third party application to add a picture.

Checks and balances.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52